We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sage Restaurant

Sage Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in Fair Lawn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: www.sagefairlawn.com201-797-0500
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
“Great dinner, friendly staff!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had dinner with my mother. We both enjoyed our meals. They had a nice variety and everything was fresh and prepared wonderfully. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loud,but enjoyable place with friends”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food was very good, the wait was very long for your main entree. Even with reservations cower had to wait almost 30 minutes. This is a BYOB place. I had the roasted honey glazed salmon. It was fantastic and exceptionally fresh. I would not order the dessert I had again. it was the baked apple in a puff pastry. The cheese cake my friends ordered looked and was great. Place is very loud. I was disappointed with the huge amount of time it took to get the main entree.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momasig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great food, staff, atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a wonderful first time evening with friends at Sage. We were welcomed and felt at home. Wait staff was attentive and food very good and presented beautifully. We were not rushed and the restaurant is lively and filled with young and older people. They couldn't do enough for us on our first visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saltesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The restaurant is in the old Campania space. We were reluctant to try it because Campania was a favorite of ours before they closed more than a year ago. Friends who had been to Sage several times encouraged us to try it - they said it was great. They were right! The decor is the same pretty room as the old restaurant, and the food is excellent, as is the service. Try the special appetizer calamari - don't know what they do to it, but it's fantastic - not greasy, and so flavorful. The New York strip steak was perfectly cooked as ordered and the side potatoes and amaretto carrots were delicious, as was the shrimp with bow ties. We ordered the cheesecake special - a key lime cheesecake - that was outstanding. Son't be off put by the amount of cars in the parking lot - it's busy, but we didn't have to wait for a table at 6:30 on a Friday night. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eviehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Took my mother to dinner here when we visited Fair Lawn...encouraged by previous reviews. We were not disappointed. Casual atmosphere with soft music in background. Very attentive waiter. The owner came by twice to ask if everything was to our satisfaction.

We started with the special mussel appetizer of the day made with chopped prociutto and delicious sauce that had a touch of marinara. Salads were so fresh and crisp. Entrees were nicely presented with generous portions. Sauces were delicate. Two of us brought doggie bags home. No room for dessert, which sounded mighty tempting.

Definitely will return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Restaurant also viewed

Fair Lawn, NJ
Fair Lawn, NJ
 

Been to Sage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing