We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our go to breakfast stop on the way to the NC beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chillers Grill

Chillers Grill
Ranked #12 of 131 Restaurants in Fort Lee
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Chillers Grill, Restaurant and Diner in Fort Lee NJ 07024. Chillers Grill is a diner with a bar/grill atmosphere that makes us unique. We have been successfully serving customers for many years. Stop by and give us a try!
NEW FAIRFIELD
Level Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Our go to breakfast stop on the way to the NC beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had planned to travel south on the garden state parkway but an accident bumped us over to the palisades parkway, so we stopped for breakfast at the Chiller's Grill. We had an excellent breakfast that kept us going all morning. We were a little worried by some of the reviews we read, but based on our meal we'll visit them again when next we are in the neghborhood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garymwhipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    28
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious wraps and salads at Chillers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We're thrilled that a new lunch location offers wraps, paninis and salads. Service can be spotty, but if you ask for the manager, you'll get your items served faster. While the credit card machine has been known to fail --- be patient.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice clean place, better than the old diner!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The service is their biggest problem, we were there for breakfast and it was okay. They need to work on tending tables a bit faster. Our waiter forgot that we were there for a while. The food was good, our neighbors had a bad experience with their food being cold and so on. We are going back hoping they can get it together, since we do not have a decent dinner in Fort Lee. I am really hoping they will be the one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank migsfromnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chaos all around”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

When the former Red Oak diner changed hands and became Chillers Grill, we were attracted by their colorful new flyers left in our lobby. (We were not impressed with the prior incarnation of this eatery.) We gave Chillers two tries, but judging from personal experience, they have a long way to go to improve their service. Our first visit was dinner time. My wife opted for the all-day breakfast choice, selecting french toast, two eggs with a side of bacon. The waiter clearly confused this order with someone else's -- he brought out an omelette. At a nearby table, we saw a couple depart, their burger barely touched. Turns out there was hair in the meat and the woman had bitten into some plastic in the meat. On another occasion, we tried them for Sunday breakfast. I witnessed total confusion. While waiting for our order, I spotted an agitated customer walk out complaining he had been waiting for one half hour to be served his order. A couple across the aisle was sitting for 10 minutes and had to request a menu. A woman at another table was clearly agitated when a server brought her a cup of plain coffee; she had to get up and show the server a menu which indicated she had ordered a specialty coffee. As for us, our order came out some 20 minutes after we placed it -- tolerable on a busy Sunday morning, but I had to remind the server that he had not brought out the juice I had ordered. Adding insult to injury, he dropped off the check without asking whether we wished to order anything else; and the cashier made no effort to ask about experience, unlike other Jersey diners we frequent.

It's too bad that this "diner" is not one I would recommend, because it is potentially a great place to take a meal break when traveling with children though the area via major thoroughfares like I-95, I-80 and the Palisades Interstate Parkway. Their food is average, portions bountiful, but the service is way below par.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pops07024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, NJ
Level Contributor
145 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Forget my last review of Chiller's right after purchase of Red Oak -- now we'll never go back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We had gone to Chiller's Grill right after they purchased The Red Oak, our favorite diner. They hadn't changed menus yet, and my guess is they had the same chef. Well we went back a month later -- what a disaster. There was a new menu, way overpriced compared to other area diners, plus a much smaller selection. My daughter wanted to know how the Chicken Murphy was made and the waitress had to go ask. Okay, she was probably new. She said " chicken with peppers," which is the way we're familiar with Chicken Murphy. Except when the dish arrived instead of regular green or red peppers, it was made with the kind of hot, little peppers you get in Greek salads (peperoncini), and some unknown sticky sauce. I ordered chicken souvlaki and a Greek salad and what I got tasted like chicken teriyaki with a Greek salad. Either they had coked chicken teriyaki on the same grill and didn't clean it well, or they just don't know how to make chicken souvlaki and purposely put teriyaki sauce on it. I was also surprised that they no longer had the full course meals that the Red Oak used to have. When I asked the waitress where the dinners were, she pointed out that you could get a soup or salad with their "dinners." Other diners also give you a dessert and coffee, and the whole thing at a lower price. We're moving our business to the Gotham or the Point for good, solid, diner food. We will not be going back to Chillers. Too bad; they're very convenient but not worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank CyprusMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chillers Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chillers Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing