We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great onion rings”
Review of Versailles Diner

Versailles Diner
Ranked #13 of 66 Restaurants in Fairfield
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
211 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great onion rings”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Real onion rings!! Not the minced onion frozen rings most places serve. The sandwich was very good but the rings were great!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food fast service”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fast service Good food and good value. Restaurant was clean and friendly staff...............................

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“typical diner”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

great diner. good food, friendly service at a good price

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodluve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, Huge portions, Great value for the $$$”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I wish I lived closer to the Versailles Diner (although I really only live about 10 miles away). I would eat there far more often. The value for the $$$ is extraordinary. They have 2/$20 and a $2/25 specials, but you can buy 1 for $10 or $12.50. For an additional $2.75, you can add a huge salad with lots of chunks of ham and cheese, a soft drink, and a dessert (usually a slice of cake or a huge cookie). They say that the portions for these specials are "slightly" smaller than their regular mieals, but I can barely finish the meal... and I love to eat. On my most recent visit on 07/05/12, I got the broiled Fishermans platter which included a piece of salmon, a piece of talapia, and a piece of cod. It also included the salad, 2 sides, and a huge cookie for dessert. All for $15.95. Again, I ended taking some of the food home with me. I love it here. I don't cook that often, that is one of the reasons I lived closer. I would certainly be there mor often. See you soon, Versailles.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food - Terrible Service”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

For over 20 years they have serve good food at a fairly reasonable price. The service is consistently poor and they have the most cold and arrogant owners especially the son. They love to cater to the HS kids after events - but have an excuse not to donate to the kids for HS charitable events. I go because it is convenient when we are pressed for time. When I have time I go to other diners a few miles away.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 524from_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Versailles Diner also viewed

 

Been to Versailles Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing