We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Jersey Gardens and Newark airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close to Jersey Gardens and Newark airport”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The price is fair and it is walking distance to the mall, which was important to me since shopping was an important item in my trip. The breakfast was reasonable, including hot waffles. The complimentary shuttle every 30 minutes to the Newark airport was great. I also used it to go no NY. It made me save some money. I was looking for a budget hotel and it was exactly what I was looking for.

Room Tip: there is an indoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edisonsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    460
    202
    89
    72
See reviews for
414
345
84
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wescosville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
655 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We usually stayed at another airport hotel before flying , but this one came recommended. Our experience was wonderful. It started before we got there, when we got lost and phoned for help. The desk person stayed on theline until I could find out where we were and gave me great help. We had an early flight so we couldn't use the breakfast, but the shuttle was quick and the driver very helpful. We used the park and fly option so when we returned, we needed the shuttle back. They came quickly and let us off at the car despite it being after 2AM and raining. The night desk folks gave us great directions to the Interstate and was very, very cordial and helpful.

Room Tip: Hotel has a plan wheer you can stay one night and park 14 days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tank1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BD3856
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The airport shuttle was waiting at the airport pick-up when we arrived at Newark airport.
Check-in was quick and pleasant. Our room was great. Seventh floor as requested.
You could easily see the airport from our hotel window and we were quite concerned that we'd hear airplanes taking off and landing all night long. But we didn't. Somehow, this airport hotel has insulated itself from the noise of the airport. Good job!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BD3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after arriving into Newark and before departing on a cruise from Bayonne.

The shuttle bus from the airport arrived when expected and didn't take long to get to the hotel. Check in was fine, the person dealing with us was only being trained in and wasn't 100% sure what he was doing but he was being closely supervised so it wasn't a problem.

We were able to book our transfer to the port for the next morning which was considerably cheaper than a car service.

The rooms while basic were clean and spacious and we got a good nights sleep

Ruby Tuesdays, IHOP & Jersey Gardens mall are within a 5 minute walk.

Overall a basic, clean, reasonably-priced hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in May. Everything was great! It was clean, had free internet access in the lobby (and free Wi-Fi) and free coffee and tea. The best thing was the ease and price to get to NYC. You just walk to the Jersey Gardens mall and catch the New Jersey Transit 115 bus for $6.50 each way. It doesn't come too often so you have to check the schedule but it is SO convenient. It takes you right to the Port Authority and right there is Times Square. Tip: Buy your return ticket when you're on your way to NYC because you must have the ticket already in-hand when you take the return trip. You can purchase it at the Port Authority but it takes time to find the machine and the proper gate to catch the bus and you don't want to risk missing it.
We are actually staying at this hotel again in September, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank razzledani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. My first impression was the friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. Our room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was clean and well stocked. My husband even looked at the bottom side of the bath mat in the tub and it was spotless. Water pressure was good and the shower head was actually clean and worked properly. Beds and pillows were comfortable and fresh smelling. Actually the thing that impressed me the most was the fresh clean smell throughout the entire hotel. The airport shuttle that runs every half an hour makes this place a winner all the way around. I would not only recommend staying there but the next time that I am in Newark, it is where I plan to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoniBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, TX, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights to complete some corporate training, and found it to be very comfortable and well-staffed. It was after the training that I was stranded at the Newark airport on the Thursday before Memorial Day weekend. All departing flights were cancelled and I was stuck in Newark with no hope of getting a flight for the next 2 days. I tried to reserve a room at other nearby hotels, but was told--quite rudely nearly every time--that if I thought there were any vacancies in the area around NYC I was 'crazy.

I called the Country Inn and Suites and they were super nice, actually seemed to care about my situation, and assured me "We are on our way to pick you up; we will be there in 15 minutes." It made a world of difference to me to hear a sympathetic voice at 1 in the morning.

My luggage had already flown home without me--but Soriah at the front desk got me set up with the essentials.

I think these folks are very kind, and I will definitely stay with them again if in the area.

The prices are very good especially for the NYC area. I saw lots of tour groups who were staying there and so I'm sure they are frequently completely booked up.

For my two cents worth this is a very good place to stay; clean, reasonably priced, safe, and located next door to two good restaurants, Ruby Tuesday's and IHOP. But it's the kindness of the employees I'll remember for quite a while.

Thank you, Country Inn and Suites at Newark Airport!

Room Tip: I do want to add that because it is so close to the airport, there is noise from departing/arriving...
See more room tips
Green Features: If you are a guest for more than 3 days they ask you to consider skipping a change of sheets to save water and other resources.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
19.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
#6 of 13 in Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Address: 100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming Hotel’s Convenient Location in Newark When you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ, experience quality amenities like free high-speed Internet access and an indoor pool in a convenient location just two miles from Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR). Guests appreciate gracious services like a fitness center, a business center, meeting facilities and the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, which is served daily. The area is full of delicious restaurants like Assaggini di Roma, high-end shopping like The Outlet Collection at Jersey Gardens Mall, and cultural centers like the Newark Museum. Plus, the hotel’s location in Newark is less than half an hour away by train from the exciting and iconic New York City. Book your comfortable, well-appointed room or suite today and enjoy a prime location near everything the area has to offer. Starting April 14, 2014, there will be an overnight parking charge of $10. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Newark Airport
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Country Inn Newark Airport
Country Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing