We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocked at being a Marriott!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Ewing Princeton
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ewing
Certificate of Excellence
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Shocked at being a Marriott!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was at this location for 3 nights and was very surprised at what I found. Reading some of the other reviews, maybe I just got "one of those rooms". One of the first things I do when getting to my room is to open the drapes and see what kind of view I have. The drapes wouldn't open, they were stuck on the tracks. When I finally got one side opened, I found extremely dirty windows with a filthy balcony area full of bugs. There was a big spider in between the screen and window. There was hair in the bathtub, and the bathroom floor had dirty toe prints on it. The coffee pot was broken at the top (they replaced that when I left a note) and the carpets were stained. When I went to take a shower, I couldn't get any hot water - just luke warm, but the hot water in the sink was scalding hot. I usually stay at Marriotts, but was asking myself "where am I??" One good thing is there was a young lady at the front desk in the afternoons who was very friendly and caring - really wanted to take care of the guests. She belongs at another Marriott! The food was OK, but the girl who was taking orders could have been a little more friendly....didn't see her smile once...All in all - not a great experience and I wouldn't stay here again. Will look for another hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany W, General Manager at Courtyard Ewing Princeton, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Ms. Jackie,

I just wanted to apologize for the experience you had at the Courtyard Ewing. We pride ourselves in having the best service in the area and it seems we fell short when it came to your stay. I have showed your comments to our Housekeeping Manager and Room Attendants in order that situations like this do not occur again. You mentioned that you would not stay with us again if you were in the area but if you do happen to change your mind please feel free to call or email me so that I will be able to make sure you are well taken care of. I thank you for your comments and I hope you have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    96
    40
    14
    11
See reviews for
89
26
13
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I was put up here for a week during a business trip and was pleasantly surprised. My room on the fifth floor was very comfortable and incredibly quiet. There was no traffic noise from the surrounding areas. The housekeepers could have been a bit more attentive to a few areas (toothpaste "spray" in the bathroom, handprints all over the headboard of one of the beds). However, I was very happy that the air conditioning unit seemed pretty clean and quiet enough. Speedy wifi with no problems and decent cable on really nice brand new flat screen televisions. There's nothing within walking distance, unfortunately and the hotel shuttle (which will do drop-offs/pick-ups within a five mile radius) only runs until 9 p.m. So, if you don't have a car and if you want to eat at somewhere other than the cafe in the lobby at dinner time, plan ahead. (Princeton is a quick 15-20 minute drive from the hotel and has some great choices if you have a car.) The hotel cafe/restaurant food is bad, bordering on terrible, and overpriced, so don't bother. But, overall, this was a good place to rest up in the evenings due to the quiet surroundings and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany W, General Manager at Courtyard Ewing Princeton, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the great feedback about the Courtyard Ewing. We are always looking for ways to improve and comments like yours helps us see what areas we need to focus on. I do apologize that you weren't satisfied with our restaurant, The Bistro. We have recently added new menu items and have focused on improving guest satisfaction with in the Bistro so I hope that next time you stay with us you choose to give it another shot. Thank you again for your comments and I hope you have a great day!

Kindest regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL, USA
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Excellent hotel in all ways. Loved the room, the location (only 3 miles from where I had business at The College of New Jersey), the staff. I'm 101% satisfied. Others have noted that the entrance is a little strange, but it's not the hotel's fault. It's one of those situations where NO left turns are allowed, so you have to turn RIGHT then double back to turn LEFT. I ran into this once before in California and Vermont. (We don't have this in Florida to the best of my knowledge.) In any case, it IS marked, but it's a little confusing the first time. The hotel is great!

Room Tip: 5 floors..... Some rooms have balconies... semi-enclosed so you can't see your neighbors ever an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlandotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany W, General Manager at Courtyard Ewing Princeton, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! I couldn't be happier to hear that you had such a great stay at the Courtyard Ewing! We are always striving to provide the best service and comments like yours lets us know that we are achieving that. We look forward to having you as our guest again the next time you're in the area!

Kindest regards,
Tiffany Walters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south plainfield
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

No problem with the room accommodations, clean and comfortable, but was looking forward to a nice breakfast. I thought The prices of the breakfast items were steep at this restaurant(I am use to a complimentary breakfast included in the room price, so this was disappointing), What made it worse, was,I purchased the pricey Starbucks coffee and I didn't realize there was COMPLIMENTARY coffee, located BEHIND a solid wall, hidden from view. Actually, I heard a lot of other guests, saying the exact same thing, that they didn't know there was any free coffee available.I Suggestion: Just make a sign on this solid wall, stating, complimentary coffee on OTHER side. This would make it more hospitable for your guests. They can then choose free coffee or Starbucks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccteach615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany W, General Manager at Courtyard Ewing Princeton, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel as well as your suggestions about the sign for the complimentary coffe. I will definitely look into putting a sign out at the front to inform guests about the complimentary coffee being it is a bit hidden behind our Go Board. Thank you again and I hope you choose to stay with us next time you are in the area!

Kindest regards,
Tiffany Walters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for TriState Lacrosse Tournament (2012). It's about 15-minutes to the fields and very convenient - when compared to other horrors around town. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are all updated. TV is small (so what). Free wifi that really works. Breakfast buffet is better than most. The biggest drawback is that there is almost nothing around. No restaurants, no shops, no mall within miles - it's a serious car ride to get anything.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 45viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany W, General Manager at Courtyard Ewing Princeton, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Greetings!

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments about the Courtyard Ewing! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us while visitng the area for the TriState Lacrosse Tournament. We always enjoy that time of the year when we get to have guests from the tournament stay with us. Even though it may seem we are far from everything, there are many fun and family-oriented attractions near by. Sesame Place, Washingtons Crossings, New Hope and Princeton are just a few of the places that are with in ten minutes from us and hopefully the next time you stay with us you will be able to visit them. Thank you again for the comments and we look forward to having you as our guest again!

Kindest regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Upon arriving at the room, I would say that the rooms at this Courtyard are very well decorated. The furniture is very modern, and the bed is clean and comfortable. The thing that I would say that brings this to a 4 star review instead of a 5 though, is that the A/C unit was very dirty. It had dust everywhere inside it, and even at least 3 large dead moths. I didn't want to turn on that A/C unit and have the dust blowing everywhere inside the room. Now, I did let the front desk know, and the very next day they cleaned it out. I appreciate them taking care of the issue quickly, but after closer inspection, they basically got some of the dust on the floor next to the unit, and that part wasn't vacuumed. Also, it appeared they had just dumped all that dust into the toilet, and didn't flush the toilet since it was all still there. Note that I had stayed here twice, and the dirty A/C unit was just an issue in one of the rooms. However, something that I noted regardless of the room is that later at night, the water can take a long time to warm up if you want to take a shower. In both the rooms I've stayed in, it can take 5 to 10 minutes before the water is a comfortable temperature. Also, housekeeping is a bit inconsistent when providing the bath items. Sometimes the bar of soap is missing, sometimes the shampoo is missing, and sometimes a towel or two is missing.

The rest of the stay was fine. They don't have complimentary breakfast (you have to pay for it), but they do have a happy hour on Tuesday and Wednesday where beer and wine is free for that hour, so that part's nice. Again, the rooms are very nice, and the front desk staff do their best to take care of any issues. Overall I would give this Courtyard 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipsyde112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany W, General Manager at Courtyard Ewing Princeton, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments about the Courtyard Ewing. I apologize for the issues you had with your room and I will make sure that the housekeeping staff is consistant when providing amenities for the guests. I appreciate the wonderful comments about the hotel layout as well as the staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in the area!

Kindest regards,
Tiffany Walters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford, england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in as part of a group of wedding guests and found it to be very good. The rooms were clean and well furnished with a TV, coffee maker, fridge, ironing board etc. The staff were extremely polite and made us feel very welcome. The hotel has a pool, whirlpool spa and fitness centre, all of which hotel guests can use for free. The hotel serves breakfast and this was really good, with a wide selection and resonable prices. There is also a well stocked 'market' in the hotel in which you can buy drinks and snacks. The only downside is the location, as the hotel is not actually in Ewing and is not really within walking distance. To get to Ewing, Trenton, Princeton or Philadelphia the only option is to get a taxi, which is expensive. However the plus side to the location is that the area around the hotel is very quiet at night. The hotel itself was very good and we would return if we needed to stay in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedalo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Ewing Princeton, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Greetings!

Thank you so much for the kind words about the Courtyard Ewing/Hopewell. I'm so happy to hear you were able to enjoy the many amenities we offer at the hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the location of the hotel didn't quite suit your needs. We actually are located in the town of Ewing, however we are just a mile or two away from the downtown area. It may seem like we are off the beaten path but there are so many wonderful places to visit all with in a 10 mile radius (Sesame Place, Princenton, New Hope, Washington Crossings, etc.).

Thank you again for the wonderful comments and we look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewing
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ewing Princeton South
0.1 mi away
Element Ewing Princeton
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
9.0 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
243 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ewing Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ewing Princeton

Property: Courtyard Ewing Princeton
Address: 360 Scotch Rd, Ewing, NJ 08628-1301 (Formerly Courtyard Ewing Hopewell)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Ewing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ewing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ewing Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Ewing Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ewing Hopewell Hotel Ewing
Ewing Courtyard
Ewing Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing