We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Do Not Recommend Staying Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fair Lawn
Reviewed September 28, 2008

I stayed in a Hyatt a few weeks ago and was very pleased, so I had no reservations in booking a stay in another Hyatt hotel. I was terribly disappointed in this hotel.

The hotel appears to have some type of moisture problem. When entering the facility, the front roof was leaking. The first room that we were assigned had a mildew odor and was humid as if someone had just finished running the shower for hours. We requested a second room at which point they indicated that the first room was slated for maintenance and was not supposed to have been assigned to guests. The second room still had an odor, but was not nearly as moist. We discussed requesting another room, but were tired, so we accepted this room.

The continental breakfast was included and very good.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 495 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way to Virginia. We were just looking for something comfortable for a quick stay. The staff was wonderful, very welcoming and warm. We checked in late at night and were still given great service.

The hotel room was very big and comfortable. I was sorry we weren't staying longer as we have a 5 month old and the room was a great layout for all of the baby stuff.

Overall we will definitely be back and will look to stay at other Hyatt Place's in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCortez224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

place was clean and modern .rooms were newer plasma tv was super nice hotel was quite at night . bedding was super nice . staff was nice and freindly .. even gave us direction at 12a.m . would stay there any time

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank judel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Getting to the hotel was tricky...after driving on and off of highways/parkways, we finally got it right. The entrance to the hotel is short coming off of the highway - so be aware.
The hotel looks exactly the same as pictured on the website. Our room (308) had a strange "under arm" smell. I asked the cleaning lady for some sort of spray - it worked somewhat. I brought Lysol...that helped more! The bathroom was very small...the beds too! The room overall was good.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upena80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Stayed for one night as a first time Hyatt customer. Normally, we book our stays at Hilton, Marriott or Westin chains, but since all of those hotels were booked for this particular weekend, we found the Hyatt had availability and its location was ideal to our venue. According to its appearance on hyatt.com, this hotel seemed comparable to a decent 3 star hotel, which was fine for us for a brief stay. Check in was fine and the day staff was friendly. Night time staff was overwhelmed and could not help us with any of our numerous room problems. The lobby/dining area was nicely decorated with modern decor and features. The pool area was decent, although we didn't have the chance to enjoy it. We were assigned to room 208. My first turn off was that the hallways had a stinch smell and that the carpets were dirty with bits of trash and stained. Definitely in need of replacing. When we opened the door to our room, the air conditioner was blasting cold air and there was a very foul odor like mold coming from the a/c unit that overhwhelmed the entire room. Carpets were stained, but vacuumed, however felt moist for some reason. When I opened the a/c panel to turn it off, I found that the temperature adjustment knob was broken. It was a muggy day, so after about an hour of the a/c being off, the room became hot, stuffy and moist, so you had to keep the air on with a moldy smell or sweat to death. Well, since the hotel was completely booked, we couldn't get another room to exchange so we just dealt with the uncomfortable temperature all night. The bathroom is extremely small with only a toilet and a very standard tub which needs to be updated. The sink is on the outside of the bathroom connected to a dresser area. The tub surroundings and curtain had a couple of specks of mildew. You could barely close the door with any space once you are in bathroom. The blower was rattling loud the entire time which was connected to the light. Around 10:30pm that night, the light went out and unfortunately there was no maintenance to assist us with either replacing the bulb or fixing the light, so we all had to take showers in the dark or with the door opened using some of the light from the room. The Hyatt Grand Sleeper beds as Hyatt refers to were the absolute worst. Both beds sunk in the middle and even with the extra quilted padding, the beds made very uncomfortable sleeping. This was a complaint from other guests in 3 other rooms. On top of that, our bed near the a/c unit had a cold and moist feel to the mattress. I was almost scared to find any mold traces, so I just opted not to even look since we could not move to another room anyway. The sheets were clean surprisingly, but the top cover was quite raggedy looking and needed replacing. There were a few stains on the curtain and on the walls. The rooms are quite spacious with a sofa/living room section, a desk and wet bar divided by a semi wall section where we had two double beds. Room had a 42" flat screen TV that could turn towards the beds or sofa area. Decent modern fixtures and decorations added to the room. The wet bar and sink/dresser were all granite top and clean. The mini refrigerator was not leveled as it would wobble each time you opened the door and was not very cold even though we adjust the temperature on it. There was a little spillage of drinks or food from the past guests who stayed there, but I was not going to make a big deal since there were far more important problems than this. There was free Wi-Fi, but it was very slow in connections. We did not utilize the sofa bed, but it provided ample room for guests for sitting. The complimentary continental breakfast was a joke offering only fruit, single serving cereal packets, toast, bagels or English muffins and juices. Not really much to choose from and they kept running out quickly. Don't expect muffins or pastries here. You could order a hot breakfast of a few items, but it costs extra. We had to wait at least 10 minutes for eating utensils. There is complimentary Starbucks coffee or TAZO tea selections. You could also order other pre-prepared foods from the front lobby for a extra charge. We ordered a chicken ceasar salad for $9.00. Although, each room has a mini refrigerator, there is no microwave, so you have to heat up your food at a guest shared microwave near the ice maker on the 3rd or 4th floor. Be aware that the microwave is extremely small, cheap and takes forever to warm up your food. Parking is free which was almost the best thing this Hyatt had to offer. The best thing was checkout so we could leave and never return. For a $124.00+ tax nightly rate, I am sure there are 2 star hotels that have better accomodations that this. Very disappointing and this will be our first and last time ever staying at a Hyatt hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BigTimeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it would not hesitate in recommending it. It's easy enough to find (once you get your bearings)and lots of free parking outside. The rooms are quite big and mine had 2 double beds and a kinda seperate seating area (a bit of a waste of space as 2 bigger beds would have fitted in otherwise and the seating area really didn't serve any purpose). The TV was HUGE!! The bathroom was fine although a bit strange to have the basin in the room...
Breakfast is complimantary, it's ok but after a quick look I decided to go out and just took coffee as whatever is on offer is basic..but free so that's a big thumbs up!
For all the girls out there that need hairdryers and hate the usual tiny low power ones you usually find in hotels, this hotel had a great hairdryer which, again, gets a big thumbs up.
The only problem is the clenliness of the place, I was there for 3 nights and the bin wasn't emptied once. The room could have done with a spring clean (behind bed full of dust and spiders webs)and the mirrors were dirty, it just gave the impression that no effort was given to cleaning which is a shame because otherwise the room would have been perfect.
My friend used the pool and said it was fine but a bit of a scum around the edge..not very appealing so I refrained!
The restaurant next door was quite good but a bit pricey, however you can walk there as it is right next door so you can have a few drinks. I think it was called the Palm Tree or something like that, good for steaks, however meal for 3 came to nearly 250 dollars (but was absolutely delicious with a good bottle of wine), there is another good restaurant across the highway called Chakra and this is a great spot, meal came to 125 dollars and again this included a good bottle of wine and was for 3.
This is a convenient location for shopping as the Garden State Mall and others are very close by, but you would need a car.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sharbar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

We booked through hotels.com and only paid $78 dollars including taxes!

We got room 305. The room had a king bed, 42 inch HDTV, desk, couch, coffee making area, etc. The decoration is pleasant; modern, and chic. Check in and out was smooth since we paid in full prior to arrival. The pillows were very comfortable and there were plenty of them, including towels. The room and hotel surroundings were very clean. They have complimentary breakfast and Starbucks coffee. They have an indoor pool but we did not use it. The hotel is about 20 minutes from NYC. Parking is free. The bathroom was somewhat small but overall, we LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 3menda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fair Lawn
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Mariott Paramus
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Paramus
Courtyard Paramus
#4 of 5 in Paramus
214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saddle Brook Marriott
Saddle Brook Marriott
#1 of 3 in Saddle Brook
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Paramus
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza - Saddle Brook
Crowne Plaza - Saddle Brook
#2 of 3 in Saddle Brook
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus

Address: 41-01 Broadway, Fair Lawn, NJ 07410-5500
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fair Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fair Lawn
Price Range: $126 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from New York City and 10 miles west of the George Washington Bridge, the Hyatt Place Fair Lawn/Paramus offers easy access to all of what Northern NJ and Manhattan has to offer. There is always something fun and new to do from world class shopping in Paramus, NJ or world renowned museums, sporting events, romantic dinners, or taking in a Broadway show in New York City. The Fair Lawn/Paramus hotel is situated in the heart of the “shopping capital of New Jersey”, offering easy access to the Garden State Plaza Mall, The Shops are Riverside, The Paramus Park Mall and Bergen Town Center. For avid sports and event fans, the hotel is located less than 10 miles from Giants Stadium, Meadowlands Racetrack and the IZOD Center. There are several local family orientated attractions within a close proximity to the hotel such as Van Saun Park/Bergen County Zoo and The New Jersey Children’s Museum. If traveling for business, the hotel is only a few short miles from many local companies including Becton Dickinson, Kraft, Sandvik, and Hackensack Medical Center.With our oversized sleeping rooms large enough for a long term stay or just a weekend getaway, the Hyatt Place Fair Lawn is ideal for corporate and leisure guests alike! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus Hotel Fair Lawn
Hyatt Fair Lawn
Fair Lawn Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing