We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room - Bad Check In”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Fairfield
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Room - Bad Check In”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I booked two rooms for my family for a wedding reception. When we arrived at 4:10 PM, one room was ready, the other was not. The front desk clerk said she would call when the second room was ready. 45 minutes later no one called and we had to get ready to leave for the reception. I went to the desk, and was told that the room was still not ready. After insisting upon a room, she gave me a room that was already finished. Why not start with this instead of aggravating the customer? The room was nice except for the clock display which was way too dim to see. Bathroom was very clean. The unfortunate check in experience turned me off to a rather nice hotel, thus I'm only giving it a "three."

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaV445, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear: Value Guest

Thank you for contacting the Crowne plaza Fairfield regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apololgies for any inconvinince you may have experience due to the circumstances.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommadation and ouyour comments are very important to us. The feedback we recieve from our value guests. like you,enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avaided in the future. We appreciate that candid feed back we recive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appriciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

Thank you

Silvia Velazquez
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    85
    53
    19
    23
See reviews for
68
34
15
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We were there for the weekend for an after wedding party. The hotel staff was very attentive to our group of more then 60 rooms and we enjoyed very much. The rooms were clean and spacious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone trying to make a family party as it is close to city but private as well.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Efraim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaV445, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you, for the wonderful comment, it is always great to hear positive feed back from the Crowne Plaza Fairfield. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and confortable. We hope in serving you once again in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, IL
Level Contributor
255 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

They have updated this facility recently and it shows. What hurt our rating was that the A/C was not up to the task in July. Heard the same from other guests too. The alarm clocks display was unreadable and replaced with a like unit also unreadable. Desk staff is fast and friendly. Room was clean but there were still rough edges literally where new wall paper was installed but not glued at the corners. I stayed here to save a few bucks and can say it was not a bad experience. They are not in the Marriott class however. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaV445, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you, for the wonderful comment, it is always great to hear positive feed back from the Crowne Plaza Fairfield. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and confortable. We hope in serving you once again in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

In the middle of nowhere offer good service for business traveller. Restaurant and pool included. Close to Willowbrook mall where you can take the direct bus to Port Authority NY (7,5$). Offer free shuttle to the mall only on weekdays, on weekend you have to grab a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabriEnri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaV445, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear; Value Guest

Thank you, for the wonderful comment, it is always great to hear positive feed back from the Crowne Plaza Fairfield. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and confortable. We hope in serving you once again in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Have stayed here several times on business and was always a nice place. Never been disappointed here. This time was no exception. The hotel overall is fairly large and well set up. Rooms are up to date, spacious and well appointed. Good comfortable bed. Internet this time was super speedy which is always important to me. The couple of small room issues I did have, I simply wrote a little note and they were fixed when I came back in the evening. Didn't have the time this trip to partake of the breakfast or the restaurant, but the breakfast is one of the best I've had. It's a full breakfast buffet. The restaurant has a good menu and very friendly staff. I would not hesitate to stay here again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaV445, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you, for the wonderful comment, it is always great to hear positive feed back from the Crowne Plaza Fairfield. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and confortable. We hope in serving you once again in the near furture.


Regards
Silvia Velazquez
front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

booked this hotel for 2 rooms for 3 nights for friends coming from china. unfortunately their flight ( United Flight 87) was cancelled and rescheduled for a later time so they missed arriving last night and I didn't find that out until this morning. Called Crowne and was hoping they will understand that last night no show was not their fault and we can show them proof that the flight was cancelled if that is needed for the 1 night refund back. But they will not refund us back for the 2 rooms so that was upsetting. i will be completely fair with my review though. I gave them 3 stars because at least they were willing to honor the remaining 2 nights so I didn't have to scramble around looking for a hotel for my guests. the rooms were clean so thats good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Linnyz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaV445, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear: Sir/Madam

Thank you for contacting the Crowne Plaza Fairfield regarding the billing you recived. We greatly appreaciateyou taking the the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We have double checked our records and do not show that this reservation was cancelled, the reason why you were billed was because a room was held vacant on a sold out night in anticipation of your arrival.

We are unable to reverse the charges due to it was no-show, Once again thank you for contacting the Crowne Plaza Fairfield, and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerly

Silvia Velazquez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

If you're want to visit NYC but not pay NYC hotel prices the Fairfield Crow Plaza Hotel is the perfect place. The hotel is pretty new, the rooms are spacious and very clean, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are nicely put together and above all very clean. This hotel has a huge parking lot with plenty of free parking and it is close to shopping centers, restaurants, fueling stations and a few bars. The gym is nice and clean, it's open 24 hours and has a good selection of exercise equipment. The pool was a good size and was also nice and clean however it's not open all the time which is a little inconvenient for people like me who like I go for a swim late at night before bedtime. The service was good however the breakfast buffet wasn't that great at all and is probably the only disappointment in this hotel, the restaurant was overpriced and the food wasn't great but no need to worry there's a great restaurant across the street called shenanigans and there's an amazing restaurant 5 minutes down the road called 6 Brothers which I loved! Great food, huge portions and well priced. The drive to NYC is not far at all however during rush hours it could take a while to cross the Lincoln tunnel or the G.Washington bridge but if you're not planning on going into the city during rush hours then traffic won't be an issue at all. If you get tired of the city and want to go towards a more natural scene the Pocono Mountain area is not far either, you could be at the Delaware water gap area within less then an hour. I strongly suggest this hotel if you're looking to save money but still stay at a nice place that has all the amenities and above all is clean. For me cleanliness is the number one and most important thing I look for in a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeaBreeze777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairfield
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Totowa
Holiday Inn Totowa
#1 of 1 in Totowa
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wayne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield
Address: 690 Route 46 East, Fairfield, NJ 07004 (Formerly Prime Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fairfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Crowne Plaza Fairfield sets the standard for quality & convenience in northern New Jersey. Situated in the heart of Essex County s corporate community just bordering Morris County, the hotel boasts ease of access to I-80, NJ Turnpike, Garden State Pkwy, I-280, Rt. 46, just 30 miles from NYC, and 21 miles from Newark Int l Airport. With the easy access to New York City, Giants Stadium, the Meadowlands Sports Complex, Rutgers University, the Williowbrook Mall, and many upscale restaurants, our location is exceptional. This hotel is perfectly located for business & group travelers close to Bayer Healthcare, RICOH Corp., Covanta Energy, Konica Minolta, Cytec Industries, Chilton Memorial Hospital, and BAE Systems with complimentary shuttle service to the surrounding businesses. Our hotel features 204 renovated guestrooms & suites offering: The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage seven layers of comfort combined with special amenities provide a fabulous night s rest! Our rooms offer complimentary, wireless Internet, in-door pool, sauna, health club, restaurant, and lounge. In addition, we are known as The Place To Meet in New Jersey with 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. The most important day of your life should take place in our Grand Ballroom with its cascading waterfalls and marble dance floor. Whether your trip is business or leisure, rest assured that your stay at the Crowne Plaza Fairfield will be memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Fairfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing