We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening”

Matt's Red Rooster Grill
Ranked #2 of 127 Restaurants in Flemington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Matt’s Red Rooster Grill is a contemporary American bistro paying homage to a wood fired grill that “brings out the best flavors” of traditional American cuisine, reinvented creatively. A CIA (Hyde Park) graduate, Chef Matt McPherson stays true to his local roots integrating the finest seasonal ingredients, sourced from local family farms & day boat fisherman into his unique dishes. The restored Victorian home provides a relaxed elegant atmosphere to catch up with friends, celebrate special occasions, enjoy a romantic dinner, or impress an important client. As Matt’s creations pamper your taste buds, the staff indulges you with rock star service, the perfect remedy for a long day or week. With two floors, downstairs feeds off the warmth & energy of a bustling open kitchen. Four seats at the Chef's counter let you feel the heat, as you watch Matt & his team from a perch over the grill. Upstairs is away from the bustle while the porch provides relaxed & refreshing outdoor dining.
Central NJ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We attended a party in the upstairs dining area. Appetizers were a bit bland (crab cakes and pulled pork nachos), but the dinner was wonderful. My husband and I both had filet mignon served with mashed potatoes and carrots. The steak was cooked and seasoned perfectly. Decor is rustic chic. We will be going back to check out the downstairs dining room which is open to the kitchen so you can see food being prepared. Restaurant is BYOB and there is ample parking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CentralNJSeashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    46
    32
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent meal despite Hurricane Sandy”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent visit Friday night. Butternut squash soup was fabulous. Mushroom onion tart was good but not as memorable. The cod special and broiled twin lobster tails were terrific. Tender, moist, and flavorful. You have to go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FranC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I took my aunt out for her birthday and it is was the perfect place, Fine dining with out the stuffiness. We had the grilled Caesar salad, lobster Mac and cheese, braised short ribs, fresh fish with vegetables and the bread pudding. Every part of the meal was wonderful. It may seem pricey but you are getting a great quality meal and I think for special occasions its worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Scrappy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Will go back.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We arrived early on a Thursday night and were surprised how busy it was when we left. I ordered the lobster and thought it was Ok, my husband's filet was outstanding. The sides were excellent also. I was disappointed with the slow service of filling the water glasses. I had to ask 3 times. The apple cobbler was good but a little too sweet for my husband's taste. We will definitely come back again and try something else. There is a nice variety of the menu and many of the dishes that were being served around us looked delicious.

Helpful?
Thank KraZe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have dined here many times and have never been disappointed. Outstanding food quality, freshness and preparation. Attentive friendly service. Comfortable setting, alfresco weather permitting, also the open kitchen fire for a warm ambiance in winter.
Poblano peppers, foie gras, tuna tartare are favorite appetizers. Cowboy steak, Filet Mignon with blue cheese sauce always tender well prepared entrees. Not to mention the BYOB policy as a welcome plus.
My favorite in Central Jersey.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt's Red Rooster Grill also viewed

 

Been to Matt's Red Rooster Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing