We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't ever go there”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Freehold Grand Buffet
Ranked #137 of 172 Restaurants in Freehold
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Marlboro, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't ever go there”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This has to be the worst place ever. Although the selection of food is vast, very little of it is edible. I had to literally spit out food into my napkin! Most of the food on the buffet looked dried out. The items that were edible were tasteless. Don't go!!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbass60668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    9
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Depressing lighting, weird smells”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The dinner price was something close to $17 (??) per person, and although there was variety (crab legs, lobster, oysters, clams, sushi station, Mongolian BBQ, fried plaintains, salmon), the food seemed stale and unappetizing. The food didn't taste right - fried plaintains tasted like they had gone bad, crab legs were too dry, fruit looked fermented. Perhaps it was the dim lighting, the wet mops here and there that smelled, but it was not the most pleasant dinner experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“what don't they have??”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place is an asian buffet, but seems to offer anything and everything! My kids loved it! everything from sushi to spare-ribs!

Helpful?
Thank inspireu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asf1
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of best Chinese buffets”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ive tried many, many Chinese buffets (and restaurants) arond the tri state area. Believe me, my friends joke that I eat Chinese food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This is one of the best, in terms of selection. And they just added a sushi station for those who like sushi. Oh, I forgot to mention the Mongolian BBQ which is open for dinner.

They have the usual - soups, peel and eat shrimp, clams, muscles, fried shrimp, egg rolls, etc.
They do have crab legs, and refill it - not often enough though. They just added lobster with ginger. The label above it says "crawfish", but it isnt. Lets keep this a secret among us tripadvisor readers...

The icecream station is excellent (well, what's a good buffet without a good dessert?!) and they have plenty of the usual dishes such as General Tso chicken, chicken and broccoli... and many others. Oh - bring your own bottle .... which I know is a big perk for many diners. Ive been coming to this place for several years, and am happy to bring guests. Its that good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Biggest Chinese buffet + Mongolian grill”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We love coming here on our way to NYC. It is the biggest Chinese buffet we have been to with an excellent selection. Some food is average, some very good. If it were all average though we would not bother coming here. They have a good Mongolian grill with a decent selection. The buffet itself has loads of Chinese, seafood like shrimp and crab legs along with salads, soups, pasta, deserts, soft serve ice cream and even American choices like pizza.
I find with many of the reviews if you mostly ignore the best and the worst two reviews you will have a more realistic view of the rating.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank augweddedbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freehold Grand Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Freehold Grand Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing