We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They just wont go beyond a poor standard service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fair Lawn
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They just wont go beyond a poor standard service”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The staff cannot help adequately, the rooms smell and windows dont open. They are not so clean and they coperate with local car services that are very expensive and provide poor services. The breakfast is junk and poor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller12345189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    146
    53
    29
    29
See reviews for
168
61
32
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The hotel itself was very nice. Comfortable rooms...amazing bed. It was a very short stay for us but it was nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oboe530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle, uk
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occassions now during Business trips to the USA. I find it convenient for the Parkway and the Garden State Plaza Mall. Rooms are spacious and clean but dated and a little dowdy because of the colour schemes. Pool is excellent and the fitness room convenient. Staff are a little slow at times and breakfast is basic but ample. Only issue is getting there using a GPS, it usually sends you off up Broadway toward Patterson and hotel tends to be quite noisy at weekends

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holywelldene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Booked here because more central hotels were crazy prices. Expected more from a Hyatt and quite depressed when I got there late at night. Panoramic view over busy 5 lane highway from my bedroom. Dark brown and beige colours predominate throughout, and my room/common areas needed updating. On the upside, huge telly and plenty of room in bedrooms. Bathroom a bit snug! Be careful to check that you can't push your bedroom door open from the corridor - mine didn't need a key and someone else I was with had same problem.
Staff were either really good and helpful or just ignored me - odd really. Basic continental type breakfast included in price which was just ok. I ordered hot breakfast at extra cost and it was obviously either kept warm for ages or microwaved to reheat, which isn't too good for scrambled eggs.
Overall, just ok but I'd not go back voluntarily!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandgrownun_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vizag
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2010

its one of d oldest buildings i've ever been.....probably it belongs to the 18th century...............Sitting in the lush greenery of the garden or on the terraces, one can easily drift off to any period in the last 200 years, the props are all around you, and they are the real thing too.........and the personal touch is profoundly noticeable and indeed very comforting..................................they are in the midst of an extensive renovation project e that it is well worth the effort. .....all d rooms are all air-conditioned with fridges,they have also installed a water softner and de-ironising plant........so if u r some one intrstd in historical stuff dont miss it....

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d4thidiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Stayed at the Hyatt Fairlawn for one night because we had no other alternatives. My family and I were in Jersey when there was that bad storm in March. The hotel had no lights, no flash lights, and no answers. I understand that this was due to something they could not control. Yet they insisted that they went around to offer alternatives to stay at another hotel. This message was not given to us, and being from out of the country with 2 kids I would have taken that option. The next morning we still had no power, no hot water and still no answers. So we decided to move on to the Comfort Inn, in Queens New York ( which by the way was awesome). When we left the front desk at the Hyatt we were told that we would get some kind of discount. Well, the discount was $40, therefore I paid $85 to camp indoors. We did not use the hot water, no food we just slept. The Hyatt felt that $40 discount is enough.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyGio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Hotel is in a good area, close to large Paramus mall. The exit off of the highway is a bit treacherous and cabs from Newark airport (around $60-70 US) may have difficulty finding the place (not easily found with GPS). Rooms are nicely decorated with updated decor.

My one big issue is with cleanliness. I wrapped a towel around my hair in the morning only to discover virtually every towel was soiled in my room. Yuck! I contacted the front desk, they were apologetic and offered to replace all the linens... Isn't this what you normally do with every new guest?!? Also, I found some significant body hair (like a previous reviewer) in my tub and bathroom floor.

I have stayed here before without issue, but you may want to check the towels when you get in.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMOGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fair Lawn
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Paramus
Courtyard Paramus
#3 of 5 in Paramus
192 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza - Saddle Brook
Crowne Plaza - Saddle Brook
#2 of 4 in Saddle Brook
49 reviews
1.4 mi away
Saddle Brook Marriott
Saddle Brook Marriott
#1 of 4 in Saddle Brook
358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Paramus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus

Property: Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus
Address: 41-01 Broadway, Fair Lawn, NJ 07410-5500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fair Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fair Lawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from New York City and 10 miles west of the George Washington Bridge, the Hyatt Place Fair Lawn/Paramus offers easy access to all of what Northern NJ and Manhattan has to offer. There is always something fun and new to do from world class shopping in Paramus, NJ or world renowned museums, sporting events, romantic dinners, or taking in a Broadway show in New York City. The Fair Lawn/Paramus hotel is situated in the heart of the “shopping capital of New Jersey”, offering easy access to the Garden State Plaza Mall, The Shops are Riverside, The Paramus Park Mall and Bergen Town Center. For avid sports and event fans, the hotel is located less than 10 miles from Giants Stadium, Meadowlands Racetrack and the IZOD Center. There are several local family orientated attractions within a close proximity to the hotel such as Van Saun Park/Bergen County Zoo and The New Jersey Children’s Museum. If traveling for business, the hotel is only a few short miles from many local companies including Becton Dickinson, Kraft, Sandvik, and Hackensack Medical Center.With our oversized sleeping rooms large enough for a long term stay or just a weekend getaway, the Hyatt Place Fair Lawn is ideal for corporate and leisure guests alike! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus Hotel Fair Lawn
Hyatt Fair Lawn
Fair Lawn Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing