We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food!”
Review of El Meson

El Meson
Ranked #11 of 172 Restaurants in Freehold
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Browns Mills, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrible food!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I love mexican food and by the reviews on here I really thought we would receive a good meal at El Meson. But, we left very disappointed.

I had the enchilada platter with salsa verde. One chicken, one beef and cheese enchilada with rice and beans on the side. The food was very bland and lacked seasoning. Not tasty at all. My sister ordered a combo platter with a chili relleno and a burrito with brown sauce. She ate a small bit of it and left the rest. My 8 year old nephew ordered tacos (mexican food is his favorite) and didn't eat them as well. The beef in the tacos was very chewy and did not have a pleasant flavor.

We all left the restaurant dumbfounded. It wasn't a cheap meal. And the quality was shocking. We will never go back.

Try Texas Mexican right down the street. Their food is so much better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heatherly430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    60
    18
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Good Mexican Food, if you like Mexican food you will like this place”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Good authentic Mexican food; if you like Mexican food you will like this restaurant very much. You might even see a famous person dining here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mexican food Yum”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This place is a true gem . Every thing i ever ordered was very tasty . The food is very authentic. If you are looking for good Mexican food. This is a must try you wont be disappointed

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Local Spot”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Fabulous local spot which has been there forever. The food is awesome and authentic Mexican cuisine for an excellent price. They don't have a liquor license though, so don't go and expect to order margaritas!

For more tips, stories and reviews: http://thesearemysheehanigans.com

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food and service are what keeps me coming back”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

El meson in Freehold has always been my cornerstone restaurant when it comes to Mexican food. It's the place I've always felt most comfortable bringing friends amd family as I know what we will be in for; a tastey filling meal and excellent service. I always get the chimichanga with ranchero sauce, its delicious! Highly recommended for a casual date or night out with friends. There will be a wait on weekends later on in the evening, but its worth it!

P.s.- I forgot to mention the best part its byob :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yankees45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Meson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing