We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fresco - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fresco
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Real Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have enjoyed this restaurant since it was established.
We really enjoy Fresco. They have redirected to their Chester location. They are leaving Flanders in Limbo.
Anyway, the food is great and I reccomend it.
Marco the owner, is spectacular as an owner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank horsedadMorrisCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gourmet Mexican in a strip mall?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

It doesn't look like much from the outside but this family affair restaurant serves some of the best authentic Mexican food you will find. A hidden gem in a strip mall.. Only in New Jersey, anyway we loved it. Try the Guacamle it's to die for

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitchell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna
Level Contributor
138 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise. Excellent selections on the menu, many of which one does not see in most Mexican restaurants. Small seating area -- take-out is big. But service is excellent, and you get to know the waitresses - always a plus.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterSuccasunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I LOVE Mexican food, but I can't bring myself to go back to Fresco.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I've been there 3 times now, each time saying to myself "well, it was pretty bad the last time, but maybe they had an off day. It's so close to where I live so I really want to give it a fair chance." I can't remember what I ate the 1st two times, but it was bland and, well, unmemorable. The last time I was there, about 2 weeks ago, I ordered the crispy chicken tacos. You just can't imagine my horror when she brought out a place of STORE-BOUGHT taco shells, filled with chicken. On the side, there were chopped onions, cilantro and cheese for me to put on my tacos. So on top of being stuck with store-bought taco shells (really BAD QUALITY STORE-BOUGHT taco shells), I'm required to assemble the tacos myself?! Fortuntely, I had ordered a half-order of guacamole as a back up. Let's face it, it'd be really tough to screw up guacamole. But I remembered that it was a too chunky for my taste on my previous visits, so I asked the waitress if they could mash it a little more. When it arrived, the chunks were as large as ever, so the waitress clearly didn't care what I preferred. After assembling my tacos into the STORE-BOUGHT taco shells, I mashed the guacamole myself. One true test of a good Mexican restaurant is the salsas they serve. They've got the basic pico de gallo down (hard to screw that up), but the other 2 salsas they serve ("medium" and "hot") have very little flavor and are not really medium or hot. That's my last time at Fresco. I'm so embarrassed for them. No wonder the place is always empty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank triciaburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
193 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

A great place for good authentic Mexican food! The owners are so nice and so is their staff. Feel chips and sauces.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank sharon2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresco also viewed

Flanders, Morris County
Flanders, Morris County
 
Flanders, Morris County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing