We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Sal Deforte's Ristorante
Ranked #9 of 80 Restaurants in Ewing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This place has terrible food. It's not that expensive, but it's not good enough for the price, either. And the waitstaff, while sweet, is poorly trained. The waitress almost elbowed me in the mouth reaching across me to grab a glass at another setting at the table rather than walking two steps herself around the table. I asked for a dish to be prepared fra diavlo. It came out as bland as possible with the exception of a hot pepper quartered in the sauce. The pasta was overcooked. Maybe the waitress knew something. She hadn't been around that much before, and didn't check on how our meals were until we were done. The bread was a stale sesame italian bread that was served toasted and it looked buttered but butter was also served with it. Nothing would salvage it, however. One guest tried the blue cheese bread. It was not good. Toasted bread again, slathered in watery blue cheese dressing. I won't name all of the other dishes that we ordered because nothing we ate was any good. There just was no flavor to anything. Horribly bland. We tried salt, pepper, hot peppers, and parmesan cheese on each dish in failed attempts to bring out some taste. The best part of the meal was the red wine we brought. If we had to pay for wine instead of enjoying our own so much, we would have walked out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pablo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices for mid-quality”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

This place is not high on my list, the menu feels tired and the specials are unexciting. Good service and ambiance. Very good desserts. Byob.

Helpful?
Thank Visit-upstate-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

After hearing raves about this restaurant we decided to see for ourself.
We made a reservation for dinner. When we arrived the hostess wasn't very pleasant and seated us by the bathroom. There were only two other parties eating at this time.
Food was average and portions on the small side. Server was okay.
Don't plan on returning.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMCS817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I've been to Sal's about 4-5 times, with small groups and large, and this place always has a buzz about it. The food is quite good and the service is always friendly. One time when I was there with my parents, a storm came through and knocked out the power for the rest of the night. They were very apologetic, gave us free cannolis for dessert, and tried to improvise how they could. I can't say enough about this family-run place. As a picky Brooklyn Italian eater I give it an "A".

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank CJ962003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Trenton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Have been to this wonderful byob several times and it never dissapoints. Food is always consistent. Always crowded (call for a reservation), attentive service, and nice atmosphere. The only downside is that it is very noisy!! Management must not mind as they always have a full house. Well worth the reasonable prices!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal Deforte's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Sal Deforte's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing