We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six nights and a very poor experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Fort Lee
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Six nights and a very poor experience”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent 6 nights on a family visit and we feel we can provide an informed view. Rooms are totally dark (their window look at an internal corridor) and all is soaked into humidity. The smell of humidity is so bad that we had to leave the door open before sleeping. You have to keep the light on even during the day as if you open the courtain there is no privacy at all. Everybody walking through the corridor can see inside. moreover, Internet is super slow, almost impossible to browse, especially if you use it for work (or to make calls). Service was also very disappointing. Hairs everywhere in the bathroom forced us to re-clean it before using it. The external door at our sector was not working. We informed reception on day one, and then the following day and the one after. No action, no sign, no repairing. Vending machine not working and again no sign and no action. Last night we asked for wake up call as we had a flight to catch, well no call at all. And just to finish well at the checkout the gave me the wrong room's bill...
In a nutshell. A very poor infrastructure coupled with low quality service cant really give a better rate. We will definitely go elsewhere in Fort Lee as the other options are certainly better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Robert 370

Please accept my apology for not meeting your expectation on your recent visit to our hotel, our management team has read your detail review and has already started addressing problems that you had mention and I should also let you know that problems such as the vending machine has already been solved.

We are geared towards ensuring that all guest that comes through our doors have a memorable experience and although we are not always successful we will continue at this task because we are a hotel that really cares about all our guest needs.

Fitzroy Grizzle
Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    124
    68
    40
    26
See reviews for
125
76
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came from Toledo, Ohio to visit relatives in Larchmont, NY and secondarily spend 1 day in NYC as "tourists". We picked Best Western, Fort Lee based on needed/desired amenities and distance to our planned travels, but finally based our decision to book from online reviews. WOW - the reviews didn't do this hotel justice! The rooms were extremely clean, had everything we needed, and was priced at a great value!! The location was ideal and the breakfast was sufficient, but the hotel lobby could be a little bigger to accommodate the morning "rush". However - The BEST part of this hotel is the staff and management! ROSE was our 1st impression of Best Western, Fort Lee and she nailed it! She was absolutely AWESOME and her customer service was exceptional. She went out of her way to insure our stay would be enjoyable and worry free. I wish we would have been able to say goodbye to her as she was not on shift when we departed :(
We only had one bad experience during our stay - a cab that took us to the GW Bridge charged us $25.00 for the VERY short trip claiming that it was because we were 5 people and needed the "van". It was not the 1st choice of Best Western, Fort Lee to choose this particular company, but waiting for their 1st choice would have taken longer and we were ready to go. We called their 1st choice cab company to bring us back that evening - in a VAN - traveling the SAME distance and route and they only charged us $4.15! When we checked out at the end of our stay, our hotel manager on duty (I wish I knew his name too) refunded our bill for the overcharge that the cab company ripped us off! WHAT hotel goes to that length to insure their guests leave happy??? BEST WESTERN, FORT LEE!!! We are fans and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were moved from a Queen room to a King room when it was discovered that the AC was not working pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sansa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I remember your family very clearly and i thought it was only fair for us to adjust your rate after what happen with that particular company.
We are a hotel that really cares about our guest and I was really appreciatetive that your husband brought this to our attention.

Rose is definitely a continual shinning start and her consistent superb customer service as won her several awards with our company and also promotions to being our Front Office Manager.

We hope that we will see you in the near future.

Fitzroy Grizzle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived on Saturday August 3 2013 checked in with absolutly no hassel. Rooms were so clean that it felt like home, beds very comfortable, free wifi that worked great. Breakfast in the morning was great, had everything that we would want for breakfast from pasteries, to yogurts, fruits, waffels, eggs coffee tea and juice. The staff and Managers were so nice and helpful, I would definitly recommend this to anyone from solo to family. The only thing that the hotel is right off the ramp of route 4, if you dont stay on the right side it can be missed.

Excellent excellent hotel A+

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hrepd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Hrepd

Thank you so much for making us your choice for stay while visiting the NY/NJ area.
Our breakfast has been ratesd as one of the best in our areas, and my staff would be upset with me if i didnt add to your list the variety of toppings that we have for our Belgian waffles.

The team works very hard each day to ensure that all of our guest needs are meet and reading reviews like these is just one of the several ways that we keep our associates motivated.

We look forward in seeing you and your family again.

Fitzroy Grizzle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel entrance is at highway off-ramp so make sure you take the rightmost lane, turn signal on and slow enough to catch that entrance, otherwise you'll have to make a big loop around to get to that ramp again. Room and bed was clean. Internet worked fine. Free breakfast included pastry, muffins, breads, cereal, eggs, waffles, fruit, milk, tea and coffee. Free parking. That's much better than staying in NYC and having to park your car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Horatio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Horatio L

Our entrance can pose its challenge for guest who are new to the area, we always let guest know that once they are on route 4 west, please slow down bnecause our building is the first once you start descending the hill.

We see that you did join us for our complimentary continental breakfast which goes well with spacious parking and our free wire less internet in all rooms.

Our staff take pride in ensuring that all guest have a plesant stay and always want to return.

We hope we will see you and your family again.

Fitzroy Grizzle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I enjoyed the experience of this facility in NJ, just over the G.W. bridge. The staff was very helpful and professional. The room was quite clean and comfortable. Within minutes of great restaurants and a wonderful mall as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dr-Bellamy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dr-Bellamy

Thank you for those wonderful words, with a schedule like yours we really appreciate you taking the time to let others know about the gem that you discover.
My staff was really pleased with your review.

Ihope that we will see you and the family again soon.

Fitzroy Grizzle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My son and I arrived at 12:45am and were greeted by a very nice front desk employee who informed us that because they had no more double bed rooms as we had reserved, that we would be moved to the suite so my son would have a pull out couch and I would have a bed. When we discovered we needed a blanket for the pull out, I called the front desk and he immediately brought up a wonderful, thick comforter for the bed. The room was quiet, and nice and very close to our destination of NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Tom K

We thank you for visiting us at the Fort Lee Hotel on your recent stay, mostly i wanted to thank you for your understanding with your room type.

As you might be aware that it is our busy season and from time to time we have occurrence of a particular room type that does not meet our criteria in order to check a guest in after the previous guest was finish with the room.
This was the case and we thought it was only fair for us to give you and your son a complimentary upgrade.

We hope we will see you again soon.

Fitzroy Grizzle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach Va.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a great way to take the family to New York City. Easy access to GW Bridge goes along with an excellent hotel. The staff is extremely helpful and the rooms are comfortable and what a way to start your treck to the city than their breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank EDWARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortleegm, General Manager at Best Western Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Edward B

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience in our hotel, we strive to ensure that all our guest needs are meet.
I notice you mentioned our complimentary continental breakfast which is one of the consistent amenity that our guest really enjoy.
From hard boil eggs, Belgium Waffles with several toppings, juices and fresh fruits are just a few of the items we have for our guest to help stat the day.
Hope to see you again soon.

Fitzroy Grizzle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lee
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ridgefield Park
Hampton Inn Ridgefield Park
#2 of 2 in Ridgefield Park
461 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 4 in Edgewater
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fort Lee

Property: Best Western Fort Lee
Address: 2300 State Rt 4, Fort Lee, NJ 07024-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fort Lee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Fort Lee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort Lee Hotel Fort Lee
Fort Lee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing