We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average dining experience though was impressed with online reviews”
Review of Twisted Elm Tavern

Twisted Elm Tavern
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Elmwood Park
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Belleville,NJ
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Average dining experience though was impressed with online reviews”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had dinner service for father's day and we were excited to check the place out. We ordered the carolina crab dip and was disappointed. Presentation can be done by a blind person and the the dip was not even hot. The quality of the dip is subpar. We ordered the duck fries and it was just average. It came with a duck fat watery dip. The cheese was not thoroughly melted. We ordered the margharite pizza which wasnt that impressive. We love the bread but noticed that sometimes it comes hot or lukewarm. The mussels were pretty good and fresh. The calamari was a disappointment as well as the chicken wings. However, try the blusabi sauce which is pretty refreshing to the palate. Service was off. Coffee was 3.50 each. Come on now. Glad we found out what this place was about. Will not return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herleiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy beers, food & good time!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Visited Twisted Elm in June 2012 w/ a larger group of friends. Good craft beers, really yummy apps (try the duck fat disco fries) & good dinner. My husband nearly licked his plate w/ the t-bone special of the night. Service was good too. Would definitely return...

Helpful?
Thank UMDKatie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Interesting beer selection, expensive”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Ecclectic beer selection on tap (8 taps). Bottles were standard fair. Rather expensive for a pint at $6. We did not eat there, but many were eating. the bar was crowded and loud. get there early if you want a seat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,583 reviews
607 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,694 helpful votes
“Two visits yield two totally different experiences”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We went to this riverside restaurant soon after it opened and were very favorably impressed with the food and the fact that the bar was packed with young people--clearly a happening place. When we returned months later the place was nearly empty and the service was a bit off. The food didn't seem as good. I can't put my finger on it. The host seems very grumpy. It wouldn't hurt to smile. Free parking on the premises.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LWL3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fond memories...”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently had a large family gathering at the Twisted Elm gastro pub, in NJ. The staff was very accommodating with our group, and our server was friendly and attentive. The tap beer was tasty and the food was very good. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Elm Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Twisted Elm Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing