We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad, Needs Some Work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Englewood
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Needs Some Work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I recently spent nearly a month in the Crowne Plaza Englewood. I was in NJ on a long business trip. When I arrived at the hotel after a 12 hour red-eye, I walked up to the front desk and the front desk manager barely looked up to greet me.
I received my room which looked Ok. The bathroom had some rust stains and a shower curtain. I don't like shower curtains and really prefer glass doors for hotel showers. The sheets are scratchy.
Breakfast was complimentary with my reservation. Very basic and the coffee was horrible.
The hotel bar isn't anything special except the lovely bartender (Paul I think) who is such a nice guy and a real asset to the hotel. The entire time I stayed at the hotel, he was the only person that bothered to learn my name. I would expect the front desk to learn the name of a guest that is staying there for nearly a month. I know they had no idea who I was because I received two packages and although I approached the front desk a few times about other things, they didn't mention that I had packages waiting (for 3 days). Only after I asked, did they gave me the packages.
Near the bed there is a little card stating that if you want your linens changed, please place the card on your pillow. I did that, the card was moved, the linens were not changed.
The AC was so noisy it sounded like a jet taking off in the room.

In short, I always stay in IHG hotels because I have status there, in the future I will look for a different hotel in the area.

Room Tip: High Floor is better, the lower floors can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayaarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear ayaarlos,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    100
    70
    26
    15
See reviews for
103
41
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a hotel we could stop between leaving the auto train in Lorton VA and getting up to our place in the Catskill Mountains. The Crowne Plaza was the perfect stopping point with some wonderful restaurants nearby. The room was recently remodeled with new carpet and bedding. Spacious and comfortable. The bathroom shower/tub was not redone, showing rust stains and needing some work. Overall, it fit the bill for a short stay. The shuttle dropped us at the restaurant and picked us up when we were finished. A great perk!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iroquois Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were courteous and the rooms were clean. However we were disappointed with the fitness and pool area. The pool is quite small relative to the size of the hotel and there is no hot tub. The fitness room was very hot! Also, we would recommend adding refrigerators and microwaves to the rooms. This would make them even better for families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear kmn77,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to read that you liked our friendly staff and clean rooms. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We regret that the pool and fitness center did not live up to your standards. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for your next visit.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here to avoid the hussle and bussle of New york city while on vacation. The rooms are big and the hotel is clean and easily accessible off the George Washington bridge. The staff is great and they offer free parking. Breakfast is not free. the pool is big and indoors.

Room Tip: dont worry about a view there is none on any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very nice, but pricey property in a quiet area with HWY access. Great room size compare to NYC. Room was fresh and clean, but no fridge or microwave. Front desk staff professional and friendly specially the front desk manager, she is the best. Most of the other staff need retraining to be more customers friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watchman4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossy S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your great comments and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for your kind comments.
We constantly strive to improve our services and it is always refreshing to receive positive comments from our guests. Undoubtedly, there is always room for improvement and we thank you for assisting us towards that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

This was in a good area. Price was good for proximity to the city. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was good but I didn't eat much. Colleagues said the bacon was good. I just had coffee and the waitress filled it no matter how many times I drained it. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SuperHogFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossy S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your great comments and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel. A little out of the way if you are a walker but once you learn the area it is a very convenient hotel.The staff go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. They have a shuttle service that, if you are within 5 miles of the hotel and the shuttle is free, they will drive you there and if it is a short pick up trip then they will wait for you and take you back. The return trip can also be booked for a later pickup with the driver. The hotel is clean, friendly and quiet. They even have laundry facilities for the guests. I see from DeHull that it is 5-10 minutes from the bus stop which is true but if the shuttle is free they will drive you to the stop which is what they did for my husband and I recently when we became short of time to go into the city.

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmtvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
1.3 mi away
Teaneck Marriott at Glenpointe
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park
2.9 mi away
Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fort Lee
BEST WESTERN Fort Lee
#3 of 6 in Fort Lee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
Address: 401 South Van Brunt St, Englewood, NJ 07631-4604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Englewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You ve just found Englewood s best kept secret! Located right off Route 4 and minutes from downtown Manhattan, the Crowne Plaza Englewood provides the perfect blend of comfort, convenience and service. Visit the many fine restaurants and shops of downtown Englewood. Take in a show at Bergen Performing Arts Center. Catch the game at Yankee Stadium, Citi Field or the Izod Center. Visiting New York City? New Jersey Transit bus transportation is only a few blocks away. Successful meetings start here! We are close to many corporations such as: Unilever, Samsung, LG Electronics, Staples, Cognizant and CareOne. Ready to relax after a big day? Settle into one of the spacious guest rooms at this first-class Englewood New Jersey hotel - with stylish furnishings and features that evoke the comforts of home. Unwind in our large heated swimming pool, or work out in our fully equipped exercise room. Planning a wedding or social event? Our on site catering staff is at your service, ready to create the perfect ambiance for every occasion. Experience unsurpassed elegance at this contemporary-style hotel in Northern New Jersey, where you'll find a variety of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Englewood
Englewood Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing