We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Viva Mexico - Moved to our Backyard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Mexican Restaurant

Viva Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 124 Restaurants in Flemington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Flemington, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Viva Mexico - Moved to our Backyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Viva Mexico is still alive and "cookin" great food--right in our backyard. Some people have asked me what happened to Viva Mexico--the Mexican restaurant that used to be on Broad Street. They are now located at 14 Turntable Junction in Flemington, and they still have the best Mexican food in the area. This restaurant is owned by Blanca and Liberato who pride themselves on making great authentic Mexican food. There are plenty of tables and plenty of parking too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank macromary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Readington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Grabbed dinner at Viva Mexico tonight...first time at their new location. We were greeted with smiles as we walked thru the door. The new location is much larger than the previous one and decorated perfectly! Rustic wood tables, comfortable chairs and just the right amount of Mexican flair.
The food is still great!! We both had the combination entree. Everything was wonderful right down to the re fried beans!!! We will definitely go back again soon!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Lauradids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love the new location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Excellent fresh, honest Mexican food
Love the salsa dip to start. Very fresh entrees. Great choices, nice friendly service. A nice location and wishing them much success

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CA26NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
465 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“New location, same great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Viva Mexico, a Flemington treasure has moved to a newer, bigger location but it's the same tasty food. While I'm reading other reviews downing the flavor of the dishes, I'm baffled. Stick with the Mexican standards, and you won't be disappointed. Our favorite by far: the mole. It's just the right degree of spice, and boasts complex flavors. As someone who's made mole from scratch (and purchased pre-made sauce), it's obvious that this is fresh and homemade. The mole can be served on any enchilada, and we had it both on chicken and cheese enchiladas. The salsas are also great, and the guacamole fresh. The sides of beans and rice are admittedly a little dull, but if that's the biggest flaw, we can deal with it. Many choices of desserts are available: my daughter loves the Tres Leches cake, and the flan is also great. There are a few vegetarian options available.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
314 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Let me start with the salsa, just as our dinner did. It was fantastic! But it was all downhill from there. The guacamole didn't seem fresh and my enchiladas had no flavor. How do you prepare mexican food that does't taste like anything? Others at the table had the combo platter and had the same reaction... and mentioned that the tamale was the best. I was extremely disappointed and was hoping for great and authentic Mexican food... this was not it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teena1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Viva Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing