We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eccentric hobbyist showing off his craft”
Review of Northlandz

Northlandz
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Flemington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the world's largest model railroad, Northlandz also offers a 94 room dollhouse, art galleries and a massive pipe organ.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Eccentric hobbyist showing off his craft”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I brought my boys to see this place. I heard it was must see. It was very interesting. It is very clear the passion the owner has for his hobby. Some of the added scenes that call out past tragedy (a kid destroyed track, so there is a passive aggressive note left that this was how it was left) and the numerous outhouses, etc. really display the eccentricity of the collection.

All in all it is a remarkable display that clearly took years of highly detailed, hard work.

Don't get pushed into buying the outdoor train ride. It's better to take your time to enjoy the display than ride it.

Be prepared to spend a few hours here, it's better to plan to look at everything than rush through displays.

Also, for families with little ones, DO NOT take wide strollers. The ramps and certain areas can be very tight.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Flemington_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    95
    50
    29
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“fun for my train-loving 4-year-old”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place was very exciting for my four-year-old who absolutely LOVES trains. For the two of us, including the 5-7 minute train ride at the end, it cost about $30. I would recommend visiting the place at least once. Not so well kept though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shireen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't miss it.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We've been here several times and recently took our 8 year old granddaughter. In her words..."This place is awesome". It really is amazing. It takes one to one and a half hours to walk through the entire display. You can't rush because there's so much detail to the layout. This is a 50,000 square foot building, 3 stories high, and contains over 8 miles of track. Largely the result of one mans efforts. Don't forget the camera and, as the website suggests, you may want to take a pair of binoculars.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TPS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Railway Modellers - This Will Blow Your Mind”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Having seen many model railway layouts I was not prepared for this.
The story of its evolution is fascinating and the results are incredible.
The layout fills a HUGE building, built specifically for the layout, and is 3 stories high, with the layout filing the space, even vertically. My only regret was that I didn't have more time and would have liked to revisit but it was not to be.
To be fully appreciated it must be repeatedly visited as ones initial tour is overwhelming, so allow plenty of time to take it all in and get the video which is a good momento although the commentary is slightly banal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, New Jersey
1 review
“SUPER”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I am 11 and i though the museum was very cool and the models looked as if they were real, I really enjoyed seeing all the train set ups in the model.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank saraddd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northlandz also viewed

 

Been to Northlandz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing