We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tofu in Fort Lee”
Review of So Kong Dong

So Kong Dong
Ranked #3 of 137 Restaurants in Fort Lee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Tofu in Fort Lee”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've been a huge fan of So Kong Dong for a long time. It's a no-frills soondubu (tofu) restaurant with quick service and a directed menu. It's probably the best soondubu I've had in the New York/New Jersey Metropolitan area - there's usually always a wait around dinner time, but the staff does a good job of trying to move things along. The taste is without peer, but you should know that they are not organic, they use MSG, if you care about such things.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenC12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    38
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Soft tofu served well”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I took my family and a friend for lunch to this restaurant yesterday.
As a Korean, I have to say I'm impressed with the food and service.
The soft tofu and the only other menu item bbq rib were on par with what you'd see in Korea, with very reasonable prices for what you get. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaddyMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great Korean comfort food”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is the best place for Korean comfort food when the weather gets chilly. The tofu soup is warm and silky. My husband and I usually get the soup with pork, and you can specify the degree of spiciness when you order (none, little, moderate and very spicy). Each order comes with small side dishes, like kimchi and picked radish which you can add to the soup to further spice up the flavors. There is also a big clay pot of steamed rice. The wait staff will scrap the rice from the pot, and then pour hot tea into the pot. I usually eat the rice with the hot tea, and take the steamed rice home with me. The BBQ rib is not to be missed. The serving sizes are generous so we always end up taking the soup and rice home with us. The place gets really crowded on weekends. It's usually better to go before or after the rush hour. Otherwise, the noise letter inside is very high. Parking is also very limited. Definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Soft tofu soup!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Love this korean place, even I am from Boston, I have to come here everytime I visit NJ. They have excellent tofu soup (different combination: plain, seafood and meat), also tasty kalbi (short rib), white rice from the hot pot. They also have yummy, unlimited side dishes !!! Service is OK. They have a small parklng lot. If full, there is a large municipal lot right across the street where parking for 2 hours is only $1. You got to go and try this place!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The place does not seem designed for couples or small groups, but for large groups, probabably families. I was surprised at the high noise level. Prices are quite high, probably 50% higher than the usual Chinese restaurant, and, tho service was OK, the food itself was, at best pedestrian. A 'special', Mongolian steak, @ $14.95 was less than ordinary. I will not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlwFortLee_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed So Kong Dong also viewed

 

Been to So Kong Dong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing