We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Nasty !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airport Hotel Inn and Suites
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheap and Nasty !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I cannot believe this property is a Days Inn. The room was awful with water running down the walls, A very noisy extractor in the bathroom, it even drowned the planes out!!! Noisy heater.
It did have a comfy clean bed, hot water and decent toiletries. It was cheap, but unfortunately cheap and nasty !!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel! Seriously it's not that far to New York City where great hotels are availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    32
    75
    269
See reviews for
103
83
84
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport CT
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We picked the cheapest available place to crash for a few hours and park our car when flying out of Newark. The rooms was warm and safe and that's all we needed for the few hours of rest we paid for. The front desk staff was super nice, as were the Park and Fly guys next door. The Lobby Bar and Restaurant next door was a savior and has awesome drinks, dancing and food. If you're looking for anything more than bare bones, this is not the place for you. If you need a quick efficient well priced place to park and lay your head for a few hours, this place is perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I got stranded in my connection flight due to bad weather with my family at newark International Airport with no option than to spend the night, I ask where can I get a Hotel room and they told me in the ground floor there is a phone with a list of different hotels so I choice this one because the price, they came to pick us up in a very bad conditions shuttle bus, but nothing too bad, then we arrived at the hotel which did not look too good but there where pretty good nice cars park in front of it so I thought It could not be that bad (it turns out that they park the cars there for people going on a trip). So we pay for the hotel and went into the room, let me tell you that I am not too fancy or demanding but honestly I have not idea how the airport allows them to be on the list inside of the airport where you can get a hotel, the main door did not close properly you can see light come through, it felt pretty dirty inside, everything is broken, they had in the floor a small heater that did not even work and when you walk on the bathroom it gets even worst, I talk to the person at the administration that I was going to leave and that I had not even used the room, but he told me that after 15 minutes he can not give me my money back, I even ask just for half but he refused. The airport and the Days Inn franchise should do something about it, for my part I will never stay in a Days Inn anywhere again.
I hope this will help someone not to do the same error and go through a very bad experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lachute, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

After missing a connection in Newark, we chose this hotel because of the "Days Inn" reputation and reasonable price. I will think twice before considering Wyndam hotels for any future travel. The room was filthy and in a state of disrepair. Stained sheets, curtains and carpet. We slept with our clothes on and put our shoes on to go to the bathroom. Buyer Beware. There has to be somewhere else -anywhere else to stay in the vicinity of the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel is so bad that trip advisor rejected my review which was totally factual.Sheets,bathroom,carpet,ceiling,walls,bathroom,door,...When you sleep in your clothes I think it says something.What else is there?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackieball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.2 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Inn and Suites

Property: Airport Hotel Inn and Suites
Address: 853 Spring St. (US 1 & 9), Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2101 (Formerly Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Hotel Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Airport Hotel is the premier place for guests to stay on their venture into New York and New Jersey. Guests will find getting to and from Newark International Airport is easy with our 24hr complimentary airport shuttle that runs every 30 minutes. Conveniently located just four miles away from the "city that never sleeps," the hotel offers easy access to famous New York City attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building. UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall. Downtown New York City is 20 minutes from our Newark hotel. Times Square, Central Park and the Met are less than a half-hour away from Elizabeth, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Hotel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newark International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Econolodge Hotel Elizabeth
Econo Lodge Newark Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing