We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Hotel Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airport Hotel Inn and Suites
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
A TripAdvisor Member
“very poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

small ,completely worn out, cold, no phone on wifi as advertised, continental breakfast was an apple,small chocolate bar and a small juice box in a paper bag.Coffee machine with powder milk. RUDE desk people. 1 face cloth.Shuttle driver was very pleasant.Newest Days Inn in America

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    32
    74
    262
See reviews for
101
78
82
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
264 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

To properly consider this place, keep in mind this is a motel in Newark, New Jersey priced under $100 total a night. I stayed in this hotel as it was prepaid by a friend who was on a budget. Now lets go to some pluses and minuses about the place-

*At Newark Liberty Airport, it appears to be the only hotel without an automatic dial amongst all the hotels at the Airport, the Shuttle also took a little longer than expected taking 11 minutes to go just under half a mile.
*The entire hotel is under construction and renovation as it was very recently an EconoLodge.
*The room was small and compact but well presented, everything worked, everything was provided but the sink fawcett was loose.
*The customer service at this hotel was very good, the front desk staff was courteous and helpful and the maintenance staff was on call if needed.
*The hotel and the surrounding area does not look great, it is located in an Industrial section near the Newark/Elizabeth border and the Airport itself. I got the impression this was a motel where one would want to mind to themselves at all time and do nothing to come across those in the neighboring rooms but in all fairness, all the hotels/motels in this area gave off this vibe which should not be too surprising given it's location.
*There is an excellent bar next to the hotel known as The Lobby
*Despite the Proximity to the Airport, incoming flight noise was not a problem.

Overall this hotel was not my first pick but it is better than it appears and it is less than $100 a night.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the front as it will be an easier exit, be on the ground floor if driving your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conrade886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed there because we missed our connection and the airlines rebooked us 2 days after... I called he told me it would be 99,99$ + tax. He charged us 111$.. + tax.
It was not really clean but for one night, that can do.
Wifi was'nt working I called the reception and he gave me a phone number to call the company that provide their wifi instead of calling himself. You can do that really...???
In the morning the shuttle was not there we would have had to wait for 30 minutes to go to they airport so he called a cab and we paid 25 $????
Anyway, I would'nt go back...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel January 7/2013. The heater in our room did not work. The windows and door did not properly close. A a cold breeze blew continuously through our room. We slept in our clothes. The floor, blankets and chairs were very dirty. The small room lobby is dirty, crowded and second rate. The price charged would have to be much less to reflect proper value for the room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Darwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Inn and Suites

Property: Airport Hotel Inn and Suites
Address: 853 Spring St, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2101 (Formerly Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Hotel Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Airport Hotel is the premier place for guests to stay on their venture into New York and New Jersey. Guests will find getting to and from Newark International Airport is easy with our 24hr complimentary airport shuttle that runs every 30 minutes. Conveniently located just four miles away from the "city that never sleeps," the hotel offers easy access to famous New York City attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building. UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall. Downtown New York City is 20 minutes from our Newark hotel. Times Square, Central Park and the Met are less than a half-hour away from Elizabeth, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Budget Places and Hotwire so you can book your Airport Hotel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newark International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Econolodge Hotel Elizabeth
Econo Lodge Newark Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing