We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So great to see happy animals.”
Review of Popcorn Park Zoo

Popcorn Park Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
Brick NJ
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So great to see happy animals.”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

All of the animals were rescue animals and a lot of variety. Tigers, ponies, monkeys, bears and more. While not room for free roaming, Pens are large, clean and well maintained. This sanctuary is a happy place for the animals and fun to visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank plmBrickNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    49
    22
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice for kids”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Not like a regular zoo, by far, but nice for kids, especially younger ones. Guess what you feed them! We took our grandchildren there and they had a very nice time. Some animals are caged, some walking around, some they can touch. Small enough to make it a pleasant afternoon trip. Not the cleanest and nicest place. Could use modernization. Parking, if busy, can be an issue, so you may have to park in the alternate lot and walk in. Price isn't too bad. Some picnic tables to have lunch (outside the zoo itself). Overall a nice trip for the kids.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mutty_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's not the Philadelphia Zoo, but definitely worth it”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Is not a very big zoo, but what they do is awesome. My kids enjoy going there because it gives then a chance to get up close to alot of the animals there and pet alot of them. We try and go at least one a year, if not more. They are associated with the Humane Society, so they do have some animal rescues there which is a really awesome thing they do.
Like I said it's not one of the big zoos that have all kinds of exotic animals, but they do have a good variety. Ducks, geese, monkies, bears, lions, tigers, goats, deer, reptiles, amphibians, peacocks, and many other animals are there. You can quickly go through there in about 1 1/2 hours or take your time and enjoy the afternoon.
The admission fees are reasonable, and you can purchase popcorn to feed the animals for a fair price as well.

Helpful?
Thank msn1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“love the popcorn park zoo!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We LOVE the popcorn park zoo... we use the kids as an excuse to go but it really is great. A really fun day for a low price. Good for all ages

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nancygal519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmar NJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just right for little ones”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We took our 2 Grandchildren, ages 2 and 7 to the Zoo today. Some of the animals were napping and others were inside their cubby but we did see enough. Don't try to push a stroller as the pathways are sandy. The website for Popcorn Zoo does mention this. I'm sure it would be a big expense to pave it all. The kids enjoyed it very much and we saw it all in an hour. The bathrooms are in a trailer and they were clean. No problem there. There is a small picnic area and a few gifts to buy on the way out. We decided to have lunch at the rest area on the Parkway(exit 76) before we went into the Zoo. There is nothing else around there that I know of for food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catlover07719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popcorn Park Zoo also viewed

Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
Forked River, Jersey Shore
 
Forked River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Popcorn Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing