We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, noisy hotel, apathetic staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of American Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Freehold B&B and Inns
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, noisy hotel, apathetic staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

At night, the first floor of the hotel turns into a loud bar scene with blaring music until 12:30 p.m. A stairwell leads DIRECTLY from the bar area up to the second floor hotel rooms. There are no doors at the top or bottom of the stairs to block the bar noise, so you can't sleep until the bar closes. From the third floor rooms you cannot hear any of the noise.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AttorneyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    14
    7
    11
See reviews for
32
41
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at the American Hotel in Freehold for a weekend. Our room was located on the second floor. The noise at night from the bar was unreal. The music was blasting until 1 in the morning both Friday and Saturday nights Upon check in there was noone to help with luggage or bags. At no point throughout the wkend did anyone from the staff ask how our stay was going or if we needed anything. Very poor choice for our weekend away!!! Do not stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buffy8143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Me and my girlfriend were stranded on a NJ highway in the middle of the night and desperately needed a hotel. After a few disappointments with overbooked hotels and overpriced last-minute hotels in the area we decided to give a call to the American Hotel. They were full, but nevertheless set us up with a room (although it was still undergoing minor repairs on the AC) and their price was quite affordable.
The room was beautiful and cozy, the staff super nice and helpful about everything and we were really satisfied with our stay there. We´ll definately stay there again if we´re in the area!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnarPeturss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

THis hotel has it all, good downtown location, huge rooms, great food and atmosphere. The sheets, towels, rooms etc. are all clean and brand new. The only negative is the noise from the bar below, so you have to take the good with the bad, but it is mostly all good.!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

When we arrived at the American Hotel, we were very impressed. We were checked-in in no time at all and on our way upstairs to our room, which was accessible by elevator or the beautiful staircase which is one of the many features of the stunning lobby. Our room had an exceptionally comfortable bed, luxurious linens and more than enough toiletries to make you feel pampered. Although the hotel is situated right next door to the famous "Federici's" pizzeria in Freehold, we opted to dine in the Market Yard Grille restaurant, since we were meeting up with friends. We had drinks at the bar first. The bar has something for everyone- one side of the bar is in the lobby which is more well lit and has a sleeker and more modern appearance, and the other side of the bar is in the Market Yard Grille which has a warmer feel. I was pleasantly surprised that they had Hendricks Gin, which gin afficionados know is uncommonly good and rarely found in bars. The service at dinner was attentive without being obtrusive and we also had a visit from the chef who wanted to make sure we were pleased with our selections. There was such a great variety of items on the menu and everyone was very happy with their selections. After dinner, we took a look around at the rest of the ballrooms since we knew that the hotel was historic and had underwent a major renovation, or rather "re-birth". You can tell a lot of care went into making the place a destination in Monmouth County while respecting and showcasing the history of this building. I have already booked a Valentine's weekend getaway here for my husband and me.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank desidutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

My fiance and I had an appointment to see the Manager about a booking for our wedding. Our friends attended a wedding there and insisted that we should give it a try. Upon entering the Hotel, John was very welcoming and hospitable. He gave us a tour of the place and were amazed how huge the building was. While on tour, one of the rooms was already setup for an event so it helped us get a "guesstimation" of what we were looking for. Meeting with the manager was very helpful. He eloquently told us all the information we needed to know as well as answered any questions, concerns or requests we had. And he even added a few good jokes. Since we met with John on a Sunday he invited us to the Hotel's Sunday Brunch and we had a fulfilling delicious meal. John introduced us to our waiter while we were at our table and it was nice as well as reassuring to meet his prompt hospitable staff. The room was beautifully detailed with all the different types of food it has to offer. My fiance and I had looked at many other places and haven't had such a personable experience such as this. We are looking forward to having our wedding there :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjpantoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

We had our son's barmitzvah at the American Hotel in October. The event was spectacular...From the food to the service, every detail was perfect. Many of our guests agreed that it was the best venue they've been to in a long time. Several of our friends and family stayed at the hotel and the accommodations were perfect. The rooms are beautifully decorated, warm, inviting, clean and the beds were so comfortable. We had the opportunity to eat in the Market Yard Grill Restaurant at the hotel and that was as also fantastic. Delicious steaks, seafood was excellent, great wine and excellent service. I highly recommend the American Hotel to everyone and look forward to our next party there.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freehold
1.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Freehold
Radisson Hotel Freehold
#1 of 2 in Freehold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
5.6 mi away
Colts Neck Inn Hotel
Colts Neck Inn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Colts Neck
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
8.4 mi away
Courtyard Wall at Monmouth Shores Corporate Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Neptune/Wall
12.4 mi away
Molly Pitcher Inn
Molly Pitcher Inn
#3 of 4 in Red Bank
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
12.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Cranbury South Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Hotel

Property: American Hotel
Address: 18 E Main St # 20, Freehold, NJ 07728-2202
Location: United States > New Jersey > Freehold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Freehold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — American Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing