We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been there for Black Friday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Been there for Black Friday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was chosen cause it was near Jersey Gardens for a Black Friday sale, and we stayed for two nights.

The shuttle from the EWR airport comes every half an hour, and there is a shuttle to Jersey Gardens also, despite that Jersey Gardens is a walking distance.

We have a complementary breakfast witch was ok. The service was good, the staff was friendly, the two bed room was standard, it has wifi all over the hotel, I used my VoIP phone without any issue.

It's far from every place but Jersey Gardens, we went to Manhattan this way: we took a shuttle to the airport, a train within the airport to the Amtrak, then a train to Penn Station, piece of cake!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    153
    118
    55
    42
See reviews for
84
76
47
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Waited around 20 minutes for the airport shuttle. Clean room that is well updated. Bar was fine and served food past 1am. Shuttle leaves for airport every half hour. Free wifi, though I didn't use it. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zapfendorf, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Clean room and very helpful staff and very friendly. For People who come in with plains it´s a very good Hotel, the busshuttle is always on time and the Driver is friendly too. I stayed for Business there and was surprised of storm sandy and musst stay longer as i plant it but it was no Problem for the stuff to hold my room free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is not a bad hotel, don't get me wrong.
The staff has always been incredibly helpful. Moreover, the shuttle service is always prompt when I call them, usually arriving within 12 minutes of when I call them from P4 station. They also have nice, clean rooms with a coffee maker and--if I remember correctly--a mini-fridge.

The drawbacks I note are not major deal breakers, but I've stayed at a fair amount of Crowne Plazas now to know what to compare them to.
The breakfast is OK (perhaps this is why it cost only $10), but it's definitely lacking in quality. Some packaged bread, oatmeal from a box, low quality sausages...you get the picture. And the breakfast room is in this sort of dimly lit enclosure that does not allow any of the sunlight in.
Also, while they do seem to have some renovation going on, this did not seem to be as bothersome as the poor design of the lobby, which leaves much to be desired compared with the many Crowne Plazas with nicely lit atria when you enter.

Overall, this is not a bad place for the price (which seems to be just as much as Holiday Inn right now) as an airport hotel but it's perhaps worth noting that it's not the same caliber of a Crowne Plaza as what you would find elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landonroussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband's club booked a banquet room for a health and wellness expo for today (6/8/13). There were security doors that were left unlocked in the hall. There was a party in the next room in which unruly children were pushing and coming through the separation partition into the expo's room. During this event my husband's laptop was stolen. They don't have any security whatsoever and if they do they don't work on the weekends.They have closed circuit TV surveillance but refused to use it even with a police request. Apparently, this is common practice in this hotel because it is the weekend. The police were told there was no acting head manager available. The assistant manager wouldn't even give me his name. This is ridiculous. This is absurd. Clearly, you are not safe here even for a few hours.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Josephine P,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent one night at the hotel due to an overnight layover before an International flight. After reading the reviews about the renovation we had emailed the hotel asking for a renovated room on a higher floor with no paint smell. Guest Manager Cassandra Huie responded positively and promised us a room per our request. When we arrived at the hotel late at night the front desk person Diego tried to give us a different room with the standard pitch. We asked him to call Cassandra and check with her, even after she told him what she had promised us he gave us a room on the 9th floor (not sure what his problem was).

The room had the smell of fresh paint but was large and renovated. Since we were tired we didn't want to haggle with Diego again and stayed in the room. The room was well laid out, had a comfortable bed and a good, clean bathroom.

When you land at Newark take the airtrain to stop P4. Go downstairs and outside at the area for hotel buses. The shuttle to Crowne Plaza did not come on time so we had to wait for quite sometime. The next morning we came to the lobby early so as to not miss the shuttle back to the airport (runs every 30 mins but expect a longer wait). We did not use the restaurant at the hotel. Overall a nice hotel for an airport location, what you expect from a Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Texas06,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is nice you found our location convenient for your needs. I'd like to apologize however for any inconvenience you might have initially experienced upon check in. Despite this though, I am pleased to know that you found our rooms to be comfortable and laid out well.

Again, thanks for the candid feedback and I hope we get the opportunity of hosting you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had the occasion to stay at Crowne Plaza Newrak prior to cactching a flight in May.
After checking in late at night, we enjoyed the cleanliness and simplicity of our room.
The next morning, we caught the complimantary shuttle to the airport and all was well.
The staff were very friendly.
My only concern was the amount of cigarette smoke c oming out from the bar when we checked in.
Otherwise perfect for waht we wanted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear rroundtheworld,

Thank you for your review of our property.

I am truly sorry for any inconvenience caused by the amount of cigarette smoke from our bar. Nevertheless, It is real pleasure to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and you were satisfied with the services and amenities that we have to offer.

Your comments are highly appreciated and we look forward to hosting you again should your travel plans bring you back to Newark.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#5 of 13 in Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newark Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Address: 901 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel offers 24-hour Free Shuttle Service to Newark Liberty International Airport every 30 minutes. Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel is the closest hotel to the terminals around the airport area. Visiting New York City? Take advantage of our courtesy shuttle to the airport where you can catch the airtrain that will drop you off at the airport train station, and you will be at NYC Penn Station within 20 minutes! It is also easy to visit The Prudential Center, home of the New Jersey Devils; Meadowlands Sports Complex, home of the NY Giants and NY Jets. We're close to Rutgers University, NJIT, UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall.Business guests appreciate that our hotel in Elizabeth, NJ is close to major businesses. Port Newark - Elizabeth Marine Terminal is five miles, and our hotel is only five minutes from downtown Newark. The Liberty Cruise Port is only 15 minutes away. Our hotel is the 'Place to Meet' with facilities that are tailored to meet your needs. We feature one restaurants and lounge where you can meet with clients for a great meal. Other amenities include a 24-hour coffee shop; a professionally designed fitness center; indoor pool, and free high-speed Internet access. Book your stay at the Crowne Plaza Newark Airport hotel to discover a great hotel in Elizabeth, NJ. Daily Parking Fee $12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Crowne Plaza Elizabeth
Crowne Plaza Hotel Elizabeth
Sheraton Elizabeth
Four Points Elizabeth
Four Points Sheraton Newark Airport
Elizabeth Sheraton
Elizabeth Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing