We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Elizabeth
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveler rating
580
320
147
82
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
580
320
147
82
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening reception made to order breakfast omelet complimentary breakfast outlet mall pre cruise stay sofa bed front desk staff new jersey very nice hotel spacious room jersey gardens cruise port cape liberty definitely stay here again stayed one night shuttle service
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived into Newark late at night. We called the hotel to arrange the shuttle and they said to make our way to P4 for a 12:45am shuttle. At NO time did they say be there at 12:45am or we will leave without you and our shuttle service will discontinue at 12:46am!!! Well, you have to take a train to get to P4 and of course it was broken so it took us about 15 minutes longer than we thought. We arrived to P4 at 12:46am and waited a couple minutes thinking “wheew we made it!”. After about 5 minutes we decided to call the front desk and ask if they had left the hotel yet on their way to the airport. She said we had missed the last shuttle of the night and to catch a ride with the country inn shuttle who’s property is right across the street. We thought this was odd but decided to wait and see if country inn made its way to the airport. After about 10 minutes we decided to call the country inn to ask if they were planning to head to the airport anytime soon (we figured the country inn and embassy had an agreement or something). They asked if we were staying there (and rightly so), we said no that the embassy had referred us to you. They basically laughed at us (once again rightly so) and hung up. By this point I was very irritated at the woman we’d spoken to at the embassy front desk. I called back to calmly explain my frustrations and I was met with nothing but a rude, snarky attitude. This is NOT what I would expect from an embassy suites! She told us that the van driver left and we need to find a taxi or something and that it wasn’t her problem. I was floored by the response we received. Come to find out, to catch a taxi we needed to go all the way back to the main terminal on the broken train. Luckily lyft and Uber picked up at P4. I am still in disbelief of the woman on the phone. Honestly, if we would have known the last shuttle was at 12:45am we’d probably skip the train debacle and catch a ride from the terminal we came into. Instead of wasting time trekking way out to P4. Telling us on the phone the first time we called would have made more sense. The communication was lacking and so was the customer service.

When we got to the hotel we were greeted with the same lack luster, blah response. One gentleman wouldn’t even look up from his computer to make eye contact or greet us, anything. We collected our keys and went off to our rooms without saying much. Our favorite part was the sign saying “if something doesn’t satisfy you, let us know! We’ll make it right!”

The room. The room was fine. Big. Separate bedroom, large bathroom, walk in shower and living/couch area outside the bedroom. All was fine and dandy.

Another sour note was the fact that we had gotten in so late we wanted to sleep in. Why on earth a maid was knocking on the door at 8:45am to clean the room and then tried to barge in is beyond me. Thank goodness the lock was on preventing the door from opening. The check out time is NOT 8:45am. A do not disturb sign means exactly that. Irritating.

Overall the hotel itself is fine but man oh man that after hours front desk staff is something else. Not what I expect from an embassy suites!!!!!! Will not stay again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Madmck66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbrent95, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Madmck66,

It sadden us to read your comments about your stay at our hotel. We send our deepest apologies that we did not provide the level of service we are accustomed to providing. We have shared your comments with out entire staff and we will us it as a means to improve our service.

We invite you to try our hotel again so that you may judge the changes we implement.

Warmly,

Nafeesa B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

My stay at the Embassy Suites was by far the best. Staff members were wonderful and efficient. My suite was exactly what I needed after traveling on a 5 hours flight to Newark. The location was great easy access to mall as well as New York City.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbrent95, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Michelle H.,

Thank you for the amazing review. We are happy we turned out to be the perfect location for your business needs. We hope we earned your loyalty and we cannot wait to welcome you back again.

Warmly,

Nafeesa B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

We loved our suite but the service at the restaurant was awful. Food was great but there was only one waitress working, thus the service was next to nil. Breakfast was offered with our suite but the food was so over cooked we could not eat it. Coffee was good. Enjoyed Happy Hour that was included each night. Do yourself a favor and eat at Ruby Tuesday across the street.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbrent95, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear June T.,

We are happy our hotel suited your needs during your stay. We apologize about the amenities in the restaurant and we will use this information as we continue to improve our service. The next time you visit the area we will be happy to welcome you back again.

Warmly,

Nafeesa B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Very satisfactory experience at this hotel. Front desk personnel was very proactive, helpful, and engaging! Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast had a nice variety of items and was tasty. Would be delighted to stay here again!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank doakdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbrent95, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Doakdude,

Wow! Thank you for the amazing review. It nice to know we turned out to be your home away from home. We are happy our front desk and food & beverage team exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your loyalty and we cannot wait to welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,

NafeesaB.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

I highly recommend this hotel if you’re looking to stay in Elizabeth, NJ. It’s perfect for singles, couples, or small families. This my family’s hotel of choice. Staff is always friendly and rooms are great. Adults get a free drink voucher for the arrival date and guests get free breakfast. Room service is also great (I recommend the pizza). There are a couple of restaurants and a huge mall within walking distance of the hotel. It’s conveniently located near Newark Airport and all major highways. You can be in NYC in no time!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank manny357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbrent95, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Manny357,

Thank you for the awesome review. It seems we exceeded your expectations and you completely enjoyed your stay. Any time you are in the area we will delighted to welcome you back.

Warmly,

Nafeesa B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews