We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first time at The Frenchtown Inn; won't be our last...”
Review of Frenchtown Inn

Frenchtown Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Hillsborough, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our first time at The Frenchtown Inn; won't be our last...”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Lunch today at the Frenchtown Inn with our neighbors...first time for the four of us. Excellent Bloody Mary's all around then starters: two Caesars (the right way...with anchovies!), a mushroom soup and an order of fresh mozzarella & tomato. All were outstanding. A second round of drinks then the entress..two hanger steaks; one salmon; one classic Eggs Benedict. Very quiet around the table as everyone "tucked in" to their lunches...so good. Finally cappucinos and a to die for banana crepe with vanilla ice cream. The service was exemplary...attentive but not hovering (and our server had a sense of humor--very rare these days!) What a lovely afternoon...worth a repeat visit for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    44
    26
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton NJ
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent group dining choice”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our gourmet dining group of 14 enjoyed a prix fixe meal in a private dining room at the Frenchtown Inn last evening. From the warm greetings and attentive service, to the beautifully preserved, romantic, and comfortable decor, to the well prepared and attractively plated cuisine, this was a highly successful experience. The grtacious owner/hostess spent time orienting us to the menu, answering our questions, and giving us the history of this beautiful Inn. She even walked us out to our van when we departed.
The menu offered 3 choices each of appetizers, entrees, and desserts for $50, including coffee, tax and tip. Wine and other bar drinks were a la carte, with individual bills provided
The strip steak was the only dish that earned a few complaints for its toughness. One of our diners asked to exchange it for another choice and was cheerfully accomodated.
There is outdoor seating on a porch and beautiful views of the canal and towpath.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theprincetongourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

After wondering where to go we ended up at the Frenchtown Inn. We love eating at the bar and this place has an old time Inn feel that is perfect for a quiet evening with excellent food. I had the Black Bean soup as an appetizer which was beautifully presented and was perfectly spiced. Pureed which gave it such a nice consistency. Then I had the Baby Rack ribs with Onion Rings and Baby Vegetables. The BBQ sauce was perfectly sweet not overpowering and the meat fell off the bones. Excellent choice - a must try if you go to Frenchtown.

Helpful?
Thank marbles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“party of 7 -1/2”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a very nice dinner in the piano room. Since we had a 1 year old with us we were not allowed in the dining room. I like that idea. They were right on top with service. Water glasses were always filled, food delivered timely and very tasty. Because we were in the 'bar' area, we were able to use either the fine dining or the tavern menu which suited our group perfectly since we had 2 teens that wanted burgers and chicken fingers. The other items on the menu were outstanding. Filet could be cut with butter knife, lobster rolls were devoured quickly. The seafood special was various fish on a skewer and I was told it was very fresh and delicious. Also, I made reservations online and they called to confirm twice :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect for a date night or special dinner”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Frenchtown Inn is a charming spot -- from the inn itself, to the furnishings and the menu, it is a lovely place to dine. I highly recommend it for a date night or with out of town guests who will appreciate the country elegant atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchtown Inn also viewed

 

Been to Frenchtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing