We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fair Lawn
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a bit hard to get to right off a junction on a busy Jersey road. The problem with NJ is that if you miss the entrance, it takes forever to get back to it. Other then that, the rooms were pretty nice, the staff was minimal but efficient and I really had no complaints. If you stay, as for a room not facing the road and away from the elevator as you can hear the elevator ding.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank LondonCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSalesMM, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hello Londoncake:
Thank you for staying at Hyatt Place. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. New Jersey Highways are difficult to maneuver if you are not familiar with them. One thing that may help our travelers is to always remember we are the next driveway after the River Palm Restaurant. If I can assist you with anything during your next visit please feel free to contact me direct. We appreciate your business.

Kimberly Klapper
Director of Sales
201-475-3888 X5104
kim.klapper@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 463 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great location, besides the entrance from the highway, and about 20 minutes from NYC which we visit for a week.
Fairly diversified free breakfast and very polite staff.
We had a room facing the highway and it could be noisy;
from trucks mostly.
But, this was the only inconvenience.

The one aspect that I found odd is the location of the breakfast;
some seats are right besides the front door.
On a cold Xmas day, it became obvious that it wasn't pleasant seating in the draft. So the staff open a meeting room to relocate the customers and it was much appreciated.

The pool was wel maintained and the gym a bit small, but enough to fullfil my need.

Room Tip: Pick a room not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSalesMM, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hello Ozzy:

Thanks you for taking the time to fill out a review. On behalf of myself and the entire staff at Hyatt Place we are glad you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities our area has to offer. Being 10 miles from NYC and a wonderful advantage for our guests. Either a short drive and by hoping on the local train or bus it's a wonderful way to enjoy the City.

Please stay with us the next time you are in town. If I can assist you with anything please feel free to contact me direct.

Kimberly Klapper
Director of Sales
201-475-3888 X 5104
kim.kilapper@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have stayed here several times and the experience has been consistently very good. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and fairly large (with the exception of the small bathroom), and the hotel and rooms are clean. Also, if you like to shop there are several malls nearby including the huge Garden State Plaza. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSalesMM, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hello June:
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your loyalty and are happy that you continue to come back to stay with us. If you can help you with any other reservations moving forward please feel free to contact us direct.
Yes, the three great malls within three miles of the hotel is a wonderful benefit for shopping, dinning and movie theatres.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Klapper
Director of Sales
201-475-3888 X5104
kim.klapper@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I made reservations for my Father he was coming for a visit, and he was originally from Fair Lawn, NJ . I made the reservation with your wonderful AGM, he was very helpful, and a hard worker Mr. Rosen is very considerate and helpful. My dad enjoyed his trip. The front desk people are wonderful and very nice. The sales dept could use a lot of help!

Thank you so much for your stay

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice and comfortable. the people at the front desk go out of there way to help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSalesMM, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear your experience at the Hyatt Place was an enjoyable one. If you can give us some information on your dissatisfaction with the sales office it would greatly help us to improve moving forward.

We look forward to hearing from you. Have a great day!

Kimberly Klapper
Director of Sales
201-475-3888 X5104
kim.klapper@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was our first experience at a Hyatt property. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, we had two very comfortable double beds and a living space with a sectional sofa, large movable ottoman, desk, separate sink and refrigerator. Although I agree that the toilet and shower area is small, it is certainly adequate. We would definitely stay again given the welcoming staff, the size and comfort of the room, and the reasonable rate which included breakfast.

Room Tip: rooms in the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSalesMM, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Vincent:
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good stay at Hyatt Place. Hopefully you will make Hyatt Place your brand of choice when traveling. The shower and toilet area are on the small side. However, it is nice to have the sink and vanity outside of the bathroom so one person can be getting ready if another is showering. You also never have to worry about he mirror getting fogged up.
Please contact me direct if I can assist you with anything moving forward.

Have a great day!

Kimberly Klapper
Director of Sales
kim.klapper@hyatt.com
201-475-3888 X5104

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

If you stay in this hotel make it a last resort thing. especially for the two women who work nights, they are a nightmare, so rude, nasty and mean. try to avoid them at all costs, they threaten people, drink and eat in front of us yet they say the kitchen is closed, when the hotel has advertisements for the kitchen opened for 24 hours. lets be honest, how can you deny people food? especially when you are willing to pay for the meal and the tip? im not happy and im never coming back!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back, the highway is noisy, avoid the two women at night, one black and one Chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr bl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSalesMM, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very helpful, and all your concerns are valid. We pride ourselves on offering our guests the best possible service. If you did not receive that it is my responsibility to make sure that never happens again. I will address the situation and make sure all our guests feel welcome. Hyatt Place standard is to have our kitchen open 24 hours per day. You should never be turned down for anything offered on our menu.
Please give me the opportunity to show you what Hyatt Place can do. Please call me personally the next time you are in the North New Jersey area.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Kimberly Klapper
Director of Sales
201-475-3888 X5104
kim.klapper@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

As a Hyatt Diamond member, I have stayed in many Hyatt properties both in the United States and abroad. Hyatt Place is my least favorite category of the Hyatt family of hotels. However, this Hyatt Place appears to have good management and provides a nice lodging experience.

We checked in on a Sunday afternoon which was very quiet. The young woman who checked us in was very polite, acknowledged my Diamond status and provided us the keys to a quiet room at the back of the property. The rooms themselves are nothing special but do have very comfortable beds and are more than adequate for a short stay. My biggest criticism of the room layout which applies to all Hyatt Place properties is that the bathrooms which contain the toilet and shower are uncomfortably small but this is compensated for by the oversize rooms.

The property, as others have noted, is not easily accessed from the highway. If you aren't careful, it is very easy to drive past the hotel entrance and the road system is not conducive to an easy on, easy off experience. So a word of caution would be to carefully watch for the hotel and be prepared to quickly slow down to access the driveway.

The one negative experience was that our stay coincided with that of a tour bus. This made accessing the morning breakfast quite challenging as the lobby seating area and breakfast lines are not designed to handle large groups of people comfortably. Obtaining a table was difficult and if you are alone practically impossible. One suggestion to alleviate what truly was chaos in getting breakfast would be for the hotel to provide a server who could fulfill coffee requirements at the tables so that the small buffet area does not become overly congested. One slow person can hold up breakfast for 40 other people. The breakfast offerings themselves, however, were quite delicious.

This is definitely a solid contender for lodging in the area.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel faces a forest and is a lot quieter than the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boudecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSalesMM, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at Hyatt Place. It is true NJ Highways can make it very hard to get in and out of our driveway. Taking is slow is the best advise anyone can give.
I'm sorry you were in a situation that was crowded during breakfast time. We try to have large groups eat first thing in the morning when the breakfast area is not too crowded. As you can see that does not always work. I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast choices once you got to the buffet. Thank you for your recommendation of having coffee service poured. That is something we are looking into.
If I can assist you with anything else please feel free to contact me direct.
Have a great day!

Kimberly Klapper
Director of Sales
kim.klapper@hyatt.com
201-465-3888 X5104

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fair Lawn
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Paramus
Courtyard Paramus
#4 of 5 in Paramus
203 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Mariott Paramus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Paramus
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza - Saddle Brook
Crowne Plaza - Saddle Brook
#2 of 3 in Saddle Brook
70 reviews
4.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Hasbrouck Heights
Home2 Suites by Hilton Hasbrouck...
#1 of 3 in Hasbrouck Heights
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus

Address: 41-01 Broadway, Fair Lawn, NJ 07410-5500
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fair Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fair Lawn
Price Range: $155 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from New York City and 10 miles west of the George Washington Bridge, the Hyatt Place Fair Lawn/Paramus offers easy access to all of what Northern NJ and Manhattan has to offer. There is always something fun and new to do from world class shopping in Paramus, NJ or world renowned museums, sporting events, romantic dinners, or taking in a Broadway show in New York City. The Fair Lawn/Paramus hotel is situated in the heart of the “shopping capital of New Jersey”, offering easy access to the Garden State Plaza Mall, The Shops are Riverside, The Paramus Park Mall and Bergen Town Center. For avid sports and event fans, the hotel is located less than 10 miles from Giants Stadium, Meadowlands Racetrack and the IZOD Center. There are several local family orientated attractions within a close proximity to the hotel such as Van Saun Park/Bergen County Zoo and The New Jersey Children’s Museum. If traveling for business, the hotel is only a few short miles from many local companies including Becton Dickinson, Kraft, Sandvik, and Hackensack Medical Center.With our oversized sleeping rooms large enough for a long term stay or just a weekend getaway, the Hyatt Place Fair Lawn is ideal for corporate and leisure guests alike! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus Hotel Fair Lawn
Hyatt Fair Lawn
Fair Lawn Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing