We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resturant delivers with a A- Sushi”

Daruma Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 93 Restaurants in Englewood
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Resturant delivers with a A- Sushi”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Daruma is truly a very good sushi and japenese resturant. As you walk in and sit down you the first thing you notice is their sit in tables. The atmosphere can be romantic and casual. Daruma is BYOB, but they do offer saki. My wife and I sat and ordered a myriad of rolls that all came out on time. The service was good, and the place was packed. The rolls were of many different varieties, and they all had great flavor and were very fresh. I was truly impressed, and I would highly recommend this place for any kind of event. Daruma is an A- head in and check it out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler860_203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great place to have sushi and other foods. Great atmosphere and location, if attending Bergen Pac this is a great place to eat before the performance. Excellent service, good food, good location, reasonable prices, how can you beat it? Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
1 review
“Wonderful selection of sushi + more”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is one of our favorite places to eat in North Jersey. My wife and I have dined here at least 5 or 6 times and each time we go, the food is amazing consistent. Our personal favorites from the menu are the miso cod entree, the tuna pizza, passage to India roll and the roti canai appetizer (curried chicken with roti flat bread). You can either dine at the regular tables, or sit on the floor tables (must remove shoes), which is what we prefer. The wait staff are very attentive.

This is our go-to place whenever we crave sushi.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have been to Daruma many times. The food is always fresh and tasty, especially the sashimi. The hot food and appetizers are wonderful. The service is consistently excellent and the restaurant is quite lovely while being informal, and it is BYOB. It also has a private parking lot just south of it. A great find for a local restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A nice settings, mediocre food”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We came with our kids who are pretty selective and were negatively surprised to see that they did not even have a kids menu. At least the kids could enjoy the white rice. However, the "serious" food was also nice but nothing more than that. I did expect more after everything I heard about this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daruma_Englewood, Manager at Daruma Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We sincerely appologize you did not have a spectacular time at Daruma. It is obvious our wait staff did not properly guide you through your dining experience. We will retrain our servers to better guide our Guests with children for the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

If you would kindly join us again in the future, please note that we have many kid friendly dishes on our regular menu. For appetizers you can get chicken frittos - served with sweet potatoe fries & sweet chili sauce, or chicken yakitori. And popular kitchen entrees are Japanese udon, or nabeyaki udon. There is also Japanese fried rice with choice of vegetables, chicken, shrimp, or seafood. We also have simple rolls from the sushi bar like avocado roll, or california roll. There is lots more depending on your Childrens palates.

Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention & we hope you try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daruma Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Englewood, NJ
 

Been to Daruma Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing