We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

what a wonderful place we stayed there several times on business events, the location is great and close to all major highways plus the people are friendly and the price is very reasonable we will be back for sure

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filomenia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope that if you are in our area again that you choose to stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you again too.
Thank you for your feedback once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    302
    181
    104
    51
See reviews for
321
164
72
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Check in went smoothly and we got to our room quickly. The room is tired and in need of some modernization. This hotel gets a lot of business therefore everything in the room looked worn and uninviting. The concierge lounge was not attended by a staff member and did not serve wine, beer etc. Chips, soft drinks, hot dumplings, fruit and cookies were left out for people to help themselves and when they were all eaten nothing was replaced with a new tray etc. Breakfast was better and there was an attendant restocking eggs, bacon, sausage etc. She carefully placed two dollar bills on one of the small tables to indicate that tips were welcome. I have never seen this done at any Concierge lounge before in Hilton or Marriott and thought it a bit tacky. We will not stay at this hotel again until it has been updated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I recently stayed with my family at the Double Tree Ft. Lee in an attempt to avoid the robbery committed by hotels in Manhattan. The price we paid was quite reasonable given the proximity to NYC and the availability of the shuttle which transports you to the Hilton property downtown. Check-in was fine and the overall property is decent enough if not a bit worn but certainly worth the money we paid. There are 2 restaurants on site so if you do not want to eat Japanese or Italian, then eat before you come back to the hotel because there is NOWHERE to walk to. The hotel sits on a very busy highway and not in the prettiest area of town but extremely convenient to GW Bridge and all that NYC has to offer. The shuttle costs $10 per person per way and you have to book in advance. The times are somewhat convenient but on weekends it fills up quickly and they will not make multiple runs even if the demand is high and a taxi to or from Manhattan is at least $50 (I paid $60). Cabbies want to ensure they get their toll money which is $12 to get back across the bridge. So a family of 4 could be better off with a cab then paying the shuttle which has extremely limited space.

So here are my issues -
1. Asked for the A/C in our room to be checked 3 times because we could not get our room cool. Was never done and I ended up sweating through the night.
2. No mini-bar despite there not being a store anywhere around. There is a small on-site store but closes at 8:00 or some other early hour. The hotel does give you 2 bottle of water but that's where it ends.
3. If you book your room through a 3rd party site (hotels.com for example) then you can not get points on your Hilton card for the cost of the room but you can on incidentals.
4. A beer at the bar is very reasonably priced at $5.50 as opposed to the crazy prices in Manhattan but the breakfast is so over inflated. $14.95 per person for the buffet and the eggs and potatoes were disgusting. Room service is also Hilton prices for a Double Tree property which makes no sense. There is a way to get free breakfast as I was told they "give them out at check-in" but not to me. I'm a Hilton Gold Card member but still no free breakfast. Who gets the "coupons"? I couldn't break the code on this one.

If you are alone or a couple it makes for a great reprieve from the NYC lodging costs. Hotel parking in NYC can also be a massive expense where as parking is free in Ft. Lee. However, if you are a larger family then it may be just a better deal to stay in Manhattan then relying on the shuttle to get you back and forth. The price of the shuttle could be lowered to $5.00 or even $7.50 each way and they'd still make money since I didn't have a single trip without it being packed. The last shuttle from the Hilton downtown back to Ft. Lee is 11:30 PM. Not a mode of transport you can depend on if your plans involve Manhattan nightlife.

I'd probably stay here again if recreation had me traveling to NYC but part of the experience is staying in the city that never sleeps, so we'll hit Manhattan next time but figure out a different lodging plan.

Oh - last thought. Ordering room service was a nightmare as the person on the phone disguises her inability to speak English by saying "pardon" every other word. It took me 20 minutes to order the "American Breakfast" that only has a meat option, eggs to order and coffee or tea.

Room Tip: Accept that you will not get Hilton Rewards if you book through a 3rd party site. Due to this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borracho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback it is very important to us, as we try to improve service and guest experience at our Hotel. I was sorry to hear that you did not receive your breakfast coupon at check in as all Gold and Diamond Members do, but when booking your reservation, I would recommend using Hilton Reservations to ensure that your Hilton Membership Benefits are available to you at all Hilton properties. We look forward to serve you better on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I like the Doubletree Hilton chain and tend to expect excellent service, cleanliness and comfort. I am glad this hotel did not dissappoint. Stayed there for one night because of its proximity to NYC. Although the room showed a little wear and tear, it was nice and comfortable. Fast service at check in (even offered us extra cookie after I commented that I like that they have that amenity). Definitely would stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dxb
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel is good but its very far from Manhattan.If you hve plenty of time to explore new york,then this hotel is most ideal as its half the rates from what you will pay for manhattan hotels.But otherwise travelling up down daily is very tiring & expensive

Room Tip: corner rooms have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JpiDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here for two nights recently and was very impressed. The hotel was very clean, staff was all very friendly, and overall it met all my expectations. The room furnishings were new and very well updated, and it was very evident to me that management took cleaning and maintenance very seriously, because everything was very clean and was in excellent shape. The only negative about this hotel is the location. You literally cannot even walk as far as the bus stop at the GW bridge, which is 800 feet away. The hotel is only accessible by car and shuttle, not by walking or public transport. The hotel runs a rather expensive shuttle at $10 to Manhattan each way, and the schedule is quite limited, and the later shuttles sell out. I did this once, and found while it might work well for someone on a set schedule, if you are going to see the sights its not so practical. However, a solution that I found that worked really well was to drive to the Lincoln Tunnel park and ride, about 10-15 minute drive away, and take a very short ride on NJ Transit to the Port Authority Bus Terminal. Parking is $9.50, which includes your round trip fare, so its under half the cost of the shuttle, and the buses run on a very convenient schedule (NJ Transit bus route 320). That being said, as long as you have a car, I would strongly recommend this hotel and I do plan on staying here again on my next trip to the area!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very clean and comfortable room. Staff very nice. Free internet. Free parking. Best value during our stay near New York. We definitely will stay there for our next trip. A bit more expensive than the other doubletree hotels but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtlTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lee
0.4 mi away
Best Western Fort Lee
Best Western Fort Lee
#2 of 6 in Fort Lee
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Teaneck Marriott at Glenpointe
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 4 in Edgewater
136 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ridgefield Park
Hampton Inn Ridgefield Park
#2 of 2 in Ridgefield Park
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge
Address: 2117 State Rt 4, Fort Lee, NJ 07024-3209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fort Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge is just minutes from the George Washington Bridge, Midtown Manhattan, and MetLife Stadium in Fort Lee, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a meal at Café Milano or Sugi, complimentary Wi-Fi, & shuttle service to/from Manhattan. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center, heated indoor pool, and whirlpool. Explore many Fort Lee area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Fort Lee Hotel Fort Lee
Fort Lee Doubletree
Hilton Fort Lee
Fort Lee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing