We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rough stay, but I'd return based on previous success”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Newark Airport
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A rough stay, but I'd return based on previous success”
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Changed rooms three times. The first because of the non-working internet modem, the second time they upgraded me to a suite, but it smelled like an ashtray despite being billed as non-smoking (they had an ashtray next to the bed). Kind of confused why being at the top level of their Honors program and I was still in an average room, no upgrade, despite paying a decent rate.

The hotel's location is great and it's easy to navigate once you figure it out.

Having to switch rooms was a little rocky, but overall I'd return.

AC POWER Tough to find in this old hotel. Thankfully lamps in most rooms have a single plug at the base.

BATHROOM Clean, a little on the small side, but a big enough countertop for plenty of toiletries, Speakman showerhead, towels on racks in the shower.

BEDDING Hilton's latest bedding, very comfy.

CLEANLINESS Hit and miss, I had three rooms during this stay, and one was a victim of cigarette and other random stains, but overall most rooms were clean.

INTERNET $9.95 charge (October of 2008). Only wired DSL service (no WiFi). First room did not have a working modem. Spoke with telephone tech help and they were not able to get a signal from the box, found out later it was a dead modem. I called the front desk that had 40 other rooms available, and the rude front desk agent suggested I wait another ten minutes for the engineer to bring up a new modem. I suggested that a new modem would not work for a dead line. Once her shift was over, I switched rooms and had a good connection.

LOBBY Inviting, easy access to check-in, gift shop and bar. Elevators close to front desk.

PARKING Parking availability was very limited in their self park lot. $10/24hrs.

POOL Did not visit, but they have a small indoor pool.

STAFF Very pleasant, outside of the aforementioned front desk agent. Some language issues with some of the staff, but generally very professional.

WATER PRESSURE Excellent water pressure from the shower head, but one room had a very weak bathroom faucet.

TELEVISION LCD widescreens, but no HD signals. The TV was not quick to respond to the remote controls and it became very frustrating trying to channel surf. The analog cable signal had a lot of loss and was very weak.

  • Liked — Location, quick easy access to Newark Airport
  • Disliked — Rude staff at the front desk when a problem arose, but only limited to one individual.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IntegrityTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    605
    359
    150
    78
See reviews for
306
336
198
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

This is the 2nd time we stayed at the Newark Airport Hilton. For $143/night(through Hilton) I was very happy. The rooms are very clean, bed very comfortable, and a nice large and clean bathroom. The best thing about this hotel is that you do not hear a single noise from the airport. The shuttle leaves every 20 minutes for the airport. Give yourself an extra couple of minutes as the ride to the airport seems to wind around for 10-15 minutes. The lobby is a bit dated, but we just slept there.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Neighborhood
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxnBaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We were visiting New York for a weekend sightseeing from the UK. We were told the Airport hotels were better value for money than staying downtown. Having looked at the various hotels in the area suggested by TripAdvisor -we selected this one. It was a good choice. The shuttle bus pick up/drop off at the airport is easy to find via the airtram from the terminals( hotel shuttle about every 20mins)>Trip to hotel about 7/8 mins and drivers very helpful. King size room was good size and v clean. Nice bathroom. No noise from airport. Good rate 98$ + tax pn. for 3 night stay over weekend. Starbucks OK for breakfast snacks. Tried the Restaurant (Garden State) for dinner . Food and service of very good standard. On Saturday and Sunday used hotel shuttle back to airport to catch airtram to Airport Amtrack Station then by train(about 30 mins each way) to Penn Station in NYC for sightseeing. Very convenient and inexpensive way to get to Downtown New York. In NYC for sightseeing book the two day Grey Lines Hop on Hop off bus tour its really good value and you can see all the main sites of uptown & downtown manhatten. Hotel shuttle back to airport for return flight also efficient at drops you at whichever terminal you need.Having stayed in hotels around Europe,Asia & North America of all grades and sizes can safely say this hotel is value for money and good standard.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — All was ok
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SplinkNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

We booked the Hilton for a Friday night before our Early Saturday monring flight. The Hilton was one of the only decent hotels around Newark offering a park and fly package for that night. The deal seemed very good-- it was 149.00 for the night, and include 5 days of Valet Parking. The Valet parking turned out to be convienent as well.

Dropped the car off around 3pm on friday, and with Valet parking i was at the Check-in desk within a min of arrival. Check-in was easy, and they gave me a room on a high floor with a good view of the airport. Nothing in Newark is really a decent view at all, but this wasnt too bad. The room was standard for a Hilton. Nothing better or worse then most Hilton properties I have stayed at. It was clean, had nice bathoom, comfy bed, and standard amenties. I had plenty of time on my hands so I checked out their pool and fitness area. I never used the pool or hot hub, but they looked above average for a airport hotel. The fitness center I did use, and it's quite small, but no one was in it. All the machines are very new, and room was clean and well stocked. We had a bite to eat a couple of drinks at the lobby bar. Food was just ok in the bar, as they did not have much of a selection. But it's a nice atmosphere --with flat screen TV's and plenty of space for seating. There was a larger restaurant down the hall which is probably better for dinner.

The shuttle left promptly in the Morning on our way to the airport, and only took about a couple of mins to get to the airport. On our way back it was there on arrival, and left in about 2-3 mins. I think we just lucky with that because they said it leaves about every 20 mins on average. Shuttle service was friendly and professional. On the way back the Valet took a little longer then desired, but all in all no problem with that either. One little issue is that leaving the hotel can be a problem for people not familiar with the area. Its a sketchy area and can be complcated to get back on to I-95. The road signs and routes are a disorganzied mess in the area.

Most likely a repeat for me. The park and fly package is great and so few hotels around Newark offer the rates. Last time we stayed at the Sheraton ( which is probably about equal to this place) but this time they were not offering park and fly.

  • Liked — Room quality, and park and fly package with Valet.
  • Disliked — The area.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank icem2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We spent one night at the Hilton Newark Airport this month needing a hotel close to airport. We secured our reservation through an online discount site at a decent rate for a Friday night.
We had to wait 20+ minutes for the hotel shuttle but once it arrived it took only a few minutes to drop us at the front door of the hotel. Pleasant front desk staff but when asked about a king size bed, no interest in changing our reservation. Room was at the end of the hall (normal with discounted reservations) and when we arrived the key did not work. Walked back to obtain two keys and this time we had success. Rooms are average in size with two double, not queen, beds. Bathroom is small with average amenities. Small coffee shop (Starbucks) in the lobby if you want a quick cup of coffee and roll for breakfast. This property is showing wear even though their site talks about a recent major renovation. Having a good experience staying at the Marriot Airport hotel last year I would go back to the Marriott next time I am in EWR.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Property is showing wear
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EaganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Extremely clean comfortable room. The porters, and front desk staff very efficient. The restaurant food very nice and the staff excellent.

  • Liked — After a long flight the room was clean/comfortable and got a good nights rest
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jayteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, ON
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

My family enjoyed our stay at the Newark Hilton. The property is a little tough to get to coming off the turnpike, but otherwise the location is great for airport access and trips into New York City. We would have liked to have extended our one night stay to include a couple additional days; however, there was limited availability.

Everyone from the front desk to the bellmen to the valet were outstanding and gracious hosts. The restaurant's food was only average, but the service was very good.

Rooms are clean and well decorated. The Hilton Newark is a good option when New York City hotels are priced highly and you have access to a car.

  • Liked — Good service and proximity to New York City.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reclermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0.7 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Airport

Property: Hilton Newark Airport
Address: 1170 Spring St, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets as well as 24 hour room service. Our Precor Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Newark Airport Hilton
Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing