We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Courtyard Tables” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calandra's Mediterranean Grill

Calandra's Mediterranean Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Calandra's Mediterranean Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Fairfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Clinton Road
Transit: Bus stop close to hotel
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Courtyard Tables”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant several times with friends and business associates. There are different seating options available but our favorite is the outside courtyard. There are a few tables right outside the lobby that are in a secluded, garden setting making you feel like you are in Italy. If available, weather permitting, highly recommend asking for one of these tables. The restaurant is in the Hampton Inn Hotel & Suites which is a popular hotel so parking can be a challenge, but here are plenty of spots in the back. The food has been consistently good. They offer a wide variety of ravioli's such as pumpkin, chicken, spinach, duck, and others--never seen that before on a menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
138 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Impressed for a resaurant in a Fairfield!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice wine selection. Go for the three flight tasting. It was a generous pour for all three.

Food was good and hot. The prosciutto ravioli was good, maybe a tad underdone. Bread was tasty and warm. Salad was a little overdressed but fresh. Desert was good.

I would eat here again when in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zigmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beyond Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My fiance and I have been to Calandra's Mediterranean Grill a few times this past year. The restaurant is beautifully decorated, elegant and classy. They have a great outdoor seating area which allows you to forget your surroundings wuite easily!

The service is superb- the staff really take time to cater to your experience. They are courteous, friendly, and knoweldgeable about the menu items. They remembered us from being there in the past- which speaks volume about their attention to detail and professionalism. We also like to see familiar faces when we go out to eat, so it is always nice to be welcomed when we arrive at a restaurant.

The bread is fresh. The pasta is fresh and handmade. Each dish always exceeds our expectations! The wine list is fabulous.

The manager, Tom, is also one of the best restaurant managers we have encountered- he greets us, recommends wine and specials of the day- best of all, he is honest! We love to know about the fresh fish, fresh pasta, making our meal extra special.

This is a great place for client meetings, special occasions, or just because you want to have fresh authentic food.

Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wowitscee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Last night was my first time at Calandras Mediterranean Grill and I will most definitely be returning. The service was great our waiter was Momir and he was fantastic very polite, sweet and made you feel at home. We were also greeted all night by the manager Thomas who made the evening extra special with funny conversation and delicious drinks!! The food was also very delicious and filling and then we topped it off with dessert! This is definitely a restaurant that I would take anyone too. Well worth it and you will have a great dining experience I recommend to all!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Bit Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I happened to be in the Fairfield area and friends recommended this restaurant. Anyone from northern New Jersey is familiar with Calandra's Bakery and besides this restaurant I believe Calandra has a few others. This one is in the lobby of a Hampton Inn and the ambiance is surprisingly rustic and upscale. We brought our own bottle and there was a slight corkage fee. The food was great but a bit pricey. A nice touch is as you're leaving they give you a loaf of fresh Calandra bread.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cruzobsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calandra's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 
Fairfield, NJ
Fairfield, NJ
 

Been to Calandra's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing