We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Chef's Table”
Review of The Chef's Table

The Chef's Table
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ho Ho Kus, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Chef's Table”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The master chef was the pull behind "The Ho-Ho-Kus Inn". But he and his wife are now in Franklin Lakes, and his food is to be compared, if not better than, Cafe Panache, in Ramsey, NJ. The meal is for you alone. You'd think no one else is sharing the room with you. But what a meal. You don't forget it. The service is incomparable. Again, it's as if you are alone. The food is so outstanding it deserves a write up in itself.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieWeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    12
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Chef's Table is a local favorite and hidden gem we enjoy. As a BYOB and and being modestly priced you'll get away with enjoying a great meal for less. Decor is unpretentious but well appointed with local art and prized personal pieces. Service is well-timed and well-polished. All meals are expertly prepared and full of flavor and variety. Some dishes are too salty for my personal taste, but having dined there dozens of times I've developed some favorites and have plenty to choose from. Try dining at Chef's Table at least once and decide for yourself.

Reservations are strongly recommended, but a last-minute call may still get you seated. Enjoy!

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“All About the Food”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The food is fresh, delicious, and expertly prepared. The setting is intimate, quiet, and unpretentious. I can see this quickly becoming a local favorite of ours.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoudWritr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Overrated and Mediocre”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Having read the enthusiastic reviews, we were shocked at how mediocre this restaurant is. We knew we were in trouble from the outset, as my wife's escargot tasted tinny and my salad was ordinary. Her cassoulet main course was poor in every respect and my duck in orange sauce (which I had seen praised in earlier reviews) was overcooked and tasteless. The only great thing in the meal was the wine - but we brought that ourselves. If you are a serious foodie used to fine French food, you should steer clear of this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NJChisoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Excellent Julia Child style French cooking. The beef bourgignon is a killer! Pricey, but lunch is a less expensive option. Quietly hidden away in a strip mall, you might never discover it on your own. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank LoudGuitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chef's Table also viewed

 

Been to The Chef's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing