We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Freehold
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Freehold
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I live locally but stayed at the Radisson for a family member's wedding. Everything was fine upon check-in but once we got to our room I found there were 2 double beds instead of the king bed I had reserved. I called down to the main desk and was assisted by a confused man. He claimed my reservation didn't specify the king bed and needed to speak to his manager. I received a call back about 10 minutes later to tell me the hotel was booked and there was nothing he could do for me. I checked my emailed confirmation and noticed there was no specification for the room type listed, neither king or double beds, a loop hole so they can't have guests complaining since there's nothing in writing. I let it go and didn't make a big deal out of the situation but I was disappointed in being told there was nothing they could do for me. I called down again to clarify what time the shuttles to the wedding were running and once again could not be helped by the front desk since it wasn't actually set up through the hotel. You would think if you had a large number of people staying at your hotel for a wedding you would try to be as helpful and knowledgable as possible but I guess it wasn't in their job description.

The Radisson makes a big deal about having Sleep Number beds and I had been looking forward to trying them out. Maybe it was just the beds in our room but it seemed like there were two settings, way too hard or way too soft. On top of having terrible, flat pillows, I had one of the worst sleeps in my life.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and if I ever need to have an event and put people up this hotel would be the last on my list.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lecc0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Radisson Hotel Freehold, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Leccleston02,

We apologize that you experienced some inconveniences during your stay at the Radisson Freehold. You review was discussed with management, and we would like to take this opportunity to address some of your concerns. When you booked your room, you booked it using the advanced purchased reservation. This allows guests to receive a 20% discount, but unfortunately does not guarantee room type and the system automatically defaults to out two double bed rooms. The king bed room inventory is limited here at Radisson Freehold, and at the time of your stay we were sold out and unable to switch your room type.

We would also like to address your comments regarding the shuttle to and from the wedding venue. Unless the bride and groom provide us with that information regarding pick-up and drop-off times, we would not know. In this case, no information was provided.

Again, we apologize you did not completely enjoy your stay with us at the Radisson Freehold. This is not typical of our property, and we hope you consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel Freehold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    183
    99
    59
    38
See reviews for
389
129
45
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at this Radisson 4 months ago around the holidays and it was a wonderful experience. For the money, I think this hotel offers the best value around! I thought perhaps my first experience was a fluke, I mean, how could a hotel be that terrific in that price range?!? Well I am pleased to report that the Radisson Hotel Freehold does not disappoint. It's very popular for wedding receptions and from someone not attending the weddings, I'm amazed at the quality of service they continue to provide -even- with four parties in one evening. I offer my highest of praises in that respect.

For a quick review of what I love about this hotel....the staff is always friendly and helpful, the rooms are immaculate, each bed has FOUR pillows, the a/c-heater is quiet and efficient (and has a sensor so it turns off if no one is in the room), desk, comfortable desk chair, lamp with built-in outlets (great for cell phone or laptop charger), FREE wifi, flat screen tv, in room refrigerator, single cup coffeemaker with amazing coffee (yes, it is that flavorful), 2 FREE bottles of water per day (yes, FREE), iron, iron board, hair dryer, quality shampoo, conditioner, soap. The Sleep Number beds and bedding are some of the most comfortable. Both times I had the most fulfilling nights of sleep...and that's saying a lot!

Once again, I'm going to say I love this hotel and I love the staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Radisson Hotel Freehold, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear NeilEG,

Wow! Thank you for this wonderful 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you loved everything about your stay with us at the Radisson Freehold. It is wonderful that you continuously choose to stay with us when you are in the area and enjoy all of the accommodations we have to offer. This fantastic review will be shared with the entire staff, as I'm sure it will brighten their day.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband & I stayed 1 night at the Radisson for a wedding we attended at the Hotel. We had a great nights sleep. The room was really nice and check in & check out service was quick. We enjoyed our stay! Great Hotel for a wedding too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twoman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Radisson Hotel Freehold, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Twoman55,

Thank you for the amazing 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the wedding and your accommodations for the night. We hope you choose to stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Radisson Freehold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Deptford, NJ USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here April 19-21, 2013 while attending our son's wedding nearby. The hotel is convenient, clean, and the staff is attentive and respond quickly to requests. The restaurant and bar are both good. Can't say enough about the staff...loved those guys - especially Taila and Sarah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deemcintyre598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Radisson Hotel Freehold, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear deemcintyre598,

Wow, thank you for the 5-star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Radisson Freehold. Congratulations to you on your son's wedding! We hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Radisson Freehold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My house was destroyed after four feet of water from Sandy. Ended up there for just short of five months while rebuilding. Staff was super nice and helped with every request. I'm disabled and had no where else to go, and they really came through.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRF28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Radisson Hotel Freehold, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi JRF28,

We are so sorry to hear that you were displaced after Hurricane Sandy hit New Jersey. We know what a devastating and stressful time this must have been, but we are glad we were able to help and made your stay with us feel like home. We are glad to see you are back in your home!

Sincerely,
Radisson Freehold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Recently took a trip to Freehold for work and stayed at the Radisson. The accomodations were nice for the level of hotel. They staff were very helpful and gracious. I had a lot to print for a deposition and they were very accommodating. They gave me an upgrade to a suite, unfortunately I checked in at 10 PM and out at 7 am so I didn't get to enjoy it much, but it was a nice gesture. The showers in the suites are fantastic. Big with multiple jets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txstovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Radisson Hotel Freehold, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear txstovers,

Thank you you so much for your amazing review of the Radisson Freehold. We are glad you enjoyed your stay even if it was only for a little while. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,
Radisson Freehold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this review at 2am in a room in this hotel. We're pretty low maintenance, but .... The walls are so thin you can literally hear every word spoken in the room next door, which happens to include about eight drunk guys talking at the top of their lungs. Called front desk, no help. Earlier, called front desk because room reeked of cigarette smoke. They offered to send up air fresheners. Really, really bad.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank metfan8669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Radisson Hotel Freehold, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear metfan8669,

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again, and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Radisson Freehold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freehold
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn East Windsor - Cranbury Area
16.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Robbinsville
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Windsor
Hampton Inn East Windsor
#1 of 5 in East Windsor
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,184 reviews
11.0 mi away
Days Inn East Windsor/Hightstown
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Neptune/Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Freehold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Freehold

Property: Radisson Hotel Freehold
Address: 50 Gibson Pl, Freehold, NJ 07728-2514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Freehold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Freehold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Freehold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Freehold Hotel near Six Flags Great AdventureThe Radisson Hotel Freehold, NJ offers travelers comfortable accommodations and premier amenities, all in a great location near Six Flags Great Adventure and the U.S. Naval Weapons Station Earle. The Radisson features 121 spacious hotel rooms and suites, including six junior suites and four bridal suites, as well as a wealth of convenient amenities including an outdoor pool, Business Center and Fitness Center. Our Freehold, NJ hotel is one of the closest hotels to Six Flags Great Adventure, making us the perfect choice for vacationing families. Book your room today and see what makes us one of the best hotels in the area. Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in (some exceptions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. Check in: 4pm, Check out: 11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Freehold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freehold Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing