We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Italian food in the land of Italian restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cielo's

Cielo's
Reserve with OpenTable
Cielo's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 63 Restaurants in Fairfield
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Directly across from the Essex County Airport
1 review
“Best Italian food in the land of Italian restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Essex county -particularly Fairfield area - has more Italian restaurants than I can count. My husband and I love trying new places and rarely go to the same place twice... Except for cielo. The food is amazing, they always have entertainment on weekends and the bar crowd is fun. It's a really nice night out and I highly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole6454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Secret Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We love to eat outdoors as soon s the weather permits so we were happy to see the lovely garden in the back of Cielo's which is on busy Passaic Ave in Fairfield,NJ . It is surrounded by well maintained landscaping and a little waterfall.The service is excellent and friendly. Anthony,the chef,is well known to us from his previous stint at Luce's.He has his own special recipes,including Copper River salmon in a delicious Frangelica sauce.The shrimp oreganata with gremolata is so good!the shrimp are large and sweet with a crust of lemony,garlic crumbs.It was a relaxed,enjoyable meal which we will return for often!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Cielo on Christmas Eve and I couldn't have been happier. My mother was visiting from Chicago and travels, and eats, around the world. She can be hard to please...she was delighted with Cielo, we all were! The food was wonderful, so was the service and attention to detail. My only #4 ratings come from the fact that it was a bit difficult to get our check at the end of the meal. You won't be disappointed!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boris414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
271 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Chef-Guaranteed Great Night Out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We like to use Groupon to visit new restaurants. Cielo's was far, but EXTREMELY worth the trip. Chef Anthony creates both classic Italian, and Nouveau Italian Cuisine. Everyone MUST try the Meatball Mac and Cheese. It is Mac and Cheese inside a meatball with an egg on top. Fantastic! The main courses were BIG and fabulous! Anthony came out to check on us, and make sure we had a good evening. This is a CAN'T MISS restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I had a Groupon for Cielos and was pleasantly surprised. The service was very good,as was the food. The waiter e had was of Hungarian decent and we talked about our trip there. I had the Angel hair pasta and she had a steak dish, both were very good,tasty and was delivered fast. All and all a very delightful experience. Would defiantly go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newjerseyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cielo's also viewed

 

Been to Cielo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing