We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ended our vacation here, very pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
271 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Ended our vacation here, very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Because of a flight delay, we missed a connection and were offered a room at Crowne Plaza. The transport from the hotel was slow in coming, but that was about the only bad thing about our stay. The front desk guy was incredibly friendly (and it was pretty late at night) and when he found out why were staying overnight, he asked if we had everything we needed or if he could provide us with any necessity. The elevators are in repair and were running slow, but worked fine. Our room was incredibly comfortable. We left too early in the morning for breakfast, but visited the coffee shop and was impressed with the selection. I actually just mentioned to my husband that I'm surprised there are so many negative reviews when we had such a positive experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tawney112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Our staff works diligently to always improve on the service experience of our guests. The elevators are currently going through a modernization process. One car is completed completely and the second is about half way done. We certainly appreciated your patience during this process. Our shuttle service runs every 30minutes, 24hrs per day, but I will see to it that our drivers are keeping this schedule to avoid any delays. Our team appreciates your compliments and we hope to see you soon on your next trip.

As always you may contact me at cvalerio@menlohotels.com with any additional comments you may have.

Best Regards,

Carlos Valerio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    153
    117
    55
    42
See reviews for
83
76
47
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I chose the Crowne Plaza thinking I had stayed here before. I was wrong.

The good. The transfer was painless from the airport. The room was a decent size and the bed was comfortable. The paid breakfast was slow coming but enormous and very good.

The bad. Only one of the four lifts was working. The entire 5th floor smelt a bit musty, the room was worse. The service was glacial, I was wondering whether I should have specified the breakfast was for that morning. The buffet looked very ropey. The clock radio went off at 4 am after I had forgotten to check it. The hotel fire alarm went off at 7:15 am.

The last, while not strictly the hotel's fault (more on that in a second) was the most worrying. I have never seen such a shambles. The hotel staff made no attempt to get people out, had no idea what was going on, and the first fire engine there actually sat at the closed barriers for about a minute before anyone thought to let them in. Worryingly inept, especially as it turns out (according to an overheard conversation) that this regularly happens from burnt toast in the kitchens.

So, a terrible nights sleep in a odd smelling room with poor service. Oh, and the area looks pretty ropey. I don't think it deserves one star, but two is probably generous.

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor, it smells funny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LichfieldGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback.
First and foremost please accept our apologies for the issues encountered during your recent stay with us.
The elevators were, without question, slow the last couple of months due to old equipment. In order to resolve this issue we have been going through a modernization process. Unfortunately, it did take some time to order and receive all parts. We are happy to report that we now have two cars up and running, which has drastically improved the service. We are expecting all three cars to be completed by early December, and we appreciate everyone’s patience during this process.
We are very sorry that you had to deal with the fire alarm, and it is true that someone did indeed burn a muffin in a toaster. In regards to your other concerns, I have already forwarded your comments to our Executive Housekeeper and Restaurant Manager. Our staff strives to ensure that our guests enjoy a comfortable stay with exceptional service, and I will assure you that your feedback will help us improve our customer service experience.
Thank you again for bringing your concerns to my attention and you may contact me at cvalerio@menlohotels.com with any additional comments or concerns you may have.

Respectfully,

Carlos Valerio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area (CA)
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

First, this hotel claims to be in the middle of renovations. That said, there is a lot to be done.

First Appearance: Nice and warm. Has a display of the flights at Newark-Liberty (EWR) which is a great plus.

Deep Down: No elevators. Only one working and it takes a staff member to work it through. This is a safety issue, if the hotel is not concern about guest comfort.

Rooms: Functional. However for a non-smoking room, heavy presence of tobacco smoke. Could possibly be the AC was running and carried the smoke from one room/floor to the next. If that is the case, the management needs to make sure they clean the filtration system an a more regular basis.

Restuarant. Very little people eating. No staff to receive new guests. I guess that answers the first appearance observation.

Wake up. If you have an early morning flight, bring your own alarm. Front Desk wake up service not reliable.

Crowne Rewards member. Management, You really do not think associating and respecting our loyalty memobership information is important?! We go to certain brand hotels because of our loyalty and our expectations of service. You need to re-think out your individual marketing strategy again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SFBayAreaTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback.

First and foremost please accept our apologies for the issues encountered during your recent stay with us.

The elevators were, without question, slow the last couple of months due to old equipment. In order to resolve this issue we have been going through a modernization process. Unfortunately, it did take some time to order and receive all parts. We are happy to report that we now have two cars up and running, which has drastically improved the service. We are expecting all three cars to be completed by early December, and we appreciate everyone’s patience during this process.

In regards to your other concerns, I have already forwarded your comments to our Executive Housekeeper, Restaurant Manager and Head Engineer. We appreciate your business and loyalty to our brand as Priority Club member. In fact, all Priority Club members receive a welcome amenity at arrival as our way of saying thanks for your loyalty. I am sorry if they missed that on your profile, and if you could contact me with more information, I can make sure that you received the points earned for your stay. Our staff strives to ensure that our guests enjoy a comfortable stay with exceptional service, and I will assure you that your feedback will help us improve our customer service experience.

Thank you again for bringing your concerns to my attention and you may contact me at cvalerio@menlohotels.com with any additional comments or concerns you may have.
Best Regards,

Carlos Valerio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

That being said, you can't beat the price for the convenient location near EWR. After a red eye, I arrived via their complimentary shuttle around 1:30am, and would have settled for a cot in a closet. Even at this late hour, I was cheerily greeted and upgraded to the executive level without asking. Yes, the elevators have been this place's downfall as of late, but they are replacing them. Look at it this way: you'll get some cardio in! You can also request a room on a lower floor.

The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Being muggy outside, the air worked quietly great. In addition, they have an excellent gym and indoor/outdoor pool. They have a 24 hour snack bar/deli as well as a decent restaurant with very pleasant service.

All in all, a great value. Once the elevators work, the ratings will go up!

Room Tip: Until elevators are replaced, choose a low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

The elevators were, without question, slow the last couple of months due to old equipment. In order to resolve this issue we have been going through a modernization process. Unfortunately, it did take some time to order and receive all parts. We are happy to report that we now have two cars up and running, which has drastically improved the service. We are expecting all three cars to be completed by early December, and we appreciate everyone’s patience during this process.

We appreciate your other comments immensely as they will help continue to improve our customer service. You may contact me at cvalerio@menlohotels.com with any additional comments you may have.

Best Regards,

Carlos Valerio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Omg. WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE, EVER. The room smelled awful, awful, awful. So badly that I woke in the middle of the night with a migraine headache. You'll see the carpets leading to the room in the hallway are stained beyond belief and should be your first signal to get out. But we had prepaid for the room and were stuck. Unless you are stuck or held hostage, do not stay here. Disgusting. It should be closed down and completely renovated. The bathroom smelled like urine and was clearly dirty, the shower curtain does not even close to the ends of the shower, but hangs weirdly in the middle of the shower so that the floor gets completely soaked. The carpets in the room are STAINED and the celining is peeling and crumbling. The windows don't open so you don't even have a way to breathe fresh air. Wait, the worst part is the ELEVATOR problem you read about in other reviews. I ended up taking the stairs several times due to looooong waits. And the attendant pushed the wrong floor buttons which took even longer. The only good thing: The shuttle driver. He was super polite and friendly....but the shuttle SMELLED like CHEAP cologne to likely mask dirt. Ugh. DO NOT STAY HERE. IF YOUR OPTION IS THE AIRPORT FLOOR/CHAIRS, DO THAT INSTEAD!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

First and foremost please accept our apologies for the issues encountered during your recent stay with us.

The elevators were, without question, slow the last couple of months due to old equipment. In order to resolve this issue we have been going through a modernization process. Unfortunately, it did take some time to order and receive all parts. We are happy to report that we now have two cars up and running, which has drastically improved the service. We are expecting all three cars to be completed by early December, and we appreciate everyone’s patience during this process.

Our Hotel is about to begin the renovation process in November and we will start by replacing our carpets. In regards to your other concerns, I have already forwarded your comments to our Executive Housekeeper and Head Engineer. Our staff strives to ensure that our guests enjoy a comfortable stay with exceptional service, and your feedback will certainly help us in the process.

Thank you again for bringing your concerns to my attention and you may contact me at cvalerio@menlohotels.com with any additional comments or concerns you may have.

Best Regards,

Carlos Valerio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times between August and September, not by choice, because of work. Within a 30 day period, I have encountered: up to a 45 minute wait for the hotel van at the airport; a fitness center so hot I felt out of breath prematurely; a bathroom sink that dripped constantly; no cold water in bathroom sink. I had to brush my teeth with hot water; ceiling tiles that had fallen out of the ceiling with water dripping through the ceiling at the elevators on my floor; water that accumulated half way up my shins in the tub as I showered; 1 ice machine working out of all the floors in the hotel; and only one elevator working creating a 20 minute wait to get from the fourth floor to the first. I'd say... stay somewhere else.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank stacy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear stacy w,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stays. I have taken note of your valuable comments and your feedback will be taken into consideration as we push through with our major renovations that should be completed by Spring of 2013.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Crowne Plaza is a strange brand. In Asia the hotels are fabulous, in the US they really underwhelm. This one sank to new depths but in its defence it is due for refurbishment.

The shuttle bus from the airport was grubby (but the driver was friendly), reception looked so tired, the lifts (elevators) felt like there was a guy using rope to operate them and the rooms were decidedly below average.

The staff were OK, the food was typically fried US-style and the air-conditioning gave a simple choice. Sleep and be woken up as the humidity rises or don't sleep because of the noisy unit.

The other reviews seem to echo my thoughts and if I was in charge of the ICH priority list for hotel upgrades I would be making sure this was near the top of the list.

Room Tip: Wait until the refurbishment is finished
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear vonireland,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. I apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations.

I am very glad to inform you that we are currently going through major renovation and should be complete by Spring of 2013. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit by then to see the changes we’ve made to make our guest’s stays as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#5 of 13 in Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newark Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Address: 901 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel offers 24-hour Free Shuttle Service to Newark Liberty International Airport every 30 minutes. Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel is the closest hotel to the terminals around the airport area. Visiting New York City? Take advantage of our courtesy shuttle to the airport where you can catch the airtrain that will drop you off at the airport train station, and you will be at NYC Penn Station within 20 minutes! It is also easy to visit The Prudential Center, home of the New Jersey Devils; Meadowlands Sports Complex, home of the NY Giants and NY Jets. We're close to Rutgers University, NJIT, UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall.Business guests appreciate that our hotel in Elizabeth, NJ is close to major businesses. Port Newark - Elizabeth Marine Terminal is five miles, and our hotel is only five minutes from downtown Newark. The Liberty Cruise Port is only 15 minutes away. Our hotel is the 'Place to Meet' with facilities that are tailored to meet your needs. We feature one restaurants and lounge where you can meet with clients for a great meal. Other amenities include a 24-hour coffee shop; a professionally designed fitness center; indoor pool, and free high-speed Internet access. Book your stay at the Crowne Plaza Newark Airport hotel to discover a great hotel in Elizabeth, NJ. Daily Parking Fee $12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Crowne Plaza Elizabeth
Crowne Plaza Hotel Elizabeth
Sheraton Elizabeth
Four Points Elizabeth
Four Points Sheraton Newark Airport
Elizabeth Sheraton
Elizabeth Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing