We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“renovations are not to my taste”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newark Airport
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
Reviewed April 29, 2012

got there late due to late arrival of flight so my profile room of low floor away from elevator was not available. but they had one of the "newly renovated" rooms for me. The color combo and decor was just not my taste too retro for me the blue paint missed the mark and the stripes gave me veritgo. bed was comfortable and clean (main thing) lighting in hotel rooms are always horrible, this one was no different as the headboard had a light built in but you had to guess which switch turned them off. One bright point was that the room service was prompt and server was very polite. Overall I would stay there again if business need arises

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1greenchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thank you for letting us know your thoughts on our renovated rooms. We are disappointed that the decor and color schemes were not your cup of tea, but please note we have already begun increasing lighting. We are very happy that the service, bed quality and cleanliness were positives and that we did meet these priority expectations. We do hope to see you again and if you have the time would appreciate an opportunity to discuss your viewpoints and suggestions on the new room product

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Working at a Hilton owned property, I enjoy having the opportunity to visit other properties in different states. I typically don't write on trip advisor, but the experience I had here definitely exceeded expectations. I ended up staying here last weekend during the storm, and the friendly front desk staff, especially Sandra, helped me out greatly as this was an unexpected stay to say the least. The latest renovation makes this hotel shine, and the rooms are spacious and elegant, not to mention once you get to the room you are completely seperated from the pandemonium feel of being by an airport. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay. It is always great to know we have exceeded guest expectations; and given you are a Hilton team member it is even more gratifying as we all know what type of critic we can be! We are very pleased you enjoyed the new room product and we could make the frustration of a cancelled flight a little better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here on a Saturday night before a Sunday morning departure in April 2012 with my family (wife, 17 month old, 6 yo, 8 yo). The hotel was sold out but the rooms and view were nice. There were several school groups staying at the property but I didn't hear them on my floor. I am a hilton hhonors member and was assigned to the hhonors floor. A flight crew was also staying at our property and there was a large shuttle to took us to the airport which was 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victorkomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay. We are very pleased your experience was a positive one, and the service and ambiance met your expectations. We hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed here as an overnight before an 11 hour flight to Honolulu. Very close proximity to Newark Airport. The room was very comfortable, clean and super quiet! Busy road in front and airplanes overhead and never heard a sound! Offered a free shuttle to the airport. Check-in was very quick and staff very accommodating and nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachloverUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for the review and we are very please that we met your expectations and provided a quiet, comfortable stay before your fligh to Hawaii! We hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again, and we look forward to the opportunity to providing an equal, if not better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Typical Airport Hotel in a busy setting. Pretty worn looking lobby but they had signs indicating they are renovating. This isn't a place you'd want to stay for very long.

I'd suggest not parking in their garage as it costs $25 a night! Go to the outdoor parking lot that costs $ 7 dollars a night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bayforest3205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thanks for providing your feedback! We are glad you made note of our renovations project and we hope you will come back and stay and experience the new product. Great tip for fellow travelers on the surface lot parking, and it is a very good value for stay and fly packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We only stayed here one night for an early flight. It was easy to find, we parked our car in the covered garage, take the ticket to the front desk and they stamp it so when you leave you just put the ticket in the machine as you drive out. It does cost more to park and stay than just to stay but still worth a night in hotel with parking. Shuttle leaves every 20 minutes starting on the hour. It is a 5 minute ride to airport. Nice drivers. Rooms are fine for one night. Clean with good beds. On return trip you take train to P4 where hotel shuttles do their pickups. The Hilton comes every 20 minutes. Basically, they pickup at hotel every 20 minutes and pickup returning passengers after the dropoffs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skimat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for taking time to provide your comments. We are happy that you had a good stay and fly experience, and found the hotel stay comfortable. We look forward to again being of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for years. One of the things I liked about it was how cozy, relaxing and quiet it was. Not any more! They are in the process of a renovation and they have put tile flooring in as you enter the room. The result is that there is no soundproofing because of the lack of carpet near the door. The noise of doors slamming at all hours of the night reverberated throughout the room.

Also, the rooms are now dark - brown walls, black and blue carpet, cheap brown fake wood on the desk and drawers, weird lights and a psychedelic blue/yellow print on the wall. I cannot imagine who in the world okayed these changes. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you want to get a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeCodKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for providing ud your direct opinion on our renovation and new rooms; and we are so very sorry we missed the mark with you. Your comment on the door closing is something we are currently working on and should have completed in the short term. The room design schemes and colors are reflective of the transportation hub, and many of the products developed in the Newark/Elizabeth area. We are disappointed that we have not met your expectations, especially as your past stays reflect excellent reviews. Please note, we still have 5 floors of the non renovated rooms as they will be completed in late 2011, early 2012. Please come back and request one of these accommodations while we fine tune our new room product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0.7 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Airport

Address: 1170 Spring St, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range: $136 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets as well as 24 hour room service. Our Precor Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Newark Airport Hilton
Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing