We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay Before A Cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Findlay, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay Before A Cruise”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights before a cruise here. It is a very good choice. The shuttle service from the airport is fast and effecient. Check in and check out was fast and easy. The lobby is nice and the morning breakfast is average but filling and the price is right (free). We were in room 535. It is at the very end of the hall and has 2 queen beds. It is very quiet. The room is fine and has a refrigerator and microwave along with a coffee maker and hair dryer. There is a safe in the room as well. TV worked fine and the AC/Heat system was quiet and worked perfect. The beds are new and very comfortable. They might be firm for some but they were perfect for me. The room is well lit in the main area and the bathroom is big. The water pressure was excellent and the hot water system worked perfect. They are doing remodeling. The hall carpet needs replaced and some things are a little dated. Our room seemed to have been updated already because the carpet was new and the walls freshly painted.

The room has wired, free internet and there are two PC's with internet access in the main area with printers that you can print things you need. There are several restaurants close by. Two right next door and several in the mall across the street. There are no drug stores, Walmart or Target's close by. There is a Bed Bath and Beyond in the mall where we picked up a few things we needed.

The staff were friendly and professional. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the end of the hall. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stargazerm31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    472
    213
    93
    77
See reviews for
441
353
84
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

After comparing prices we decided to stay here. we were very happy with our decision. prices on hotels in area offered through our ship were at least three times as much.
We got one of the suites it was large clean and comfortable. For a reasonable fee the hotel provided round trip transportation to the ship, and also complimentary transportation to and from the airport.
Food in the breakfast buffet was pretty good and there is a Ruby Tuesday across the parking lot.
We will definitely stay at this hotel chain again.

Room Tip: do pay a little extra to upgrade to the suites much nicer room for small price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clyde414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here before an early flight. Easy to get to. The staff in this hotel was excellent - professional and helpful - thanks Jazzmine!! Clean and comfortable even though it was undergoing renovations.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saxtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
811 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before we flew home just to do some shopping at Jersey Gardens mall. The hotel is not expensive and the room had 2 double beds, a microwave , coffee maker and fridge. They give a free breakfast which was O.K,
The hotel looks "old" and now that they are building across the street from them a brand new hotel they are starting to renovate the property.
They have a free shuttle to the air train that takes you to the different terminals and as we had an International flight and had multiple suitcases, they took us straight to terminal B. It was very much appreciated ! We def will return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great Staff, very friendly. This was our third stay at this hotel. Large rooms. Close to the Jersey Gardens. Shuttles to the airport. Good breakfast. The pool was nice and clean as was the hot tub.
Jose at the front desk was very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanspilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We come from Canada every summer to feed the homeless in NY. We normally stay at the Marriott next door, but this year the prices sky rocketed and we could not afford to stay there for a week. So, upon looking at hotels, we came across this hotel. We weren't disappointed! The front staff were incredible, so friendly and happy you were there. They were the most friendly people that we encountered in Elizabeth. The room was large and always clean. The fridge and microwave came in handy each day. The carpet was a little dated and worn in the hallway, however, they are renovating. The breakfast was good. There was some hot food. The location is super close to the Outlet Mall which was handy for our evenings. We appreciated the on time airport shuttle. It was a great, relaxing place to stay after working hard all day. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, Mon-Wed. The decor is a little dated in the lobby. But we did get to check in early free of charge. The room itself was a good size, and the bed was very comfortable. However, the lighting wasn't great, and the decor was old once again. The chair in the room was just used to set our suitcase on because it looked like it would fall apart. I didn't want to walk around barefoot either, the carpet seemed grungy. The bathroom was well lit and big, but there was some kind of dirty something in the shower. The bathtub is super small. I looked forward to the indoor pool so much, but we couldn't even stand to be in the room for very long because of the extreme smell of chlorine. Which sucks because after a long day the pool/jacuzzi would have been great. The location was fantastic. The outlet mall across the street was amazing. Ruby Tuesdays and ihop are also next door. NYC is just a shuttle and train ride away. Overall, a good place, just needs some updating (and less chlorine!)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessiebennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
#6 of 14 in Elizabeth
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#3 of 14 in Elizabeth
1,677 reviews
19.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Address: 100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming Hotel’s Convenient Location in Newark When you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ, experience quality amenities like free high-speed Internet access and an indoor pool in a convenient location just two miles from Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR). Guests appreciate gracious services like a fitness center, a business center, meeting facilities and the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, which is served daily. The area is full of delicious restaurants like Assaggini di Roma, high-end shopping like The Outlet Collection at Jersey Gardens Mall, and cultural centers like the Newark Museum. Plus, the hotel’s location in Newark is less than half an hour away by train from the exciting and iconic New York City. Book your comfortable, well-appointed room or suite today and enjoy a prime location near everything the area has to offer. Starting April 14, 2014, there will be an overnight parking charge of $10. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Newark Airport
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Country Inn Newark Airport
Country Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing