We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hot Dog I've ever had.”
Review of Hiram's Roadstand

Hiram's Roadstand
Ranked #1 of 134 Restaurants in Fort Lee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
New York City
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best Hot Dog I've ever had.”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

First time I stopped in I kept it simple, well there's not much choice a Hiram's anyway. I ordered a plain dog and a draft...$5, can't beat that. It was the best dog I've ever had, juicy inside and a snap on the outside. Good burgers, great fries and rings as well. This is a great little stand for a quick lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KIRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    55
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great burgers and hotdogs”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Nothing fancy but the place serves classic burgers and hot dogs. I had a cheeseburger and the chilli cheese dog and both were great. The hot dogs here are fried ("rippers") and they just taste so good!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YOWCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
352 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“There are times when you just need this”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

A deep friend hot dog with sauerkraut and chees fries. That is my standard order. The amibiance is a mix but interesting. I enjoy the seasonal decorations because it seems so out of character. Plenty of parking and outdor seating available. Service is prompt. Not for a steady diet but sometimes you just need this.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nava1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Hirams has outlasted the Callihans that was across the street (now a bank) and will probably still be standing long after I'm gone (probably without much change). The place is very simple and small, but don't be affraid, go on in. You'll be pressured to order quick and know what you what, but don't rush, take your time and ask questions if you don't know. The staff is only gruff on the surface, but will help you if asked. I suggest trying their Hot Dogs in any of the many forms they'll make them. I like them with Red Onions (it's like Sabbrett's Onions and sauce). These are big, think grilled dogs, not thin boilers are hard fryed. Enjoy and have a beer while you're in too.

Helpful?
Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A classic NJ hot-dog "joint" -- top notch dogs and experience”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

If you are looking for the classic "roadside" American hot-dog joint -- then this is it! Much different from what it's former neighbor Callahan's used to be, this is a throwback to days gone by. It is not a diner-type place, or the old fashioned soda shop you might be thinking of. It is a simple, plain, no frills "joint" -- they serve hot-dogs and beer (and soda for the kids). Sure, you can get burgers, and other things but this place is famous for hot-dogs.

Some places use beef, some use pork, some go Thumann's and some go Sabrett's -- others too of course. Point being, some people like chocolate and some people like vanilla. You may not like the dog here -- try the chili toppings or the red onion sauce topping -- but this is a classic place. It's not fast-food, but remember what you go here for.

Of course they have a counter -- and sit there if you can. Try the dogs anyway you like them -- sauerkraut, chili, red onions, etc. Doesn't matter.

This is a NJ institution -- and I am a big fan.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cory r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiram's Roadstand also viewed

 

Been to Hiram's Roadstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing