We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are Crowne Plazas and there are Crowne Plazas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“There are Crowne Plazas and there are Crowne Plazas”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

It is never good to start a hotel stay with an argument with the Front Desk staff. They booked and took payment for 3 nights though we had a printed booking for 2 nights. The whole place is tired and shabby but the management were keen to point out they had only just taken over. The front desk staff were never the same any time we went down. You can't charge anything to your room because the system was down. We (seriously!) got stuck in the elevator twice so ended up climbing 8 filights of stairs several times. The pool was closed for the weekend. They have signs pointing to meeting rooms, but no meeting rooms! Oh, but the shuttle bus runs every 20 mins and on time. But when we or our friends tried to call the hotel on several occassions they never picked up. Dear IHG, PLEASE get some consistency and stop trying to take advantage of loyal customers!

Room Tip: Have breakfast at Perkins next door - 10% discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Jeremy M,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused you. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Sincerely,

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    155
    123
    57
    48
See reviews for
89
78
48
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

And that wasn't just us as we checked in. Monies taken in full on arrival (fair enough). Is it policy for Airport Hotels to take extra monies as deposit & hold it for upto 10days? Totally not acceptable in my opinion. The room was comfortable with an unnecessary huge TV. The Hotel is tired beyond belief, loud music blaring through out the communal areas. Too many TV's in the bar/lounge with waitresses only really interested in chewing Gum! New Owner/Managers have just moved.....Good Luck guys, I think you're going to need it with the staff! Oh & get the elevator fixed too. So loved the 24/7 coffee & cake bar, although we didn't indulge too much :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 'Quiet Zone" with the 'no marching bands or circus animals'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sproutie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for your comments, and my apologies for the credit card inconvenience. As you stated, our company recently aquired the property, and because of the transition, the credit card system had to be reconfigured in our PMS system. This required us to process all credit card payments on arrival through a Verifone machine. We have already taken great steps to clean and renovate the hotel, and hope that you will return on your next trip to Newark Airport so that you can notice the change.

My apologies and thank you for your feedback!

Carlos Valerio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Though wary before coming here after reading all the reviews, I felt my stay was very satisfactory. I booked a 4 night trip through Priceline and checkin was exceptionally smooth. The room itself was big enough. The beds were comfy and the toilet was clean with the proper toiletries. Though the bedsheets and pillow covers were fresh and clean, I could see a hole in one of them. Minor but still noticeable. The carpet was vacuumed but looked dated.

The shuttle service was very punctual and I used it to commute to the city for all 4 days ( go to the airport and take NJ transit) . If you dont see him for a while just call front desk . No free breakfast which was a downvote from me but apart from that no major complaints.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for our comments, and we hope to see you on your next visit to New Jersey.

Carlos Valerio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

So I booked a room because their rates were good. It did not say on my website that there would be a full deposit. I called the hotel and confirmed that if I l did not need the room 4 nights that I could check out and get a credit. I needed the room two nights and had to leave because my trip was done. I ate room service because there is no where to eat anywhere around there that looks safe. I got the bill and it showed a credit for the difference minus the room service. My credit card was billed for the room service and no credit was given for the two nights stay. I tried calling Mr. Goldberg who apparently handles such things to discuss and never got a response. I went through the Holiday Inn website and never got a response. I called American Express and disputed the charges 2 times and sent the bill I received both times and AMEX could not or did not want to be bothered. I called my travel agent who I booked the ticket through and she called in and I was going to hear from someone in upper management at the hotel within 48 hours. So one week went by and no calls were made to me. I called the agent again and she was able to get the credit for the room nights sent back to me through her contacts after much hassling. I finally saw the credit 4 weeks later and never heard from anyone to apologize for my 4 weeks of fighting. Also to make the hotel that much more enjoyable they share their parking area with an airport parking lot and in the winter they lose slot of parking spaces and if you happen to park in the airport parking area you get yelled by a typical New York A-hole for parking in the wrong area. I have never stayed there or at any other Holiday Inn properties since and will let my Platinum Priority status of 6 years cease because of the treatment and lack of customer service.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMAN0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#4 of 14 in Elizabeth
1,664 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newark Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Address: 901 Spring St, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel offers 24-hour Free Shuttle Service to Newark Liberty International Airport every 30 minutes. Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel is the closest hotel to the terminals around the airport area. Visiting New York City? Take advantage of our courtesy shuttle to the airport where you can catch the airtrain that will drop you off at the airport train station, and you will be at NYC Penn Station within 20 minutes! It is also easy to visit The Prudential Center, home of the New Jersey Devils; Meadowlands Sports Complex, home of the NY Giants and NY Jets. We're close to Rutgers University, NJIT, UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall.Business guests appreciate that our hotel in Elizabeth, NJ is close to major businesses. Port Newark - Elizabeth Marine Terminal is five miles, and our hotel is only five minutes from downtown Newark. The Liberty Cruise Port is only 15 minutes away. Our hotel is the 'Place to Meet' with facilities that are tailored to meet your needs. We feature one restaurants and lounge where you can meet with clients for a great meal. Other amenities include a 24-hour coffee shop; a professionally designed fitness center; indoor pool, and free high-speed Internet access. Book your stay at the Crowne Plaza Newark Airport hotel to discover a great hotel in Elizabeth, NJ. Daily Parking Fee $12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Crowne Plaza Elizabeth
Crowne Plaza Hotel Elizabeth
Sheraton Elizabeth
Four Points Elizabeth
Four Points Sheraton Newark Airport
Elizabeth Sheraton
Elizabeth Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing