We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally found a "great" restaurant in Forked River, NJ”
Review of Kate & Ally's

Kate & Ally's
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Forked River
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 14, 2017

We recently moved to Forked River and have been trying out local restaurants, and finally found one that is par with the NYC area, which is where we came from. Everything we ordered was delicious! The crab taco appetizer was all crab and very fresh! The she crab soup was the best I have ever tasted and the homemade ricotta gnocchi with white truffle sauce and pancetta was amazing. For our main courses we had lamb chops wrapped in bacon with roasted potatoes and pork osso buco that melted in your mouth, with a delicious light brown gravy instead of the usual heavy wine sauce with carrots, etc. gravy. It was served with french string beans and blue cheese mashed potatoes. All quite delish! The restaurant itself is small and quaint, but could use some better lighting. Other than that, this is the place to eat if you are in the area. Make a reservation as they are only open 3 days a week. They are a little pricey, but well worth it, plus its a BYOB, which is always a plus! Service was also very attentive!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ConnieB1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 60 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2017

My wife and I finally went to Kate an Ally's. The food was fantastic and the staff were friendly. This is fine dinning at its best. My only regret is that it took us so long to go. Try the shrimp and lobster lasagna and the crab tacos you wont regret it. Don't forget it's BYOB.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marvin414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

This is a little tiny place in a strip mall but don't let the outside fool you. Atmosphere is cozy and the food is very good..prices are a little high but it's byob which always is a plus!!!
They are only open 2 days a week I believe.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank Oceanaddct118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

We love this place. And you will too. Cozy, intimate ambiance, great service & magnificent food. BYOB makes up for price range. Want a huge perfectly grilled strip steak with fresh veggies & potato side, , preceded by bruschetta, and accompanied with fresh crisp salad with house dressings, and hot herbed foccia bread? For only $32.95 an outstanding buy.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017

Having been a catering customer, we decided to give the dining room a try. We had two appetizers, the carpaccio (this was the only item I would not recommend, while fresh it was lacking the flavor of other establishments serving this) and a special which they called disco fries (this was amazing, fried mushroom sticks served with braised short ribs and a fondue sauce). Main courses included the Cioppino (waiter explained there would be no scallops as they were not happy with the fresh scallops they could obtain this time of year and did not want to use frozen which you have to respect) and the Papparedelle. Both dishes were very good. Most certainly added to our list and we will be returning.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darren46592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kate & Ally's also viewed

 
Forked River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Kate & Ally's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing