We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with free shuttle to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with free shuttle to airport”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Large lobby area with nice exercise room and pool. Our room was clean but we were disappointed housekeeping would not deliver us a cot upon request. They said that it was a "fire hazard" to have a cot in a room with a bed and sleeper sofa. Our room was pretty large in size and we would have kept it up against the wall leaving about a three foot wide walking area to the door, but they would not come up to check the room out. So one of our children got to sleep on the floor on top of blankets where the cot would have been. Also, we were disappointed with the shuttle driver. He seemed nice enough but did not help us with our luggage nor did he pull up to the curb at the airport like the other shuttles did (even through there was plenty of room for him to do so). That being said, the front desk staff were very nice and the hotel was clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankeesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    153
    121
    56
    47
See reviews for
88
77
48
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here April 11th since we had an early morning flight out of Newark. The hotel staff were incredibly accommodating. Initially, we were told that no roll-away bed could be placed in the room which we needed since there are 4 of us. When we checked in, they told us they could put in a "folding bed" which was the same thing and worked out well. We were on the 10th floor, room 1009 right across from the elevators which only 2/4 of them were working but that wasn't really a problem. We ate dinner in the restaurant which was really tasty. Excellent waiter, Felix. The hotel was immaculate and had comfortable beds. The room also had a great view of the airport. We had no problems with the shuttles which run every 20 minutes. Overall, a great place to stay if you have an early flight out of Newark!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcoasttraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I am a "hotel snob" and refuse to stay in hotels that are less than 4 stars. This hotel had a great kong size bed with a flat screen TV. The room was very clean and very comfortable. It had a wonderful desk to do some work at and internet in the roooms. The staff was very friendly and provided us free breakfast in the morning. The breakfast buffet was pretty good with toast, danishes, scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, and jams. It was perfect for a quick stay before moving on to NYC. The shuttle from the airport was there to pick us up as promised- we only waited 5 minutes at 11pm at night! On the way back to the airport, the shuttles were coming to the hotel every 15 minutes without fail. We had time to eat breakfast and then grab the shuttle back without missing a beat. The only negative to the hotel is that it is in a dodgy area (but really what hotel airports arent?) so I wouldnt really walk around at night. There was an Applebees in walking distance if you needed food. Inside the hotel was a 24 hour little market and coffee bar which we found useful. :) Stay for the price if you can get it on priceline or hotwire. Good, quality hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grkgal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Typical airport hotel. We were promised a room on the same level as another party we were traveling with. They overbooked and that didn't happen. Bathrooms were poor, no drainage in shower and not enough towels. Carpets were very dirty and I've never seen such small pillows. Stay here and you will see, they were like mini pillows, very annoying. But this place served its purpose, over night stay before a flight.

Coffee shop did serve a good cup of coffee! Staff was nice, friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank concdid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear concdid,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27729655
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Staff is excellent,
Front desk gave directions to Olive Garden really far away.
Also needed stapler for tags & staff lent it without hesitation! On 2012-04-12 about 9:10 am, you know who you are!
I like friendly staff in nice clean hotels, this was it.
Only negative, parking is $15/day, I know they are next to the airport, but guests should be able to park complimentary in controlled access parking.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leblanc0155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This Hotel is OK but not for travelers. in this modern age of technology, this Hotel lacks plugs for your electronics, after all their lamps etc are connected it left 1 plug in the room in the corner of the room. All the Hotels Air Conditioners are set on a certain temperature and if you are hot or cold you will be misserable because there is no way to chenge them. The staff really tries but are limited with what they can do because of it has to do with the age of the Hotel and not with anything the staff can do to fix it.

Are you an Ambassador Platinum? dont expect the fruits and water as they know nothing about it and it does not look like Management took the time to teach their staff the different levels of guests. This place has 2 restaurants within walking distance and I would not reccomend either one of them or the on site Hotel.

Room Tip: make sure that the Air Conditioner and/or Heaters are working and you actually have control as to wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlatinumMember174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear PlatinumMember174,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, NJ. We are happy to hear you are an Ambassador Member and appreciate you choosing IHG. For future reference, the Ambassador Member benefits are only available at InterContinental Hotels. We are sorry you were not able to control the air conditioning in your room. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Newark. We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27697727
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Its a haven for flight crews and business stay-over passengers... Very clean and recently updated interiors. Bar and restaurant is great with very friendly staff at the front desk, bar and restaurant.

Beds are comfy and up to the Crowne Plaza standard. Free Internet was lovely as well.

All around a great stay and a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThurmanMurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#5 of 14 in Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newark Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Address: 901 Spring St, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel offers 24-hour Free Shuttle Service to Newark Liberty International Airport every 30 minutes. Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel is the closest hotel to the terminals around the airport area. Visiting New York City? Take advantage of our courtesy shuttle to the airport where you can catch the airtrain that will drop you off at the airport train station, and you will be at NYC Penn Station within 20 minutes! It is also easy to visit The Prudential Center, home of the New Jersey Devils; Meadowlands Sports Complex, home of the NY Giants and NY Jets. We're close to Rutgers University, NJIT, UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall.Business guests appreciate that our hotel in Elizabeth, NJ is close to major businesses. Port Newark - Elizabeth Marine Terminal is five miles, and our hotel is only five minutes from downtown Newark. The Liberty Cruise Port is only 15 minutes away. Our hotel is the 'Place to Meet' with facilities that are tailored to meet your needs. We feature one restaurants and lounge where you can meet with clients for a great meal. Other amenities include a 24-hour coffee shop; a professionally designed fitness center; indoor pool, and free high-speed Internet access. Book your stay at the Crowne Plaza Newark Airport hotel to discover a great hotel in Elizabeth, NJ. Daily Parking Fee $12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Crowne Plaza Elizabeth
Crowne Plaza Hotel Elizabeth
Sheraton Elizabeth
Four Points Elizabeth
Four Points Sheraton Newark Airport
Elizabeth Sheraton
Elizabeth Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing