We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome back to the 1950's ..but great pizza!”
Review of Pizza Town USA

Pizza Town USA
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Elmwood Park
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Phone Number: (201) 797-6172
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Welcome back to the 1950's ..but great pizza!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It's REALLY old school 1950's. Probably best as takeout unless you like picnic tables.

The pizza is de-lish! Pepperoni is thick cut, old Italian-style. Great ingredients make the difference!

It has been listed as one of the best pizzas in NJ. I'd say it warrants the visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilpHKearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Hasn't Changed Since The 1960s”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Grew up in north Jersey and started visiting Pizza Town in 1962 when that first driver's license meant we could drive here. It isn't fancy food, but it's some of the best Jersey pizza you'll ever find. But yeah, what I go for is the calzones. None of that baked junk that so many pizza places pass off as a calzone. Pizza Town makes theirs from the same dough as their pizzas, stuffed full of ricotta, mozzarella and ham, then deep fried. They probably haven't changed the frying oil since the 1960s, but the calzones sure are great. We've lived out of the area for a long time, but just about every visit back we stop there for a slice and a calzone. My wife hates it, but hey, she didn't grow up in Jersey and so can't know about great pizza. And get a bag of the zeppolis (spelling?) for breakfast. Fried pizza dough with powdered sugar on top. Your cardiologist will love you for it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IdahoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pizzatown”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Pizzatown has been around since the 1950's and has become an "institution". The pizza is great but even more impressive are their calzones.
Pizzatown is not a "sit down" type place, but rather is best for "take out".

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blade926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Takes me back”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife is a pizza maven - maybe even a pizza snob. One day, when we passed this Pizza Town on Route 46, it reminded me of the Pizza Town that had been in River Edge when I was a teen. I remembered their pizzas and zeppoles as being GREAT. I figured: "they can't be as good as I remember. I'm older, my tastes have changed." But we were hungry and my wife said "What the heck." So we drove into the lot. This was the original, from 1958, that stayed open long after their sister store had closed decades ago. We ordered some slices.

Wow. EXACTLY as I remembered it. Nicely seasoned. Crust just right. Good mix of chesse and sauce. And even better: My wife loved it. And the zeppoles? Well, maybe they're heart attacks in a bag, but when I was 15, I didn't care. And they taste JUST as good as they did then.

It's amazing that after 40 years, I can still experience the same taste sensations as I did when I was a kid.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DPL999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Ferry, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slice of Pie”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick bite. Slices of pie and a soda. Nothin extra special. Decided on getting zepoles to go, best decision ever. They are great. Would go back for zepoles and to try the calzone as I've heard good reviews.

Helpful?
Thank GerardPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Town USA also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Town USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing