We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great seafood”
Review of Oceanos

Oceanos
Reserve with OpenTable
Oceanos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 93 Restaurants in Fair Lawn
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brookside Avenue
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service, great seafood”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal with my family at Oceanos. The restaurant was very slow on a Tuesday night. The staff was great and the decor is very nice. We split appetizers of grilled octopus & grilled calamari which were very tasty. I enjoyed the sea scallops which were cooked perfectly. The only downfall of this place was that the fish specials were very highly priced ($40-&50)
Overall pricey, but a great dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    48
    13
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I just love Oceanos, for its wonderful food, and very comfortable, relaxing, atmosphere. The menu choices, as well as the specials, are absolutely great! Everything together, makes a pleasurable, and a very memorable, dining experience!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Dinner for 4 was over $400. 4 appetizers, 4 dinners, 4 drinks and a bottle of wine.

The drinks were so mild that I couldn't tell if I was drinking my water or my vodka and club.

My appetizer of grilled calamari was bland with no taste other than the char from the grill.

The swordfish special was tasty but small..... I finished it in a few bites.

My wife had the grilled lobster which was over done and impossible to eat without using her fingers to try to find some meat in it to eat. Not enough for a dinner.

Overall we will not be back and would not recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very nice, comfortable place in Paramus area”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Of the same caliber as Ruth Chris or Morton, a little more cozy, the emphasis not being with meath but instead with fish. Service is wonderful, not breathing over you, etc. House cabernet was very nice. A very nice, tranquil, relaxing place. I saw a bar from the corner of my eye and I suspect but don't know that this might be a nice place to go for a drink to hang out if you were single, without being a meat market.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I was there with my family and my parents for their anniversary yesterday. I told them as soon as I got there what the special occasion was, Throughout the evening, I kept expecting something special for my parents, instead, we waited over an hour without any food on the table, just plain bread. All because the waiter forgot to put the order for our appetizers. When the food finally came, it wasn't that great. I had to apologize to my parents knowing their big day could have been so much better elsewhere for that kind of money. I was there two years ago. The service was so much better. Will not go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emeline05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing