We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the $ we expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Newark Airport
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
kansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“For the $ we expected better”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We felt that for what we paid we should have had better. We were disappointed that they did not have free internet when Best westerns do. There was no fridge but a very expensive mini bar . The decor is dated but it was clean enough. We did like the timeliness of the shuttle and or ability to take them back to the airport and catch the train into New York City.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneloveforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    605
    359
    150
    78
See reviews for
306
336
198
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The bus driver looked at us and ignored us even if we ran and waved at him - to go from the hotel to the airport. We were late waiting for the next bus to arrive 20 mins later. Front desk staff were rude when I reported the bus issue. No hair dryer in bathroom. Upon request, a very dirty one was delivered to room. The housekeeper, for some strange reasons, changed the temperature setting to 60 degree F, and when we came back in at night, it was freezing cold, and there was not heating in the room. Coffee station was not stocked - had bunch of decaf coffee only. At the entrance and at the lobby, a strange looking and dressed person (may be homeless) was wondering around, talking to himself - and asking guests for money and cigarette. Security personnel did not appear to do anything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tapan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I just want to take a moment of your time to say how much we appreciate you staying with us here at the Hilton Newark Airport. We know you have a lot of options when traveling to the Newark area and we greatly appreciate you choosing our hotel. it is very important to us that your stay exceeds your expectations and I am going to share your comments with the team as feedback from our guests enables us to continually improve and exceed our service standards.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Why are the full service Hilton Hotels give you so much less for your money?? Parking - 20.00 and then you have to walk through the rain to get to the lobby. Internet access or printing in the business center? Swipe a credit card please. Boarding passes are free from a Kiosk in the lobby but the PC running is is from the 90's and froze up on me so I had to get one printed from the front desk. Coffee? There's only a Starbucks in the corner--that'll be 4.00 please. Airport shuttle is free and every 20 minutes but you better be there early because once their little 15 seat van fills up, they do not let you stand--left over people have to wait til the next one. And they let locals use their parking lot and also the shuttle---TIME TO GET A BIGGER SHUTTLE!
Also, my room temperature could not be regulated--we froze all night. The second night I had asked them to fix it, but it was not. No refrigerator in the room, and they will bring you one but that will be 15.00 please. No newspaper either. And the hallway carpeting was all frayed at the seams. This for 189.00 plus tax, tax, tax and more tax.
Dear Hilton, I will skip your pricey, no service full service hotels for your Hilton Garden Inn any time--or better yet, Marriott's Springhill Suites....
The only positive was the friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I just want to take a moment of your time to say how much we appreciate you staying with us here at the Hilton Newark Airport. We know you have a lot of options when traveling to the Newark area and we greatly appreciate you choosing our hotel and it is very important to us that your stay exceeds your expectations. I am going to share your comments with the team as feedback from our guests enables us to continually improve and exceed our service standards.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Newark Airport! When your travels bring you back through the New York/New Jersey area.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Who knew the Hilton Newark Airport was so nice? The lobby was well designed and inviting. The front desk workers were quite gracious. We were given rooms on the 'newly renovated' 12th floor (I don't know if the other floors were rennovated). My family and I were amazed at how nicely appointed the rooms were. Very modern decor with a comfy bed, small sofa and desk area. They offer a free airport shuttle every 20 minutes. There isn't much of a view, but, it is an airport hotel. Also, the walls were a tad thin and we could hear a loud family next door. All in all, I will stay at this Hilton if I need a hotel near Newark Liberty.

Room Tip: Ask for the 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunAwayNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Newark. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We needed help with some large boxes and the staff were extremely helpful in getting them for us and loading them. The security staff was very kind to let me use the handicap parking space because I had an injury to my arm and my knee. The reception desk always greeted us with smiles and a big hello. The hotel is well sound proofed so you don't hear the planes at the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and never had a problem. Staff is very helpful and cordial. I am always taken care off very well. Food is delicious, and I sleep like a baby here. I like staying here because of the close proximity to the airport and it works out well when I have to catch a flight early morning the following day. Hotel provides shuttle transportation and they are always on schedule. Overall, it is always a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Traveler20222013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The front staff is really nice, but aside from them, it is just an ok property and in my mind not to par with other Hilton properties. The newly remodeled rooms are already looking worn out with the carpet fraying and the desk wood chipping off. in regards to the restaurant, if you have a car, go eat somewhere else. The food is just eh... I recommend not getting the following: chicken madrileno, any filet, endive salad nor any soup. The turkey avocado club is ok though. One good thing about the property though, the beds are pretty comfy,

Room Tip: Ask for rooms as far away from the elevator as the rooms have no sound proofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0.7 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Airport

Property: Hilton Newark Airport
Address: 1170 Spring St, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets as well as 24 hour room service. Our Precor Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Newark Airport Hilton
Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing