We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six cars in parking lot compared to 200 across street at Caffrey's”
Review of Rella's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rella's
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This location was formerly Charlie Brown's. Empty for a year it is now Rella's
Forked River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Six cars in parking lot compared to 200 across street at Caffrey's”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Nice people, nice atmosphere, but menu is mediocre at best. A couple of good entries, but not a lot of consistency. For reasons unknown, no restaurant has ever been able to make a success of this location (this is the fourth since we've been coming to Forked River), despite the fact that Caffrey's Tavern across the street is busy every night. I don't expect Rella's to make it for the long run. Maybe "five" is the charm!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    7
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waretown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice Casual Meal for Four”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was disappointed when I found out that the Charlie Brown's had closed. But Rella's revives the location and provided a nice dinner out for a friends get together.

We all had different items from the menu and there were a host of specials on the board. I asked for one of the specials made "slightly different" and was quickly accommodated. Food was tasty, but nothing significantly outstanding. Our friends had highly recommended this for our foursome, however, I didn't find anything that "wow'd" me to make it a regular place to visit.

Prices were good, but there just seemed to be something missing. We did get a little distracted by some of the noise from the bar area and it was a bit cooler than I would have liked for a dining room experience. That said, I'll give it another try in the Spring, and will re-post the experience from then. Meanwhile, I'll give this a average rating, OK, but nothing spectacular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveE461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow service from the start, then they were in a rush to get you out the door when we were done.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Place was empty when we got there, 3 of us . Very slow service, bread was cold and hard. Food was terrible.
Prices were above average, for leases than mediocre food.
They will be gone in 6 months.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holygst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible Service and Food”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

this place has the worst service. went to get a drink with a few friends and the bartender was clueless. he was to busy either talkin to other employees or looking at his phone. Food was also bad and came out cold... Forget this place theres so many other good spots in Lacey

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank miguel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never went back”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I went shortly after they had their "soft opening" for lunch. The
Waitress was very nice, but stayed at our table talking (about herself) way too much!
The food was not good, nor was the old Charlie Browns decor...Since it was new in
Our town we figured we would give it a chance...Bad Decision...haven't been back since
And won't be back...don't waste your money

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HighSchoolSweetheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rella's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing