We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!”
Review of The Oriental

The Oriental
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Englishtown
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 6, 2018

My family and I have been enjoying this restaurant since it opened, so this review is long overdue. Delicious food, friendly staff and lovely decor. Each time we go, we like to try different dishes, and have yet to be disappointed. The firecraker shrimp, General Tso chicken, spare ribs, etc - all SO good! They are also well versed in gluten free, which is a major plus for our Celiac family. No matter what your fave dish is, you have to try this place - I know you will love it as much as my family and I do!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 38 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2018

Very busy restaurant. Reservations recommended. Well above the typical Asian food restaurant in terms of food quality.The fried dumplings and the “Oriental” fried rice are especially good.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank rnldarl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018

Although I've reviewed this wonderful little place before, reviewing again because our last visit was so good, I felt compelled to comment.
The waiter we insist on eating with is "George" he's used to ordering for us, always offering up his favorites from the kitchen that night.
Last visit we dined with h friends who have eaten there prior and they had no idea the dishes we were served were even offered! Yep, all dye to George! If you are open minded and trust him to make all the choices, you'll enjoy a great inning experience! Give it a try, but most importantly, give this great place (byob) a try, bet you'll love it!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank garryo8893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018

We had reservations that were made last August and acknowledged as the first they received. When we arrived at 7:15 for our 7:30 New Year's Eve dinner we were told to wait until the party sitting at the table assigned for us left and that the round table would be converted to seat 9 by placing a topper on the table. After waiting 20 minutes we were then told an additional table needed to be added. Not good! This would have made dinner very uncomfortable and disjointed. This once a year opportunity to join friends at what should have been a festive celebration was ruined. We left and were lucky to find another restaurant. Off our list regardless of the fact we like their food. No way to treat good customers.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Service
Thank DukeStemmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017

We were joining a birthday party in this restaurant. The experience was unique. Some of the dishes were not in the regular menu. The owner/chef was able to come up many special dishes that were not easily find in Chinese restaurant in this area. Service was excellent. I loved the desert of black sesame soup. It was freshly made that day by the owner for our table. The amount of food was generous besides the good taste.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kslnycNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oriental also viewed

 

Been to The Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing