We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Fort Lee
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
Reviewed October 31, 2013

On a recent trip to New York City with friends from Washington State, we wanted to have advanced reservations, but didn't want to pay New York prices. On-line, I found the Fort Lee Best Western conveniently located on NJ Route 4, just across the George Washington Bridge. They happened to have a 4-day special, so each room cost about $450 with taxes - more than we were hoping to spend, but certainly cheap by NY standards! Although we had a car and used it to go into NY on some days, we were also able to get a cab at the hotel for $7 to the GW bus stop on the NJ side and then took a bus (senior rates!) across the bridge to the NY bus terminal and then the Subway (Senior day-ticket!) from there.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfasts were good, and the service was excellent. We had a minor problem with one room on arrival and the front desk clerk graciously accommodated us. The owner, Fitzroy Grizzle and his assistant were most helpful in guiding us with NY attractions and helped us secure World Trade Center visitors passes.

We had four hectic, fun-filled days in NYC and it was nice to come "home" to a quiet, safe, welcoming place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disappdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Disappdoc

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent comments about your visit to our hotel.

We take a lot of pride in ensuring that all of our guest leave with a lasting memory of our facilty and wants to return.

It was a pleasure for me to help you with directiosn and means of getting into the city and i do hope that you, your friends and family members will visit us again in the near future.

Fitzroy Grizzle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 341 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great hotel for the money. Not fancy, spartan for amenities, but rooms are kept very clean, and staff is very nice to deal with. Easy access to New York City. I would recommend for a limited stay. One certainly can't go wrong staying here, but do not expect luxury accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Neil D

We are happy that you enjoy your brief stay with us, your review was one of the review we used this morning in our employee meeting.
Our goal is to ensure that all guest have a memorable stay, although at time this goal is not reach we continue to work hard on areas that we have failed so it will not happen again

I hope we will see you again in the near future.

Fitzroy Grizzle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Price and place were fine, but in order to open your suitcases you'll have to use the beds.
However, the receptionist was more than forthcoming and going completely out of his way by arranging another hotel for the same price. Exceptional service!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Nesco

Thank you for staying with us on your recent stay in the NY/NJ area, our guest are very important to us and we always try to ensure we can offer exceptional service in all areas.

We hope you will come and stay with us agin in the near future.

Fitzroy Grizzle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is my second time staying at this hotel, we were here to see visit Manhatten.
Checking clerk was very kind and gave me the information i needed to visit the city,he also called me after i arrived to ensure that everything was o.k. with my room.
The room is more of a older setting but was clean with a flat screen t.v.
In the morning i was awakening by the room next to me.
Breakfast was much better than a few of the other hotels we stayed at and was also greeted by a young lady who was also helpful.

I will definitely stay again

Room Tip: Always ask for parking vouchers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsahai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Tsahai S
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 201-461-7000.

Fitzroy Grizzle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

As others have said, this hotel has an awkward setup. When I checked in, the front desk person pointed out that I would have to carry my bag up a flight of stairs; I didn't expect it would be in the dark! It was strange walking down the dark corridor trying to find my room. Once in, the room was somewhat dated but clean. The breakfast was fine, waffles, cereal, etc. I hated trying to get out onto route 4; the traffic is going so fast it's dangerous! The proximity to the city is good, however.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Aya2

Thank you for making us your choice of stay while you were staying in the New Jersey area.

We appreciate your feedback and have taken your feedback very seriously, we are working on several areas to ensure that your next stay will be a lot more pleasant.

Your opinion about us is very valuable and we take pride in our hotel.

Thank you and I am looking forward in seeing you again.

Fitzroy Grizzle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Bad from the beginning. I called from a friends ahead to clarify if it was on RT 4, to which I was told very easy access ON route 4. Deadly access coming and going.

Lobby was filled with the smell of mold and smoke. Absolutely filthy.
When we checked into our room, it was a AWFUL mix off smoke, filth and a toxic amount of chemicals trying to mask them all. Hot, stale, cramped. NO ventilation, A/C and fan didn't work properly. Towel rack is inside the shower ? All the bedding that was supplied was a sheet and very well used old brown blanket barely suitable for my dog.

Staff were not friendly, did not bring anything requested (blankets, toilet paper etc)

In our two night stay our room was never cleaned and towels never refreshed.

Police were constantly driving by on the premises.

Breakfast ? Expired yogurt and bad coffee.

I have stayed at various levels of and a variety of brand hotels and never in my life have I encountered such an awful experience. I will never stay at another Best Western, the entire integrity of the brand has been lost now, I once considered the Best Western to be a quality brand but after this expierence that's been ruined. I wouldn't wish this on my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smarie306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Smarie 306

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 201-461-7000.

Fitzroy Grizzle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I would not recommend this Best Western to anyone, worst motel Ive stayed at, terrible set up, dated, smelled, no ventilation, dated, rooms small, in poor condition , worst motel Ive ever stayed at in Canada and US, they want me to use 200 words , on this but all I can keep saying is overall horrible experience

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Deborah W

We are sorry that you were not pleased with our service on your recent visit.

I really would like to communicate more with you so I can use this as a trainning for myself and staff
so we can perfect our service and establisment.

please contact me at 201-461-7000 or fortleegm@wnwhospitality.com

I will await your call.

Fitzroy Grizzle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lee
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ridgefield Park
Hampton Inn Ridgefield Park
#1 of 2 in Ridgefield Park
489 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 4 in Edgewater
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fort Lee

Address: 2300 State Rt 4, Fort Lee, NJ 07024-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fort Lee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
Price Range: $113 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Fort Lee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort Lee Hotel Fort Lee
Fort Lee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing