We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NYC quality in NJ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaker Cafe - CLOSED

Shaker Cafe
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Shaker has had a long and rich history. For about 20 years, the Shaker has been synonymous with a vibrant atmosphere and great food. In January 2010, the Shaker was purchased by Charles Dempsey. Charles continues to enrich the Shaker vision and follow in the path of the Shaker legacy.Even though the ownership has changed the shaker aims to do even better. We now accept credit cards, have extended hours, and have sourced our produce from a local farms for even greater quality food at the same low prices.Look for in 2011: We're now open Saturdays for Breakfast (8-12). We'll also be introducing new menu items after they're perfected in our test kitchen (which happens to be the Dempsey household!).Thank you for your interested in the Shaker :)-- Charles Dempsey & family Hours of OperationMonday - 7am - 3pmTuesday - 7am - 3pmWednesday - 7am-3pmThursday - 7am - 3pmFriday - 7am - 9:pmFriday (Dinner) - 5pm - 9pmSaturday -8:am-12:00pmSunday - 8am - 1pm
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“NYC quality in NJ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I commute from Manhattan, NY to Flemington, NJ every day for work and my office eats out for lunch all the time. You will find me and all my colleagues at Shaker cafe at least 3-4 days a week. it so refreshing to find a family run cafe in NJ that has the same standards of food and service as those i frequent in NYC. the menu is great, but the specials are where its at....
I never thought i'd say this... but i prefer the reuben sandwich at shaker cafe over the reuben at Katz deli in the City.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank josh r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    10
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Bridge
1 review
“Excellent, relaxed dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Shaker is quirky and fun. I eat at Shaker on a regular basis for lunch. The staff is as friendly as they come. The regular menu is great, but the choice of specials on their board is tremendous. They regularly have new dishes to try and I am rarely disappointed.

The ordering can be quirky (order at the register, your food is delivered to your table, then pay at the register). When the weather is warm, feel free to have an outdoor sidewalk experience, otherwise the ambiance inside is inviting and eccentric.

If you're looking for a gourmet experience, go somewhere else. If you're looking for a great, inexpensive, variety of dishes then go to Shaker.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and The Best Specials Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

For breakfast or lunch, this small Main Street restaurant is not beatable. The specials are amazing, reasonably priced and change daily. Fresh food, looks like you can eat of the floor and the service was super attentive. Try the Chili, best around!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great lunch on drive back from Poconos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stopped in for lunch on a rainy August day and had a great experience. Food was imaginative and quite tasty. Staff was very hard working and friendly. Clean facility including the bathrooms. Excellent strawberry salad and good chicken sandwich. Very crowded. Would definately stop back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zingland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, good food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Shaker Cafe' is located in the heart of Flemington, NJ with ample parking in the rear of the cafe'. Order & pay at the counter, take your plastic animal back to your table and your server brings you your meal. Good food, nice service with a fun, eclectic decor-including salt & pepper shaker collection-thus it's name; makes the Shaker Cafe' a good place to enjoy a meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SandraVStockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaker Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing