We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Florham Park
Verona, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but needs updating”
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed at the Hamilton Park hotel for a one-night getaway. Upon arrival we got checked in early and got the King bed which we requested. Overall, the room was very small. The bedroom needed updating, but the bathroom looks like it was recently upgraded - was also small but nice. The bed was very comfortable.

There was both an indoor and outdoor pool/whirlpool - which was very nice. Not too big but good enough. Both pools needed major updating - the general fixtures were all turned/rusting and loose. - was kind of depressing. The patio seemed very old/aged. No entertainment or music on - kind of boring, but at the same time relaxing. I guess it depends on what you like. There was also a workout gym - much larger than normal hotel gyms - you can actually get a decent workout there. They may bring on memberships - which is possibly why it was so inclusive.

For dinner there was two options - a buffet in the restaurant or bar food at Vanderbilts sports club. The buffet looked very good, but the only ones in there were the wait staff - it was completely dead. Maybe because of the night. But the buffet was also $27.95 which was more than we wanted to spend that night. But the price was worth what they were offering - it was reasonable actually - so I am not mocking it at all. We just didn't want to spend that much that night.

We ate at Vanderbilts which was actually good and very reasonable. An excellent burger and fries for like $10 bucks is a steal. My wife had a salad with grilled chicken which was also very good for like $11. And to top it off, they had a happy hour until 9pm with $3.00 drafts and mixed drinks - can't beat that! We played free pool and games in the sports bar most of the night - so that was fun. At least it was a place to hang out all night.

The free breakfast that came with our stay was excellent. It was above average - with omelete and waffle station, usual breakfast items, nova lox, smoothies, cereal, yogurt parfaits, and a bunch of other odds and ends. Was definitely worth it - was surprised that it was so nice.

Overall, I think if they updated the hotel in some areas such as rooms and the pool area, this would be a great place. I am not sure if I would go back again - mainly because of the very outdated pool area. If they fix that part I would go back. For others, it may be fine - I may be just too picky.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrkevingreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    239
    143
    62
    42
See reviews for
208
80
19
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

I stayed at the hotel on Saturday night. Yes, there was a lot of activity here, a baby shower, a wedding and it was very busy. None of which had a negative impact on my stay. The rooms were very clean, neat, comfortable and well appointed. Their mission statement is excellent and my overall stay was excellent. Earth friendly products and efforts to help the enviornment are an absolute plus!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa17Provincetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW CUMBERLAND
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

The hotel staff was on top of everything. Every time you got up from your seat, the staff would refold the napkins and place it back on the table. Any item you needed was there for you. The room was great, the food was excellent, and the location is beautiful. I think the person that had a problem sleeping was above or near the club. You can request a room further away. We heard absolutely no noise. This is the first time we stayed there, but would look forward to many repeated stays.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MT-233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2009

A friend and I recently booked a Friday and Saturday night stay at the Hamilton Park Hotel, and it was by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had. There was a wedding reception at the hotel on Friday night, and our room was right above a courtyard bar area....that didn't close until 1:30AM. It was so noisy that we couldn't sleep, but the hotel was completely booked so we couldn't move rooms. When the bar closed, we thought we'd finally get some sleep, but a group of folks brought the party into the room next to us. We informed the front desk who promptly sent security to the loud room...but 1/2 hour later the noise started up again. We requested security again, and while they were able to break up the party next to us, by this time it was 3AM.

We ended up checking out on Saturday morning, canceling our reservation for that evening. We also got a 50% refund on our Friday night stay. While I don't fault the staff on duty ...they were very professional and helped as best they could... who in the world puts hotel rooms directly above a courtyard bar? If there is any sort of event going on, you are guaranteed not to get any sleep. If you must stay here, do yourself a favor and request a room away from the courtyard, particularly if the weather is nice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Stayed one weekend night with family after a day at The Funplex entertainment center in nearby East Hanover. Had the place mostly to ourselves--saw only a few other guests, and no one else in the pool area. Good rate via Priceline.

Hotel is upscale, well kept. Room and bathroom were both average size. Standard tub. Furnishings and bedding looked new. Comfortable beds and pillows.

Pool area was large and clean. 4-5' deep pool was a good temperature. Jacuzzi was nice and hot. Locker room was clean and had a sauna. Did not use the gym, but it looked larger and nicer than a standard hotel exercise room.

No concierge or bellman. Was what I'd call a "business casual" kind of place--very nice, but informal enough for caffeinated kids. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I didn't stay in the hotel overnight, but I have been there many times for business meetings, and I made my son's engagement party there (in the Vaderbilt lounge). Food and service were always excellent, and staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. Looked at rooms for overnight guests and they looked nice though no one actually stayed overnight.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ams44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2008

I recently stayed at the Hamilton Park Hotel during the hoilday. The hotel exceeds expecatation! I was impressed with the overall ambiance of the hotel and guestrooms. The view from my room was lovely. I could not wait to return to my room to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The hotel provides complimentary wireless services including printing services. This hotel looks exactly like the photos online.

Overall, I would give this hotel 5 stars!

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank janai2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florham Park
0.8 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
794 reviews
0.9 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
682 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#5 of 5 in Morristown
931 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 175 Park Ave, Florham Park, NJ 07932-1003 (Formerly Hamilton Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Florham Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Florham Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florham Park hotel & conference center offering lodging, business meeting facilities, wedding venues and space for special events near Morristown, New York City and Newark Airport in New Jersey. Dine at Social Kitchen or Vanderbilt's Bar & Lounge and take advantage of the hotel's variety of vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Park Hotel And Conference Center
Hamilton Park Hotel Florham Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing