We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOOD AND ATMOSPHERE!”
Review of Solaia - CLOSED

Solaia
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: E Palisade Ave
Transit: Bus stop on Palisade Avenue and the corner of North Van Brunt Street.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FOOD AND ATMOSPHERE!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Food and the Atmosphere of Solaia is amazing. From the fireplace indoors when its cold to the outdoor seating when its warm the place always feels welcoming. The food is top notch, and the chef makes sure the little details count when designing his dishes. I recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a italian fine dining experience! 5 STARS!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexanderbittan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    6
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“upscale cuisine”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The service was excellent, we were going to a concert at 8:pm and we arrived around 3:30pm with the intention to just get some soup but the atmosphere was so nice and the soup was excellent that we ended up ordering dinner and stayed there until 7:15pm, Great taste everything so fresh and tasty....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yaira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Avoid this place at all costs - ripoff!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

As this was not my first visit to the restaurant I thought I would give it another chance as we were going to a show that evening at Bergen PAC. We didn't have a reservation but rather sat at the bar. I know it's a busy time and although the wait was reasonable to be served, we were not able to order what we wanted as the kitchen wasn't accommodating certain pre-theatre items. We ordered two other items which were obviously slopped together and tasteless. The bartender was nice enough to give us a free drink as he saw the quality for himself and we thanked him for being so nice to us as he saw that we were not pleased at all. It's expensive and just not worth the money and we will never return. The bartender's class was the best part of that restaurant. Go elsewhere at all costs

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheleBerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and good food”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good food, although I would say more Northern Italian than your traditional 'pasta and sauce' or 'gravy' Italian restaurant. The ambiance is fairly chic and open kitchen. Outside seating is great for people watching as the PAC is next door and depending who is playing that night, can be a real eye opener.
The food is consistent, the staff is friendly (Jay the bartender does a great job of managing the bar on the busy nights, but maintains a personal touch and provides good service), and a good wine list for a place of it's size.
It can get crazy on the nights when there is a big draw concert going on, so be prepared to get there early and deal with some buzz of the crowd, but it is definitely worth it. The quiet nights are even better, as you can relax and enjoy the pace of a good meal and conversation with friends / business partners.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MayorMike12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood RIdge, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Rip off”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Shame on me for going to this restaurant, dispite the reviews on Tripadvisor. Shame on me for going to this restaurant after going to their website and finding no prices on their menu. The ambiance is nice, but the positive comments end there. They presented a menu which wasn't even close the menu they post on-line. There were only a few entres to select from, each averaging $34. When questioned, we were told that the BergenPAC had a concert that night, and the menu was limited to get people to the show on time because it gets crowded. This was a Tuesday night at 5:45PM with only 5 tables occupied. Then came the wine list. The cheapest white wine was Bogle for $40 a bottle. I realize that restaurants make a large mark-up on wine, but you can get this wine for $7.57 a bottle at Total Wine. That is more than a 900% mark-up. If you want to give away your money, there are plenty of worthy charities.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MenschinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solaia also viewed

 
Englewood, NJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing